Hunters, trappers and anglers are reminded that new fishing and furbearer licenses are required April 1.
The dates for the furbearer license coincide with fishing season. The 2013-14 licenses are effective April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014.
Licenses can be purchased online by accessing the online services link at the North Dakota Game and Fish Department website, gf.nd.gov.
North Dakota’s 2013 moose, elk and bighorn sheep proclamation is finalized and applications are available at the State Game and Fish Department’s website. The deadline for applying is March 27.
A total of 111 moose licenses are available in 2013, 32 fewer than last year.
Randy Kreil, Game and Fish Department wildlife chief, said a downward population trend in the northeastern portion of the state is of great concern. “Unit M1C will remain closed,” Kreil said, “and in addition, unit M4, which encompasses the Turtle Mountains, is also closed this year.”
Samples taken from North Dakota deer during the 2012 hunting season have all tested negative for chronic wasting disease, according to Dr. Dan Grove, wildlife veterinarian for the State Game and Fish Department.
Last fall, samples for CWD testing were taken from more than 1,300 deer harvested by hunters in the western third of the state.
“As always, the success of our surveillance program could not be accomplished without the cooperative efforts of hunters, meat processors and taxidermists,” Grove said.
North Dakota spring light goose hunters can track general locations of geese as birds make their way through the state.
Hunters are able to call (701) 328-3697 to hear recorded information 24 hours a day. Migration reports are also posted on the North Dakota Game and Fish Department website, gf.nd.gov. Updates will be provided periodically during the week as migration events occur, until the season ends or geese have left the state.
The 2013 spring wild turkey lottery has been held and hopeful hunters can check individual results by accessing the North Dakota Game and Fish Department website at gf.nd.gov.
More than 300 licenses remain in eight units. The governor’s proclamation allows a maximum of two licenses, and hunters who did not apply in the first drawing are also eligible.
Undergraduate students with a major in wildlife management and/or fisheries biology are eligible to apply for a $795 scholarship through the Ronald D. Liudahl Endowment.
Students must be a resident of North Dakota, have completed at least 30 semester credits in a fisheries and wildlife management program, indicate career objectives in wildlife resource protection and management in a brief essay or statement, and have a grade point average and extracurricular/volunteer activities commensurate with good academic standing and citizenship. The deadline for applying is April 1.
State law requires permanent fish houses to be removed from North Dakota waters by midnight March 15.
Nancy Boldt, water safety coordinator for the State Game and Fish Department, said anglers should exercise caution because mild weather conditions can quickly result in unstable ice conditions.
“It is always important to check ice thickness, as warm temperatures with a high sun will rapidly deteriorate ice conditions this time of the year,” Boldt said.
Anglers are reminded that North Dakota’s darkhouse spearfishing season closes March 15.
Individuals who would still like to get out for the first time this year must register with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department. Registration is available through the department’s website, gf.nd.gov, or through any Game and Fish Department office.
March 15 is also the deadline for anglers to remove permanent fish houses from state waters.
Fishing and hunting in North Dakota contributed an estimated $1.4 billion in annual input to the state’s economy, according to a report by the Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics at North Dakota State University.
The report, commissioned by the North Dakota Game and Fish Department, tracked hunter and angler expenditures for the 2011-12 hunting and fishing seasons, and is similar to other studies conducted periodically since the late 1970s.
Chris Rick’s catch on Jan. 19 tied a state record for crappie that’s been on the books for nearly 15 years.
The Jamestown angler reeled in a 3-pound, 4-ounce crappie from the Jamestown Reservoir.
The record was established in 1998 by Don Newcomb, a Mandan angler who was fishing Lake Oahe.
The North Dakota Game and Fish Department reminds winter anglers to clean up the ice after fishing. This not only applies to trash, but fish as well.
It is not only unsightly, but it is illegal to leave fish behind on the ice. According to the fishing proclamation, when a fish is caught anglers must either immediately release the fish back into the water unharmed, or reduce them to their daily possession.
Adults and children looking to take a hunter education class in 2013 are reminded to enroll now as the majority of all classes are held by the end of May.
Zach Peterson, hunter education coordinator for the North Dakota Game and Fish Department, said classes held early in the year fill up quickly because of the deer application deadline. “There is a major demand for classes held before June because they will qualify students for submitting a deer application,” Peterson said.