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GENERAL INFORMATION

NORTH DAKOTA GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT
100 N. Bismarck Expressway

Bismarck, ND 58501-5095

701.328.6300

Email: ndgf@nd.gov

Web: gf.nd.gov

- Devils Lake Office, (701) 662-3617
- Dickinson Office, (701) 227-7431
- Lonetree Office, (701) 324-2211

- Riverdale Office, (701) 654-7475
- Jamestown Office, (701) 253-6480
- Williston Office, (701) 774-4320
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REPORT LAW VIOLATIONS

Contact game wardens and other law enforcement offi-
cers by calling (toll free):

State Radio Communications (800) 472-2121
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Your Guide to Responsible Boating
Request a copy - (701) 328-6300
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MEASURE YOUR BOAT TO DETERMINE WHAT CLASS IT IS IN

When measuring a vessel, measure from the forward end to the after end across
the deck down the center line, excluding the sheer. This means in a straight line
and only that part of the hull that is permanent.

EQUIPMENT

CLASS A
(Under 16 feet in length)

CLASS 1
(16 feet, but under 26 feet)

Registration
and Numbering

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is pow-
ered by any motor (including electric motors) must be registered
with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.

Personal
Flotation
Devices (PFDs)
(See Page 16
Re: youngsters
10 years and
younger.)

One Coast Guard approved
Type |, Il or Il PFD for each
person aboard. Anyone being
towed on waterskis, surfboard
or similar device must wear a
Type |, Il or Il PFD while being
towed (see pages 16-17). No
person may operate or permit
the operation of a personal wa-
tercraft without each person on
board the personal watercraft
wearing a U.S.Coast Guard
approved Type, |, II, Ill or V
personal flotation device.

One Coast Guard approved
Type |, Il or Ill PFD for each
person aboard, plus one Type
IV throwable PFD in each

boat. Anyone being towed on
waterskis, surfboard or similar
device must wear a Type |, Il or
1Il PFD while being towed (see
pages 16-17).

Backfire Flame
Arrestors

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor
of all gasoline powered engines, except outboard motors.

Fire
Extinguishers

1. None required unless the boat has:
a. Double bottom not sealed to the hull or not completely filled

with flotation material; or

b. Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or flam-
mable materials are stored; or

(2]

Closed compartments under thwarts and seats where por-

table fuel tanks may be stored; or

o

. Closed living spaces; or

e. Permanently installed fuel tanks.
If any of the above applies, a Coast Guard approved Type B-I
portable extinguisher or a fixed fire extinguishing system in the

machinery spaces is required.

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel com-
partments and using gasoline as fuel, must have at least two

Ventilation ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the equivalent leading to
each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate the
compartment.
All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit
Lighting a proper light display. (Proper light displays are explained on
pages 22-23 of this guide.)
One hand, mouth or power
Whistles None required. operated whistle audible for at
least 1/2 mile.
Bells None required. None required.




ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE IN SERVICEABLE CONDITION

CLASS 2 CLASS 3
(26 feet, but under 40 feet) (40 feet or over in length)

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is powered by any motor
(including electric motors) must be registered with the Game and Fish Department.

One Coast Guard approved Type I, Il or Il PFD for each person aboard, plus one
Type IV throwable PFD in each boat. Anyone being towed on waterskis, surfboard or
similar device must wear a Type |, Il or lll PFD while being towed (see pages 16-17.)

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor of all gasoline
powered engines, except outboard motors.

Either three Coast Guard approved
B-I type portable extinguishers, OR
one Coast Guard approved B-II type
portable extinguisher and one Coast
Guard approved B-I type portable
extinguisher, OR a fixed fire extin-
guishing system in the machinery
spaces along with one Coast Guard
approved B-Il type OR two Coast
Guard approved B-I type portable
extinguishers.

One Coast Guard approved B-II type portable
extinguisher, OR two Coast Guard approved
B-I type portable extinguishers, OR a fixed
fire extinguishing system in the machinery
spaces and one Coast Guard approved B-|
type portable extinguisher.

