
LICENSING BY COMPUTER OR BY PHONE
QUICK – CONVENIENT – EASY

Purchase general licenses and apply 
for most lottery licenses 

24 hours a day – 7 days a week

Website:
www.gf.nd.gov

Regular license fees apply with 
no service charge added. 

Phone:
800-406-6409

In addition to the license fee(s) a service 
charge will be added. Service charge 

will vary depending on amount of 
transaction.

VISA, DISCOVER, MASTERCARD AND AMERICAN EXPRESS ACCEPTED

MOOSE
UNITS M5, M6, M8, M9, M10, M11
Bow Season: September 4 - 27
Regular Season: October 9 - November 1
Restrictions: All moose license holders are able 
to hunt during the regular season (any legal fi re-
arm or bow) and the bow season (bows only) but 
are restricted to unit and type of moose designated 
on license.

BIGHORN SHEEP
UNITS B1, B3, B4
Regular Season: October 30 - December 31
Restrictions: Male bighorn sheep only. 

ELK
UNITS E1E, E1W, E2, E6
Bow Season: September 4 - 27
Restrictions: Must use legal archery equipment 
during bow season. Restricted to unit and type of 
elk as designated on license. License holders are 
also able to hunt during the regular season (any 
legal fi rearm or bow).

UNITS E1E, E2 
Regular Season: October 2 - December 31
Restrictions: Any legal fi rearm or bow. License 
holders are also able to hunt during the bow sea-
son (bows only) but are restricted to unit and type 
of elk designated on license.

UNIT E1W 
Regular Season: October 2 - January 3
Restrictions: Any legal fi rearm or bow. License 
holders are also able to hunt during the bow sea-
son (bows only) but are restricted to unit and type 
of elk designated on license.

UNITS E3, E4
Regular Season:
September 4 - December 31
Restrictions: Any legal fi rearm or bow. Lottery 
license holders may hunt in either unit beginning 
September 7. Landowner preference license hold-
ers may hunt only in their unit.

UNIT E5
Regular Season:
September 4 - December 31
Restrictions: Any legal fi rearm or bow. Open to all 
general lottery license holders from all units. Hunt-
ers may take only the type of elk described on their 
license.

UNIT E6
Regular Season:
October 2 - November 5
November 23 - December 31
Restrictions: Restricted to unit and type of elk 
designated on license. Any legal fi rearm or bow. 
License holders are also able to hunt during the 
bow season (bows only).

SEASON INFORMATIONSE

2020 
BIGHORN SHEEP,BIGHORN SHEEP,

ELK 
AND MOOSE 

HUNTING GUIDE
North Dakota Game and Fish Department

100 North Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, North Dakota 58501-5095

Phone: 701-328-6300 Email: ndgf@nd.gov
Website: www.gf.nd.gov

This guide is provided for informational purposes and is not intended as a complete 
listing of regulations. If you desire specifi c information on regulations and laws, visit the 

Game and Fish Department website 
(for season proclamations) or for North Dakota state laws go to 

www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/T20-1.html.



INFORMATION FOR ALL SUCCESSFUL
APPLICANTS
• Hours of hunting for all species are 30 minutes before sun-

rise to 30 minutes after sunset.
• All successful applicants should attend an instructional meet-

ing prior to hunting. The Game and Fish Department will notify 
licensees of meeting times and places.

• Be prepared to hunt the entire season. Good physical condi-
tioning is desirable because of weather variables and diffi  cult 
terrain.

• Bighorn sheep, moose and elk are found on both private and 
public lands. Permission is required before entering posted 
private land. The Game and Fish Department strongly encour-
ages hunters to make arrangements ahead of time.

ELIGIBILITY
Who May Apply – North Dakota residents are eligible to apply for 
bighorn sheep, moose and elk licenses. Nonresidents can apply 
for only a bighorn sheep license. No one may apply for a spe-
cies for which he/she received a lottery license in previous years. 
(Exception: certain preferential landowner licensees.)

