SFN 6089 (04/17/2017)

APPLICATION FOR BUYING, SHIPPING AND SELLING FURS
North Dakota Game and Fish Department, Licensing Section

Mail to:

ND Game and Fish Department
Attn: Licensing

100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, North Dakota 58501-5095
Phone: (701) 328-6335

Name of Applicant: Date of Birth: Sex: Height:
Address: Weight: Eye Color: Hair Color:
City: State: ZIP+4: Social Security Number*:

Telephone: ND Driver’s License No. or ND Nondriver Photo ID No.:

Company Name:

| do hereby apply for license to engage in the
business of buying, shipping, and selling furs in North
Dakota. Send me the following described license.

Location of Business:

Check One:

O Resident buyer or shipper ($8)

O Resident traveling agent - buyer or shipper ($20)

County: [0 Nonresident buyer or shipper (License fee in
your state of residence or $50, whichever is
greater.)

Signature: Date:

*Social Security Number Requirement: In accordance with state law NDCC 20.1-03035 and 42 US Code 666 (a) (13) and (16),
North Dakota Game and Fish Department is required to collect social security numbers from all persons obtaining hunting, fishing, or

other recreational type licenses.




INFORMATION PERTAINING TO THE BUYING OR SHIPPING OF
GREEN FURS IN THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

The following information is issued under authorization
of Sections 20.1-03-12(12), (13), (14); 20.1-03-22; and
20.1-03-23 of the North Dakota Century Code.

No person shall engage in the business of buying or
shipping green furs in North Dakota unless he first shall
have obtained a license to do so from the Game and Fish
director.

“Green furs” shall be defined as the raw furs or hides of
any animal except domestic animals.

A furbuyer license may be issued on payment of the
applicable fee as follows;

1. For a license to a Nonresident Buyer or Ship-
per, or to Any Agent of such a nonresident, the
fee shall be the license fee in that person’s state of
residence or $50, whichever is greater;

2. For a license to a Resident Buyer or Shipper,
the fee shall be eight dollars ($8) for each place
of business maintained by that person within this
state; and

3. For a license to a Resident Traveling Agent,
Buyer, or Shipper, the fee shall be twenty dollars
($20).

A person in possession of a Resident Traveling Agent,
Buyer, or Shipper license is not required to possess a
Resident Buyer or Shipper license in addition.

The license period is from September 1 until September
1 the following year. Licenses are valid from the date of
purchase to the September 1 following that date.

Furbuyer licenses can only be issued to individuals.
They cannot be issued in the names of firms. Each indi-
vidual employee, Traveling Agent, Buyer or Shipper must
have a license in their name and such license must be in
their possession at all times when they are buying on the
road, away from the business headquarters.

In the case of a Non-traveling Resident Buyer of Ship-

per, the license may be issued in the name of the owner
and, provided the license is on display at his place of
business, any employee may buy furs or hides provided
such transactions are in compliance with Section 20.1-03,
NDCC, and done on the premises.

A Traveling Agent, Buyer or Shipper must have in their
possession records covering the purchase of all furs or
hides in their possession, showing the name, address,
and current furbearer license number of each seller.

Each person licensed to engage in the business of
buying or shipping green furs shall keep a true and cor-
rect record of each purchase of such furs made by them,
showing:

1. The date of purchase.

2. The name and address of the seller.

3. The kind and number of furs involved in the pur-
chase.

4. The amount of money paid to the seller for the furs
purchased.

5. Any additional information as the director may
require.

The information contained in such record shall be
furnished to the game and fish director, as soon as pos-
sible subsequent to license termination, on forms pre-
pared by the director and furnished to the license holder
on request. All records must be kept on a current basis,
showing each separate purchase, and the same must be
made available for inspection of any agent of the director
on demand.

Licensed furbuyers may hold legally purchased furs for
an indefinite period of time after purchase.

NOTE: ALL FURBUYER LICENSE HOLDERS’ LICENSE
NUMBER REQUIRED ON REPORT.