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compartments and using
gasoline as fuel, must have at least two ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the
equivalent leading to each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate the
compartment.

All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit a proper light
display. (Proper light displays are explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.)

One hand or power operated whistle audible | One power operated whistle audible
at least 1 mile. for at least 1 mile.

A bell which produces a clear bell-like tone when struck.




DEFINITIONS

1. “Associated equipment” means:

a. Any system, part or component of a boat as origi-
nally manufactured or any similar part or compo-
nent manufactured or sold for replacement, repair
or improvement of such system, part or compo-
nent;

b. Any accessory or equipment for, or appurtenance
to, a boat; and

c. Any marine safety article, accessory or equipment
intended for use by a person on board a boat; but

d. Excluding radio equipment.

2. “Boat” means any vessel:

a. Manufactured or used primarily for noncommercial
use;

b. Leased, rented or chartered to another for the lat-
ter’'s noncommercial use; or

c. Engaged in the carrying of six or fewer passengers.

3. “Manufacturer” means any person engaged in:

a. The manufacture, construction or assembly of boats
or associated equipment;

b. The manufacture or construction of components
for boats and associated equipment to be sold for
subsequent assembly; and

c. The importation into the state for sale of boats,
associated equipment or components thereof.

4. “Motorboat” means any vessel propelled by machinery,
whether or not the machinery is the principal source of
propulsion. The term does not include a vessel having
a valid marine document issued by the Bureau of Cus-
toms of the United States government or any federal
agency successor thereto.

5. “Operate” means to navigate or otherwise use a motor-
boat or a vessel.

6. “Owner” means a person, other than a lienholder, hav-
ing the property in or title to a motorboat. The term



10.

11.

12.

13.

includes a person entitled to the use or possession of

a motorboat subject to an interest in another person,
reserved or created by agreement and securing pay-
ment or performance of an obligation, but the term
excludes a lessee under a lease not intended as security.

. “Passenger” means every person carried on board a ves-

sel other than:

a. The owner or the owner’s representative;

b. The operator;

c. Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the
business of the vessel who have contributed no
consideration for their carriage and who are paid
for their services; or

d. Any guest on board a vessel which is being used
exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not con-
tributed any consideration, directly or indirectly, for
that person’s carriage.

. “Personal watercraft” (PWC) means a motorboat that

is powered by an inboard motor powering a water jet
pump or by an inboard or outboard marine engine
and which is designed to be operated by a person sit-
ting, standing or kneeling on the craft, rather than in
a conventional manner of sitting or standing inside a
motorboat.

. “Slow or no wake speed” means the slowest possible

speed necessary to maintain steerage.

“Undocumented vessel” means a vessel which does not
have a valid marine document as a vessel of the United
States.

“Vessel” means any watercraft, other than a seaplane on
the water, used or capable of being used as a means of
transportation on water.

“Waters” when not qualified means waters not open to
the general public.

“Waters of the state” means all waters of this state,
including boundary waters. This title extends to and is
in force and effect over, upon and in all such waters.



WHO MUST REGISTER THEIR BOATS

Owners of any watercraft propelled by motors must reg-
ister their vessels with the Game and Fish Department. The
vessel owner will receive a pocket-sized Certificate of Num-
ber which must be carried on the vessel when in operation.

Application blanks are available from boat dealers, county
auditors and Game and Fish Department personnel.

Applications must be filled out properly and mailed to:

North Dakota Game and Fish Department
100 North Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095
Phone (701) 328-6300
Licensing (701) 328-6335

In addition, online registration is available at the Depart-
ment’s website, gf.nd.gov.

REGISTRATION FEES AND RENEWAL DATE

Registration period is from January 1, 2014 through
December 31, 2016. Fees are prorated.

MOTORBOATS under 16 feet in length and all canoes
regardless of length, powered by a motor — $18.

MOTORBOATS 16 feet in length and over but shorter than
20 feet in length, excluding canoes — $36.

MOTORBOATS 20 feet in length or over, excluding
canoes — $45.