Hunter Education Requirement – Hunters born after Decem-
ber 31, 1961, must complete a certifi ed state or provincial hunter 
education course and present the certifi cation card to a license 
vendor to purchase a North Dakota hunting license. Persons 
who hunt only on land they own or operate are exempt from this 
requirement. The apprentice license is not valid for bighorn sheep, 
moose or elk. 
Minimum Age – The minimum age for hunting bighorn sheep, 
moose or elk is 14 on or before December 31, 2020. Anyone 
under age 15 afi eld with fi rearms must be under direct supervision 
of a parent, legal guardian or other adult authorized by a parent or 
guardian.

LICENSES
General – Licenses are nontransferable. No person may give 
away, barter or sell an issued license.
Other Licenses Required – In addition to the bighorn sheep, 
elk or moose license, hunters must also possess a fi shing, hunt-
ing and furbearer certifi cate ($1) and a general game and habitat 
license ($20) or combination license ($50). 

LICENSES AVAILABLE BY SPECIES AND UNIT
BIGHORN
SHEEP   

Unit B1 – to be determined September 1 
Unit B3 – to be determined September 1 
Unit B4 – to be determined September 1

• One additional bighorn sheep license is authorized to be auctioned under bid 
guidelines set forth by the Midwest Chapter of the Wild Sheep Foundation. This 
license is valid for any open unit. 

ELK Unit E1E – 90 licenses
Unit E1W – 60 licenses
Unit E2 – 140 licenses
Unit E3 – 205 licenses
Unit E4 – 10 licenses
Unit E6 – 14 licenses

(30 any, 60 antlerless)
(25 any, 35 antlerless)
(50 any, 90 antlerless)
(85 any, 120 antlerless)
(10 any)
(4 any, 10 antlerless)

• The Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation and the Outdoor Adventure Foundation are 
each allocated one additional elk license. These licenses are valid for any open 
unit and any elk regardless of age or sex, and may be used in either the bow 
season or regular season.

• Not more than two additional elk licenses may be issued to eligible organiza-
tions for a raffl  e or auction. These licenses are valid for any open unit and any 
elk regardless of age or sex, and may be used in either the bow season or 
regular season. 

MOOSE  Unit M5 – 5 licenses 
Unit M6 – 10 licenses 
Unit M8 – 15 licenses 
Unit M9 – 120 licenses 
Unit M10 – 190 licenses 
Unit M11 – 130 licenses

(5 any moose) 
(10 any moose) 
(15 any moose) 
(45 any, 75 antlerless) 
(70 any, 120 antlerless)
(55 any, 75 antlerless)

• The Outdoor Adventure Foundation and the North American Wildlife Enforce-
ment Memorial Museum and Educational Center are each allocated one 
additional moose license. These licenses are valid for any open unit and any 
moose regardless of age or sex, and may be used in the bow season or regular 
season.

• Not more than two additional moose licenses may be issued to eligible organi-
zations for a raffl  e or auction. These licenses are valid for any open unit and any 
moose regardless of age or sex, and may be used in either the bow season or 
regular season.

BAG LIMIT
Bighorn Sheep – One male bighorn sheep.
Elk – One elk of the type designated on license. Type of elk 
includes “antlerless” or “any” elk.
Moose – One moose of the type designated on license. Type of 
moose includes “antlerless” or “any” moose. 

All elk or moose with at least one visible antler are considered
“antlered.”

HUNTING BIG GAME OVER BAIT
Placing of bait for any purpose is prohibited on Department wild-
life management areas. Baits include but are not limited to grains, 
minerals, salts, fruits, vegetables, hay or any other natural or 
manufactured foods. The designation does not apply to the use 
of scents and lures, water, food plots, standing crops, or livestock 
feeds used in standard practices.
Hunting over bait is also not allowed on all U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service national wildlife refuges and waterfowl production areas; 
U.S. Forest Service national grasslands; and all North Dakota 
state school, state park and state forest service lands.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Immediately after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indi-
cate the date of kill by cutting out the appropriate month and day 
from the tag provided with the license, and securely attach it to 
the antler on an antlered animal, the horn on a horned animal, or 
in a slit in the ear on an antlerless animal. The tag shall remain in 
place with the horns, antlers or head until March 31, 2021. After 
the antlers, horns, head or hide have been removed from the car-
cass, the carcass tag shall remain with the carcass until the pro-
cessed meat is consumed, or until March 31, 2021. A bighorn 
sheep may be tagged on the leg or rear quarter with evidence of 
sex naturally attached.
In no case is it legal to possess or transport a moose, elk or big-
horn sheep unless it is properly tagged. No person may reuse or 
attempt to reuse any tag issued. Tags are nontransferable. When 
any part of an animal is mounted, if the tag is removed from the 
horns, antlers or ear, the tag must be securely fastened to the 
back or bottom of the mount and remain there. 
Anyone who harvests a bighorn sheep in North Dakota must have 
it plugged by North Dakota Game and Fish Department personnel.
Mandatory Elk and Moose Harvest Reporting – Elk and moose 
lottery license holders are required to provide hunter harvest infor-
mation no later than January 15, 2021. Failure to do so will result 
in loss of eligibility for all lottery licenses in 2021.

TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE
Hunters harvesting a moose in units M10 and M11 or an elk in 
units E2 and E6 cannot transport the whole carcass including the 
head and spinal column outside of the unit. However, hunters can 
transport the whole moose carcass between units M10 and M11.
Exceptions: meat that has been boned out; quarters or other por-
tions of meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached; 
meat that is cut and wrapped either commercially or privately; 
hides with no heads attached; skull plates with antlers attached 
having no hide or brain tissue present; intact skulls with the hide, 
eyes, lower jaw and associated soft tissue removed, and no visi-
ble brain or spinal cord tissue present; antlers with no meat or tis-
sue attached; upper canine teeth, also known as buglers, whis-
tlers or ivories; and fi nished taxidermy heads.



License holders must accompany their game animal, or parts 
thereof (excluding hide), during transportation, unless a per-
mit for the transportation of game is issued by the Department 
upon request. Game may be shipped by common carrier (ship-
ping companies, commercial meat processors and taxidermists) 
in receipt of proper bill of lading. A moose, elk or bighorn sheep 
carcass must be accompanied by the head (except in units 
where CWD regulations apply as stated above) to the fi nal place 
of storage. No resident of the state may ship big game or parts 
thereof (other than hides) out of state without a permit from the 
Department. It is illegal to possess or transport another’s game 
animal, or parts thereof (excluding hide), without the license 
holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted. Processed and 
packaged meat (cut/ground and wrapped) of legally taken game 
may be gifted to another. Unprocessed, unpackaged game meat 
may be gifted as follows: 1) Prior to reaching the licensee’s per-
sonal residence a transportation permit must be obtained and 
accompany the game meat; 2) After reaching the licensee’s per-
sonal residence if accompanied by the name and address of the 
licensee. 
Commercial processors and common carriers may possess 
any person’s legally taken possession limit of game.

FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT
Regular Season – Centerfi re rifl es of .25 caliber or larger are 
legal for elk and moose, while a .243/6 mm caliber is the mini-
mum for bighorn sheep. Centerfi re rifl es of .50 caliber or larger 
using smokeless powder are prohibited. Muzzleloading rifl es or 
single shot muzzleloader pistols of .50 caliber or larger are legal. 
Rifl es must have a minimum barrel length of 16 inches. Rifl ed 
slugs of 20 gauge or larger are legal for shotguns. All legal bow 
equipment as listed in the bow season section is legal during the 
regular season.
Minimum barrel length for shotguns is 18 inches. Handgun 
(pistol, revolver or single shot) cartridge cases under .40 cali-
ber must be at least 1.285 inches in length and bullets must be 
at least .257 inches in diameter. Handgun cartridge cases of .40 
caliber or larger must be at least .992 inches in length. In addi-
tion, any handgun designed to fi re a legal rifl e cartridge is legal. 
Fully automatic fi rearms, full metal jacketed bullets which are 
nonexpanding, and altered projectiles are prohibited.
Pre-charged pneumatic air guns, charged from an external high 
compression source such as an air compressor, air tank or an 
external hand pump are legal for elk, moose and sheep but must 
fi re a projectile (excluding air bolts) of at least .45 caliber in diam-
eter and at least 350 grains in weight with a minimum muzzle 
velocity of 600 feet per second.
Bow Season – A bow must be pulled, held and released by 
hand. Any release aid may be used providing it is hand operated, 
the shooter supports the draw weight of the bow, and the release 
is not attached to any part of the bow other than the bowstring. 
Bows used for hunting moose, elk or bighorn sheep must have at 
least 50 pounds of draw at 28 inches or less draw length. Arrows 
must be at least 24 inches long, tipped with a metal broad-
head, with at least two sharp cutting edges, and have a cut-
ting diameter of at least 3/4 inch (i.e., not able to pass through a 
3/4 inch ring). Broadheads used for hunting moose, elk and big-
horn sheep must be unbarbed (barbed refers to an arrowhead 
with any fi xed portion of the rear or trailing edge of the arrow-
head forming an angle less than 90 degrees with the shaft) and 
have fi xed blades (i.e., broadheads with mechanical or retract-
able blades manufactured to stay open are illegal). Telescopic 
sights, range fi nding devices, battery-powered or electronically 
lighted sights or other electronic devices attached to the bow, or 
the arrow, are not permitted, except a lighted nock and record-
ing devices which do not aid in range fi nding, sighting or shoot-
ing the bow are permitted.
Handheld range-fi nding devices are legal. Arrows capable of 
causing damage or injury to the animal in excess of that infl icted 

