
2016 TUNDRA SWAN 
LICENSE APPLICATION
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
Licensing Division, SFN 6327

Application must be postmarked no later than August 17, 2016.
Please note that some post offices use the following days postmark if mailed 
after regular hours. Mail your application early to ensure a proper postmark.

SEASON DATES: October 1 through January 1, 2017.

BAG LIMIT: One Tundra Swan
TENTATIVE SEASON INFORMATION:
TUNDRA SWANS may be taken statewide from October 1 through January 1, 2017. A total of 2,200 licenses will be issued through a lottery. 
Successful applicants will be issued a tag to take one swan during the season. The Department will accept lottery applications through August 
17. A person may submit only one application. North Dakota residents and nonresidents shall be eligible to apply. Non-toxic shot is required 
for swan hunting. Since swans are waterfowl, nonresidents may hunt them only during the period that their nonresident waterfowl license is valid 
and must stay within selected zones (exception – statewide license).
INSTRUCTIONS: (If you need any assistance in filling out this application, contact the N.D. Game & Fish Department.)
1. 	 ELIGIBILITY: Make sure you meet all the eligibility requirements listed in section 5. Only one application per person may be 

submitted for the tundra swan season. There are no provisions for applicants to apply as a party. Fill out all required information 
in section 6, “Applicant Information.” In accordance with state and federal laws, you must include your social security number, 
and if a resident 18 years of age or older you must include your ND drivers license number or ND nondriver photo ID 
number. Your social security number serves as an identification number in the weighted lottery. If any part of the application or 
fees is incomplete or in error, the application will not be processed and will be returned to sender.

2.	 HUNTER EDUCATION: ATTENTION! If you were born after December 31, 1961, you must fill in your hunter education certificate number, and 
the state or province in which you received it. Required hunter education certification must be completed prior to application being submitted. 
ATTENTION: Compliance is enforced by verification with state enforcement agencies. If your certificate is unnumbered, write ‘NONE” and the 
year and state in which you were certified. If you have a change in last name since completing the course, attach a note to the application. 
Individuals qualifying for a one year apprentice hunter validation should visit our website at gf.nd.gov for more details.

3.	 SIGNATURES: Read carefully the “AS AN APPLICANT I CERTIFY THAT” portion of the form (section 5), then sign and date.
4.	 FEE: The fee is $10.00 for residents and $30.00 for nonresidents. Other licenses required: Residents regardless of age must also possess  

a $1.00 fishing, hunting and furbearer certificate and a general game and habitat license ($20.00). In addition, hunters 16 years of age  
and older must possess a small game license ($10.00) or a combination license ($50.00) before hunting swans. Nonresidents of all ages are 
required to possess fishing, hunting and furbearer certificates, general game and habitat licenses, and state waterfowl licenses before hunting 
swans. Should you receive a swan license in the lottery drawing, these licenses can be purchased from the Department, any license vendor, by 
calling toll free 1-800-406-6409, or via our website at gf.nd.gov. In addition, all swan hunters must be ND HIP certified and all hunters 16 years 
of age or older must possess a federal duck stamp.

	 Do not send cash. Personal checks, cashier’s checks or money orders are acceptable. A separate check or money order is required for each 
application. Make payable to N.D. Game and Fish Department. Unsuccessful applicants will receive a refund. Insufficient funds checks will 
be turned over to a collection agency and be subject to additional costs. If money is not collected, the applicant will be ineligible for both the 
current year and the following year.

5.	 AS AN APPLICANT, I CERTIFY THAT:
	 . . .	 This is the only application being made in my name for a 2016 tundra swan license; 
	 . . .	 If applying as a resident, I have actually lived in the state of North Dakota or maintained my residence therein for the past six months;
	 . . .	 I am aware of the hunter education course requirement for persons born after December 31, 1961, and have passed the course 

of instruction or am exempt by law. (Note: persons under 12 years of age may hunt if they have appropriate licenses and are  
accompanied by parent or guardian).

6.	 APPLICANT INFORMATION SECTION: Print one letter or number per box, leave one blank box as space between words.

APPLICANT	 Resident    $10.00	 Nonresident    $30.00

	 ________________________________________ 	 __________________
	 LAST NAME	 FIRST	 MIDDLE	 HUNTER EDUCATION NUMBER (See #2)	 STATE ISSUED

	 ____________________________________________ 	 _______________
	 MAILING ADDRESS	 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Required)	 SEX

	 BIRTHDATE_ ________	 _________ 	 _________ 	 _______________
	 CITY	 STATE	 ZIP	 (mo.)	 (day)	 (yr.)	 AGE

_________________ 	 _____________________________________________________________________________ 	 _ __________________________________________________	 ______________
	 PHONE	 RESIDENTS AGE 18 or OLDER - N.D. DRIVER’S LIC# or N.D. NONDRIVER PHOTO ID# (Required)	 APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE	 DATE SIGNED

Mail to:
Swan Lottery – NDGFD

100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095

Phone: (701) 328-6300

Lottery results may be obtained by visiting our website at gf.nd.gov

APPLYING BY COMPUTER OR BY PHONE  
QUICK – CONVENIENT – EASY

Visa, Discover and MasterCard accepted.

You can apply for your tundra swan license   
24  hours a day — 7 days a week, making  

sure your application is in before the deadline.

By Phone
simply call toll free

1-800-406-6409
Besides license fee, a $4.00 service 
charge for each applicant will be added. 
Please have hunter education number 
ready, (if required).

Via the Internet
visit our website at

gf.nd.gov
Regular license fees apply with  
no service charge added.

The NDGFD receives federal financial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service. In accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the Interior and its Bureaus in prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex 
(in education programs or activities) and also religion for the NDGFD. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or you desire further information, please write to: ND Game and Fish 
Department, Attn: Chief Administrative Services, 100 N. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: US Fish and Wildlife Service, Attn: Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP- 4020, Arlington, Virginia 22203.  
If you are disabled and desire application information for hunting and fishing opportunities in this state please contact the Department at 701-328-6300. The TTY/TTD (Relay ND) number for the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.

NUMBER  
IN PARTY

1