CHANGES OF ADDRESS OR OWNERSHIP

NOTICE: If any of the following instances occur, you are
required to notify the Game and Fish Department within
15 days:

- Change of address
= Change of boat ownership
= Boat is destroyed or abandoned

= Boat is stolen or recovered

The certificate of number is not transferable. Anyone pur-
chasing a boat must register the boat in their name even if
the boat is already registered by the previous owner.

LOSS OF CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER

The Game and Fish Department is authorized to issue a
new Certificate of Number to replace the one lost. The cost
of the replaced Certificate of Number is the same as a new
one.

BOAT DEALERS

A dealer may purchase one or more certificates of number
for demonstrators. The dealer’s number may be transferred
from one boat to another for demonstration purposes, but
must be securely fastened in such a manner as to be clearly

legible.
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NONRESIDENTS

North Dakota law permits the use of boats legally num-
bered under the numbering system of another state for
a period of 90 days. Motorboats from foreign countries
may temporarily use the waters of North Dakota without a
Certificate of Number.

ATTACHING THE NUMBER TO THE BOAT

The number appearing on the Certificate of Number
must be painted or permanently attached to each side of
the forward half of the vessel near the bow. The number
must be in contrasting color to the hull in plain vertical
block letters at least three inches in height excluding any
border, trim, outlining or shading, and must be maintained
in a legible condition so that it is clearly visible in daylight

hours. The number shall read from left to right and groups
of numbers and letters must be separated by a space or a
hyphen equivalent in width to the letter “M.” A validation
sticker issued by the Department must be displayed on
the boat within six inches of the number, toward the rear
of the boat. No other numbers are to be displayed in this
area.

DISPLAY OF NUMBERS AND VALIDATION STICKER

7 N

[G&1 ND - 000 - AA ND - 000 - AA[T61

ND STATE
ALIDATION STICKER

NORTH DAKOTA
GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT




BOAT OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS

No person under 12 years of age may operate a motor-
boat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) pro-
pelled by over a 10 horsepower motor unless the operator
is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older.

No person of 12 through 15 years of age may operate a
motorboat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.)
propelled by over a 10 horsepower motor unless the opera-
tor is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older
or the operator has taken and passed a boating course
approved by the Department. No person may cause or
knowingly permit a minor under 16 years of age to operate
a motorboat propelled by over a 10 horsepower motor
unless the minor is otherwise authorized to do so by this
section.
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Contact the Department for more information on an
approved boating course. Some insurance companies give
a premium discount to adults who complete an approved
boating course.
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Your Guide to Responsible Boating
Request a copy - (701) 328-6300

COLLISIONS, ACCIDENTS, CASUALTIES
AND LIABILITY

The operator/owner of a vessel used for recreational
purposes is required to file a report in writing whenever an
accident results in: loss of life or disappearance from a ves-
sel; an injury which requires medical treatment beyond first
aid; or property damage in excess of $2,000 or complete
loss of the vessel. Reports in death and injury cases must
be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must
be submitted within five days. Reports must be submitted
to the reporting authority in the state where the accident
occurred. For more information contact the Department.




PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)

No person may operate or permit the operation of a

personal watercraft:

a.

Without each person on board the personal watercraft
wearing a U.S. Coast Guard approved type I, II, lll or V
personal flotation device;

Within 100 feet of a person fishing from a shoreline,
swimmer, swimming diving raft, or an occupied,
anchored, or nonmotorized vessel at greater than slow
or no wake speed,;

While towing a person on water skis, a kneeboard, an
inflatable craft or any other device unless an observer
is on board;

Without a lanyard-type engine cutoff switch being
attached to the person, clothing or personal flotation
device of the operator, if the personal watercraft is
equipped by the manufacturer with such a device;

If any part of the spring-loaded throttle mechanism
has been removed, altered or tampered with so as to
interfere with the return-to-idle system;

To chase or harass wildlife;

Through emergent or floating vegetation at other than
slow or no wake speed;

In a manner that unreasonably or unnecessarily endan-
gers life, limb or property, including weaving through
congested watercraft traffic, jumping the wake of
another watercraft within 100 feet of the other water-
craft; or

In any other manner that is not reasonable and pru-
dent.