by the cutting edges of the broadhead are prohibited while hunt-
ing big game with a bow (e.g. explosive arrow points, arrows 
tipped with drugs or chemicals, and pneumatic or hydraulic 
shafts are illegal). Hunters may possess handguns while hunt-
ing big game with a bow license. However, handguns may not 
be used to assist in the harvest of the big game animal. Cross-
bows are not legal, except with a permit from the Game and 
Fish director. When permitted, crossbows must: a) have a peak 
draw weight of at least 75 pounds, b) be equipped with a working 
safety to prevent accidental fi ring, c) use bolts or arrows at least 
14 inches in length. Crossbows equipped with pistol grips and 
designed to be fi red with one hand are illegal. Telescopic sights 
attached to a crossbow with a maximum power of 8x32 are legal.
Nonlicensees – No bighorn sheep, moose or elk licensee hunt-
ing in the fi eld during the bighorn sheep, moose or elk season 
may be accompanied by a nonlicensee carrying the same type 
of fi rearm or bow as the licensee. For the purpose of this section 
“type of fi rearm or bow” means one of the following: a) centerfi re 
rifl es; b) handguns; c) muzzleloading fi rearms; d) archery equip-
ment; or e) shotguns. A nonlicensee is a person not having a big-
horn sheep, moose or elk license for the same season and unit 
as the person with the license.

ORANGE CLOTHING REQUIREMENTS
All big game hunters are required to wear a head covering and 
an outer garment above the waistline of solid daylight fl uorescent 
orange color, totaling at least 400 square inches. This require-
ment doesn’t apply during the elk and moose bow seasons.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS
• It is illegal to go afi eld with a fi rearm or bow while intoxicated.
• Firearms must be unloaded and encased within the 

boundaries of any national park.
• It is illegal to hunt upon the premises of another within 440 

yards of any occupied building without the consent of the 
person occupying the building. This does not prohibit hunting 
on land owned by neighbors (private or public) even if the 
land is less than 440 yards from the occupied building.

USE OF ANIMALS
It is illegal to use any animal except horses or mules as an aid in 
the hunting or taking of big game.

AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, LIGHTS
• It is illegal to use all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned, 

for spotting game 72 hours prior to and during the hunting 
season. During hunting season a licensee cannot hunt the 
same day he/she is airborne over their hunting unit, with the 
exception of a scheduled passenger airline fl ight. It is illegal 
to drive, concentrate, rally, raise, stir up or disturb game with 
all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned.

• Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game.
• It is illegal to shoot with a bow or fi rearm while in or on a 

motor-driven vehicle.
• Unless otherwise authorized under N.D.C.C., no person 

may carry a fi rearm with a cartridge in the chamber in or on 
a motor-driven vehicle. The entire cylinder of a revolver is 
considered the chamber, requiring a revolver to be completely 
unloaded. Handguns with removable magazines or clips 
must have the magazine or clip removed from the fi rearm if 
the magazine or clip contains any loaded shells. It is illegal 
to carry any muzzleloading fi rearm in or on a motor-driven 
vehicle with a percussion cap or primer on the nipple or 
powder in the fl ash pan.