13



WATER-SKIING AND SURFBOARDS

No person may operate a vessel on any waters of this
state towing a person or persons on water skis, a surfboard
or similar device unless there is another person in the tow-
ing vessel observing the person or persons being towed.
However, this subsection shall not apply to members of any
organization regularly staging water ski shows, tourna-
ments or exhibitions while engaged in the performance of
such shows, tournaments or exhibitions.

No person may operate a vessel on any waters of this
state towing a person or persons on water skis, a surfboard
or similar device, nor may any person engage in water-
skiing, surfboarding or similar activity at any time between
the hours from one hour after sunset to one hour before
sunrise.

Exemptions are granted to performers engaged in a pro-
fessional exhibition as authorized under a permit.

No person shall manipulate any water skis, surfboard
or similar device without wearing a type I, Il or Ill PFD
(persons 16 years of age or older engaged in windsurfing or
boardsailing are exempt).

No person may operate or manipulate any vessel, towrope
or other device by which the direction or location of water

skis, a surfboard or similar device may be affected or con-

trolled in such a way as to cause the water skis, surfboard

or similar device, or any person thereon, to collide with or
strike against any object or person.




NONPOWERED BOATS

Nonpowered boats (no
motor aboard) must have
a Coast Guard approved
type I, Il or 1l PFD aboard for
each person.

Nonpowered boats operating
between sunset and sunrise shall
have readily accessible a white light
source which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient
time to prevent a collision, and when at anchor between
sunset and sunrise must display a white light visible to a
boat approaching from any direction.

BOATS FOR RENT

Owners of boats for hire must comply with the registra-
tion and equipment regulations except that the Certificate
of Number for vessels less than 26 feet in length, leased or
rented for less than 24 hours may be retained on shore at
the place of rental, but the rental agreement must be car-
ried in the vessel.

In addition, owners of boats for hire must comply with
rules and regulations governing Watercraft for Hire (R30-
05-02).

BOAT CAPACITY

No boat or pontoon may be loaded over capacity. Consult
the capacity plate on the boat, if one exists, and do not
load the boat beyond the capacity listed. For boats which
have no capacity plate, the performance of the boat in the

water is the ultimate test.
If there is no capacity label use the following formula to

determine the maximum number of persons you can safely
carry in calm weather:

(Length of Boat X Width) = People
15

15
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PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES (PFDs)

It is unlawful for any person to operate or to be a pas-
senger on any vessel less than 27 feet in length unless all
persons, 10 years of age or younger present on the vessel,
wear an appropriately sized and properly fastened U.S.
Coast Guard approved type I, Il or Il wearable personal
flotation device while the vessel is in operation.

A personal flotation device is appropriately sized if it is
designed to be worn by a person of similar age, size or
weight as the wearer.




U.S. COAST GUARD APPROVED PFDs

3
i

A Type | PFD is an
approved device designed
to turn an unconscious
person in the water from
a face downward position
to a vertical or slightly
backward position.

AType Il PFD is an
approved device designed
to turn an unconscious
person in the water from
a face downward position
to a vertical or slightly
backward position.

A Type Il PFD is an
approved device designed
to keep a conscious per-
son in a vertical or slightly
backward position.

A Type IVPFD is an
approved device designed
to be thrown to a person

in the water and not worn.

A Type V PFD, to be
acceptable, must be used
in accordance with its
label.

17
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PROHIBITED OPERATION

No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or
manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device
in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the
life, limb or property of any person. Reckless or negligent
operation of a motorboat or vessel includes weaving
through congested motorboat or vessel traffic, jumping
the wake of another motorboat or vessel within 100 feet of
the motorboat or vessel, or in any other manner that is not
reasonable or prudent.

No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or
manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device
while intoxicated or under the influence of any narcotic
drug, barbiturate or marijuana.

No person may operate a motorboat or vessel within 100
feet of a person fishing from a shoreline, swimmer, swim-
ming diving raft, or an occupied, anchored or nonmotor-
ized vessel, or within 250 feet of a reduced speed or slow
or no wake sign at greater than slow or no wake speed.