• Motor-driven vehicles may only be used on established 
roads or trails. (Exception: After an animal has been killed 
and properly tagged, a motor-driven vehicle may be used to 
retrieve the animal by leaving the established road or trail and 
proceeding to the carcass by the shortest accessible route 
and returning to the road or trail immediately by the same 
route.)

• Motor-driven vehicles may not be used off  established roads 



and trails for retrieval on state wildlife management areas, 
U.S. Forest Service national grasslands, U.S. Bureau of 
Land Management lands, federal waterfowl production 
areas, federal refuges, state trust lands, and any other 
areas where motor-driven vehicles are restricted. Except for 
hunters having a special disability permit, no person may 
use a motor-driven vehicle while in the process of hunting 
big game, or aid another in the process of hunting big game, 
including travel to and from the hunting location unless the 
motor-driven vehicle is on an established road or trail.

• Established roads or trails do not include temporary trails 
made for agricultural purposes. 

• No person may use motor-driven vehicles on North Dakota 
Game and Fish Department Conservation PLOTS (Private 
Land Open To Sportsmen) property without permission from 
the landowner. These areas have been entrusted to the 
public for walking access through written agreements with 
private landowners. The boundaries of these properties are 
identifi ed by large yellow triangular signs.

• It is illegal to use any artifi cial light for the purpose of locating 
or observing big game between sunset of one day and 
sunrise of the next. State law prohibits any harassment of big 
game animals.

• The use of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced 
light-gathering optics or thermal imaging equipment for 
locating or hunting big game is prohibited.

AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING
Unless specifi cally authorized, federal or state properties such 
as refuges, sanctuaries, military installations, parks and historic 
sites posted to trespassing or hunting are closed to hunting. 
PLOTS Areas – In accordance with NDCC 20.1-08-04.9, non-
residents may not hunt any game from October 10 through 
October 16 on North Dakota Game and Fish Department wildlife 
management areas or on Conservation PLOTS (Private Land 
Open To Sportsmen) areas.
School trust lands are open to nonvehicular public access, 
including hunting, unless posted with ND Department of Trust 
Lands signs. The only established trails on Department of Trust 
Lands available for public use are those that are signed with 
Game and Fish Department trail markers. See the ND Depart-
ment of Trust Lands website for additional information. 
When hunting near the boundaries of closed refuges, sanctuar-
ies, military installations, parks or historic sites – make sure you 
are familiar with any retrieval restrictions that may apply.

POSTING AND TRESPASS
• Only the owner or tenant, or an individual authorized by 

the owner, may post land by placing signs giving notice 
that no hunting is permitted on the land. The name of the 
person posting the land must appear on each sign in legible 
characters. The signs must be readable from the outside of 
the land and must be placed conspicuously not more than 
880 yards apart. As to land entirely enclosed by a fence or 
other enclosure, posting of signs at or on all gates through 
the fence or enclosure constitutes a posting of all the 
enclosed land.

• Hunting on posted land without permission from the owner 
or tenant is illegal and punishable by suspension of hunting, 
fi shing and trapping privileges for a period of at least one 
year.

• Hunting on posted land without permission can be 
prosecuted even if the land is not posted to the letter of the 
law.

• Any person may enter upon legally posted land (without a 
fi rearm or bow) to recover game shot or killed on land where 
he/she had a lawful right to hunt.

• It is illegal to hunt in unharvested cereal and oilseed crops, 
including sprouted winter wheat, alfalfa, clover and other 
grasses grown for seed, without the owner’s consent. It is 
illegal to deface, take down or destroy posting signs.

• Failure to close gates upon exit or entry is a criminal violation 
punishable by forfeiture of hunting licenses.

ROAD RIGHTS OF WAY
Do not hunt on road rights of way unless you are certain that 
they are open to public use. Most road rights of way are under 
control of the adjacent landowner and are closed to hunting 
when the adjacent land is posted closed to hunting.