For purposes of this provision, reckless or negligent
operation includes, but is not limited to the following:

1. Use of excessive speed during periods of reduced vis-
ibility while in close proximity of other vessels, while in
narrow, winding channels, or near docks or marinas.

Operating in an overloaded condition.

3. Operating within swimming areas designated by mark-
ers or by the presence of swimmers.

4. Operating near dams and other hazardous waters.

5. Operating in such a manner as to cause a dangerous or
damaging wake.

6. Towing water skiers near other vessels or obstructions,
into other hazardous areas, or into swimming areas
designated by markers or by the presence of swimmers.



7. Operation in such a manner as to molest or annoy per-
sons lawfully engaged in fishing.

8. Continued use or refusal to terminate use of a boat
after being ordered to correct an especially hazardous
condition by a law enforcement officer.

BOATING UNDER INFLUENCE

INTOXICATION TESTING OF BOAT OPERATORS (BUI)

Game wardens or law enforcement officers who have
probable cause that a motorboat operator is under the
influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or a combination
thereof may require the operator to take a test to deter-
mine his/her sobriety.

The motorboat or vessel must be operated, in motion,
enroute but not aground or at anchor.

If the operator has an alcohol, drug or combination
thereof, concentration of .10 or over, or the operator
refuses to submit to testing, his/her operator privileges may
be revoked in addition to other penalties.

The law does not prohibit people of legal drinking age
from consuming alcoholic beverages or possessing open
containers in a boat.

19
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TERMINATION OF UNSAFE USE

Any law enforcement
officer who observes a
vessel being used with-
out sufficient lifesaving
or fire fighting devices
or in an overloaded or
other unsafe condition
as defined in Depart- . "
ment regulations and in e s
his judgment such use
creates an especially hazardous condition, may direct the
operator to take whatever immediate and reasonable steps
would be necessary for the safety of those aboard the ves-
sel, including directing the operator to return to mooring
and to remain there until the situation creating the hazard
is corrected or ended. For the purpose of this provision, an
unsafe condition is any of the following:

1. Operating without required
boat safety equipment.

2. Operating in an overloaded
condition.

3. Fuel leakage or presence of fuel
in the bilges.

4. Riding on the bow, gunwales,
transom, or on the backs of
seats without taking precau-
tions sufficient to prevent falls
overboard.

5. Operating a boat in a state of
gross disrepair, rendering it in unseaworthy condition.

6. Operating in weather or water conditions which endan-
ger the boat and its occupants.




HYPOTHERMIA

Hypothermia, the loss of body heat to the water, is prob-
ably the greatest cause of water-related deaths. Often the
cause of death is listed as drowning; but, most often the
primary cause is hypothermia and the secondary cause is
drowning. After an individual has succumbed to hypother-
mia, he/she will lose consciousness and then drown. The
following chart shows the effects of hypothermia:

Water Temperature
(degrees F.)

Exhaustion or
Unconsciousness

Expected Time of
Survival

Under 15 to 45

32.5 Under 15 minutes minutes

32.5t0 40 15 to 30 minutes 30 to 90 minutes

40 to 50 30 to 60 minutes 1to 3 hours

50 to 60 1to 2 hours 1 to 6 hours

60 to 70 2to 7 hours 2 to 40 hours

70 to 80 3to 12 hours 3 hours to indefinitely
Over 80 Indefinitely Indefinitely

PFDs can increase survival time because of the insula-

tion they provide. Naturally, the warmer the water, the less
insulation one will require. When operating in cold waters

(below 40° F) consideration should be given to using a coat
or jacket style PFD as they cover more of the body than the
vest style PFDs.

DIVERS FLAG

The Diver’s Flag must be displayed on a float or buoy dur-
ing any diving or spear fishing. Operators of boats must

exercise caution when near a diver’s flag.




LIGHTING

LIGHTS WHEN ANCHORED OR OPERATING NONPOWERED BOATS

Power boats under 65 feet and all sailing vessels at
anchor must display anchor lights except in “special
anchorage areas.” An anchor light is a white light visible to
a boat approaching from any direction, and is displayed in
the fore part of the vessel.

All nonpowered boats operating between sunset and
sunrise shall have readily accessible a white light source
which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient time to
prevent a collision.

LESS THAN 26 FEET

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall
exhibit a 20 point (225 degree) combination red and green
bow light, visible for one mile, the left side being red, the
right side being green, and 32 point (360 degree) white
stern light visible for two miles, placed higher than the
bow light and unobstructed by occupants or portions of
the vessel. In addi-

tion, all vessels at HIGHER THAN
anchor between BOWLIGHT
sunset and sunrise

must display a 32pTS2MI

white anchor light
visible to a boat
approaching from
any direction.




26 FEET TO NOT MORE THAN 65 FEET

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall
exhibit a 20 point (225 degree) white bow light visible for
two miles, a red 10 point (112 1/2 degree) side light on
the left side and a green, 10 point (112 1/2 degree) side
light on the right side, both visible for one mile (the arc
of visibility of the side lights must begin parallel to the
center-line of the vessel and extend 10 points toward the
stern) and a 32 point (360 degree) white stern light visible
for two miles, placed higher than the bowlight and unob-
structed by occupants or portions of the vessel. In addition
all vessels at anchor between sunset and sunrise must
display a white anchor light visible to a boat approaching
from any direction.

HIGHER THAN
IMPORTANT: STERN BOWLIGHT

LIGHTS MUST

BE PLACED HIGH
ENOUGH THAT
THEIR LIGHT WILL
NOT BE BLOCKED
BY PERSONS OR
PARTS OF THE BOAT
OR ITS EQUIPMENT.

10PT5 1 MI

12PT5 2 MI

23
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BUOYS

PLACEMENT OF REGULATORY SIGNS, MARKERS, BUOYS AND
OTHER WARNING OR MARKING DEVICES:

Upon written approval of the Game and Fish Director,
regulatory signs, markers, buoys, or other warning or
marking devices may be placed near or in the waters of this
state as may be necessary for safety or recreation.

SANITATION DEVICES

Every vessel must have aboard: If equipped with a marine
toilet or other similar device for the disposition of sewage
or other wastes, only that type of marine toilet equipped
with a treatment device meeting standards established by
the state water pollution control board. The board shall
furnish a list of the types of treatment devices currently
available and considered acceptable for use with marine
toilets under this subsection. No person owning or operat-
ing a vessel upon the waters of this state may use, operate
or permit the use or operation of any marine toilet or simi-
lar device unless it is approved under this subsection. No
person may discharge into the waters of this state, directly
or indirectly from a vessel, any untreated sewage or other
wastes. No container of untreated sewage or other wastes
may be placed, left, discharged, or caused to be placed,
left, or discharged in or near any waters of this state from a
vessel in such a manner or quantity as to create a nuisance

or health hazard, or pollute such waters.

No person may operate or give permission for the opera-
tion of a vessel which is not equipped as required by this
section or modification thereof.



REGATTAS, RACES, MARINE PARADES, TOURNAMENTS,
OR EXHIBITIONS

The Department may
authorize the holding of
regattas, motorboat, or
other boat races, marine
parades, tournaments or
exhibitions on any waters
of this state. Whenever
a regatta, motorboat, or
other boat race, marine
parade, tournaments or
exhibition is proposed
to be held, the person
in charge thereof, shall,
at least 10 days prior
thereto, file an applica-
tion with the Department
for permission to hold
the same, and it shall not
be conducted without authorization of the Department in
writing.

OUTBOARD MOTOR SERIAL NUMBERS

No outboard motor manufactured after January 1, 1980,
shall be sold or offered for commercial sale by a dealer
in this state unless the motor has permanently engraved
thereon by the manufacturer an identifying serial number.
The serial mark shall be of a permanent nature so as to
prevent or discourage the removal, defacing, alteration or
destruction thereof.

No person may possess, repair, or sell an outboard motor,
acquired after January 1, 1980, from which the serial num-
ber has been removed.