WANTON WASTE
No person shall kill or cripple any big game animal without mak-
ing a reasonable eff ort to retrieve and retain the big game ani-
mal in his/her actual custody. No person shall waste, destroy, 
spoil or abandon the edible fl esh of a big game animal at the 
place where taken or between that place and either (a) his/her 
personal residence; (b) a taxidermist; (c) a common carrier; or 
(d) a commercial processor.

HUNTING BY NONTRIBAL MEMBERS ON
NORTH DAKOTA INDIAN RESERVATIONS
If an individual hunts exclusively on Indian lands within an 
Indian reservation, a tribal license is required and a state hunt-
ing license is not required. Hunting on nontribal lands within an 
Indian reservation requires a state hunting license. Game taken 
legally with a tribal license within an Indian reservation may be 
possessed and transported anywhere in North Dakota.
Portions of some units are located on Indian reservations. Con-
tact reservation tribal offi  ces for more information. 
• Fort Berthold. Game and Fish Department, 404 Frontage 

Road, New Town, ND 58763, (701) 627-4760.
• Standing Rock. Game and Fish Department, Box 549, Fort 

Yates, ND 58538, (701) 854-7236.
• Turtle Mountain. Department of Natural Resources, Box 

570, Belcourt, ND 58316, (701) 477-2604.
• Spirit Lake. Fish and Wildlife Department, Box 359, Fort 

Totten, ND 58335, (701) 766-1243.

MOOSE LANDOWNER GRATIS LICENSE
Any resident who owns, or leases for agricultural purposes 
and actively farms or ranches, a minimum of 150 acres of land 
in the following units is eligible to apply for landowner moose 
licenses. For 2020, zero in M5; one in M6; two in M8; 18 in M9; 
28 in M10; and 19 in M11. Landowner licenses are valid for any 
moose. Landowner moose license holders may hunt only upon 
land described on their application in the unit applied for.

If a landowner moose license holder is unsuccessful in har-
vesting a moose, that person may return the unused license to 
the Department and apply for a license to hunt moose in future 
years. 

ELK LANDOWNER PREFERENCE LICENSE
Any resident who owns, or leases for agricultural purposes and 
actively farms or ranches, a minimum of 150 acres of land in 
designated areas is eligible to apply for a landowner prefer-
ence elk license. For 2020, allocation of these licenses is as fol-
lows: unit E1E, 13 licenses; unit E1W, nine licenses; unit E2, 21 
licenses; unit E3, 30 licenses; unit E4, licenses issued in accor-
dance with exemptions provided under N.D.C.C. 20.1-03-11.7; 
unit E6, two licenses. Individuals who receive a landowner pref-
erence license must pay the appropriate big game license fee.
Preferential licenses for units E1E, E1W, E2 and E6 may be 
used until fi lled, in both bow and regular seasons subject to the 
rules of the season. Landowner preference licenses are valid for 
any elk. Landowner preference licenses are not valid in unit E5. 
Landowner elk license holders may hunt anywhere in the unit 
where their qualifying land is located. Unit E3 or E4 preferential 
elk licenses may be used to harvest an elk causing depredation 
from May 1–July 31. License holders intending to harvest a dep-
redating elk must notify the Game and Fish Department at least 
24 hours prior to harvesting an animal, and also must notify the 
Department within 24 hours after the harvest takes place.



UNIT DESCRIPTIONS
ELK
Unit E1E – Cavalier, Pembina 
and Walsh counties, and those 
portions of Grand Forks, Nel-
son and Ramsey counties bor-
dered on the north by Canada,on 
the east by Minnesota, and on the 
south and west by a line starting 
where U.S. Highway 2 crosses 
the Red River, then west along 
U.S. Highway 2 to ND Highway 1, 
then north to ND Highway 17, 
then west to the junction of ND 
Highway 17 and ND Highway 20, 
then north to Canada.

Unit E1W – Rolette County and 
those portions of Bottineau,  
Towner, Ramsey, Pierce and Cav-
alier counties bordered on the 
north by Canada, on the east by 
ND Highway 20, on the south by 
ND Highway 17, then west to the 
junction of ND Highway 17 and 
ND Highway 60, then continuing west along ND Highway 60 to ND Highway 5, then west to ND Highway 14, then north to Canada.