25
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BOAT MOTOR RESTRICTIONS

Some North Dakota lakes have watercraft restrictions
such as “Idle Speed Only,” “Electric Motors Only,” or maxi-
mum horsepower limitations. “Idle speed only” is defined
as operating a boat at the slowest possible speed necessary
to maintain steerage (i.e., trolling — with no wake).

Electric Motors Only (Note: Boats may be propelled
manually or with an electric motor. No combustion motor
may be operated on these waters): Casselton Reservoir,
Davis Dam, Dickinson Dike, Heinrich-Martin Dam, J. Clark
Salyer, Kettle Lake, Larimore Dam, Leland Dam, Lightning
Lake, McDowell Dam, Mooreton Pond, Rudolph Lake,
Sather Dam, Spring Lake Park Ponds, and Strawberry Lake
(Turtle Mountains).

Idle Speed Only: Arroda Lakes, Lake Audubon (north
arm), Baukol-Noonan Dam, Baukol-Noonan East Mine Pond,
Belfield Pond, Brewer Lake, Boundary Lake, Camels Hump
Dam, Carbury Dam, Clausen Springs Lake, Coal Mine Lake,
Crown Butte, Dion Lake, Epping-Springbrook Dam, Fish
Creek Dam, Fordville Dam, Gravel Lake, Harmon Lake,
Harmony Lake, Heart Butte (Lake Tschida) (designated areas
only), Hooker Lake, Lake Ilo, Indian Creek Dam, Jensen
Lake, Kota-Ray Dam, Kraft Slough, McClusky Canal proper,
McGregor Dam, Mirror Lake, North Golden Lake, Pelican
Lake, Raleigh Reservoir, Sheep Creek Dam, South Carlson
Lake, Sweet Briar Dam, and along the Missouri River at the
mouths of the Heart River, Lakewood, Marina Bay, Misty
Waters and Square Butte Creek.

25 Horsepower Maximum: Arrowwood, Jim Lake and
Long Lake national wildlife refuges.

OUT-OF-STATE OPERATION

Boating laws and regulations vary from state to state. If
planning on taking your boat out of state, determine what
the boating and trailer regulations are in the state where
you plan on boating, and prepare yourself, your boat, and
your trailer to abide by them, and avoid a costly fine or
delay.



AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES

Exotic plants and animals are threatening fishing and other
recreation in North Dakota!

Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) are difficult, if not impos-
sible, to control once they become established. ANS are
moved to new areas as unwanted hitchhikers on boats and
trailers, on personal watercraft or on sporting equipment.
Each year new infestations are reported because recreators
unknowingly transported ANS.

All outdoor recreators must take time to clean their equip-
ment. Criteria for cleaning are simple:

= Remove plant fragments from your boat or other
watercraft, the trailer, and fishing, hunting or
scuba gear when leaving the water
body.

= Drain water from the boat mo-
tor, bilge, including livewells and
baitwells, and the boat itself before
leaving the water bodly.

Further, it is suggested:
= Power wash your boat and trailer.
= Clean and disinfect all fishing

tackle, hunting or scuba gear or
other equipment after an outing.

YOUR ACTIONS ARE KEY TO
THE FUTURE OF
YOUR LAKE’S FISHING.
PLEASE BE AWARE OF LAWS
THAT PREVENT THE SPREAD
OF ANS.

For more information contact the Department or
refer to the current fishing guide.
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Funding for this Boat and Water Safety Guide cost shared
through a grant administered by the U.S. Coast Guard

The NDGFD receives Federal financial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service. In ac-
cordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX
of the Education Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the Interior and its
Bureaus in prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex
(in education programs or activities) and also religion for the NDGFD. If you believe you have been
discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or you desire further
information, please write to: ND Game and Fish Department, Attn: Chief Administrative Services,
100 N. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: US Fish and Wildlife Service, Attn:
Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP- 4020, Arlington, Virginia 22203. If
you are disabled and desire application information for hunting and fishing opportunities in
this state please contact the Department at 701-328-6300. The TTY/TTD (Relay ND) number for
the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.
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