Unit E2 – McKenzie and Dunn counties, excluding all of Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

Unit E3 – Billings, Golden Valley, and Slope counties, except that portion of land known as unit E4 and Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

Unit E4 – An area in Billings and Golden Valley counties north of Interstate 94 (excluding all of Theodore Roosevelt National Park), com-
posed of the following land:

E4 Golden Valley County 
T. 140 N. R. 103 W. All N. of I-94 
T. 141 N. R. 103 W. Sec. 25-27 & 34-36

Billings County
T. 141 N. R. 100 W. Sec. 19, 30 & 31
T. 141 N. R. 101 W. All except T.R.N.P.
T. 142 N. R. 101 W. Sec. 25-36
T. 140 N. R. 102 W. All except T.R.N.P. and south of I-94
T. 141 N. R. 102 W. All except T.R.N.P.
T. 142 N. R. 102 W. Sec. 19-36

Unit E5 – The remainder of the state not included in a designated unit.
Unit E6 – That portion of Sioux County east of ND Highway 31.
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SOUTH DAKOTA

BIGHORN SHEEP
Unit B1 – All of Slope County and those portions of Billings 
and Golden Valley counties south of Interstate 94.
Unit B3 – Those portions of Golden Valley, Billings, Stark 
and McKenzie counties starting at a point where Interstate 94 
enters North Dakota, then following Interstate 94 east to U.S. 
Highway 85, then north to McKenzie County Road 50, then 
west to McKenzie County Road 27 – Red Wing Road, then 
north to McKenzie County Road 38 – Hay Draw Road, then 
west and north to Montana state line, then south to point of 
origin.
Unit B4 – Those portions of McKenzie and Dunn counties 
starting at the intersection of McKenzie County Road 38 – 
Hay Draw Road and the Montana state line, then south and 
east to McKenzie County Road 27 – Red Wing Road, then 
south and east to McKenzie County Road 50, then east to 
U.S. Highway 85, then south to ND Highway 200, then east 
to ND Highway 22, then north to McKenzie County Road 53, 
then west and north to ND Highway 23 (excluding area within 
Fort Berthold Indian Reservation), then west to U.S. High-
way 85, then west and north to the south bank of the Missouri 
River (Lake Sakakawea), then west along the south bank of 
the Missouri River to the Montana state line, then south to the 
point of origin. 



The NDGFD receives federal fi nancial assistance from the US 
Fish and Wildlife Service. In accordance with Title VI of the 
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 
of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX of the Education 
Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the 
Interior and its bureaus in prohibiting discrimination on the basis 
of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex (in education 
programs or activities) and also religion for the NDGFD. If you 
believe you have been discriminated against in any program, 
activity, or facility as described above, or you desire further in-
formation, please write to: ND Game and Fish Department, Attn: 
Chief Administrative Services, 100 N. Bismarck Expressway, 
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: US Fish and Wildlife Service, 
Attn: Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: 
MBSP- 4020, Arlington, Virginia 22203. If you are disabled 
and desire application information for hunting and fi shing 
opportunities in this state please contact the Department 
at 701-328-6300. The TTY/TTD (Relay ND) number for the 
hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET
SEP 4 7:07 8:15
SEP 5 7:09 8:13
SEP 6 7:10 8:12
SEP 7 7:11 8:10
SEP 8 7:13 8:08
SEP 9 7:14 8:06
SEP 10 7:15 8:04
SEP 11 7:16 8:02
SEP 12 7:18 8:00
SEP 13 7:19 7:58
SEP 14 7:20 7:56
SEP 15 7:22 7:54
SEP 16 7:23 7:52
SEP 17 7:24 7:50
SEP 18 7:26 7:48
SEP 19 7:27 7:46
SEP 20 7:28 7:44
SEP 21 7:29 7:42
SEP 22 7:31 7:40
SEP 23 7:32 7:38
SEP 24 7:33 7:36
SEP 25 7:35 7:34
SEP 26 7:36 7:32
SEP 27 7:37 7:30
SEP 28 7:39 7:28
SEP 29 7:40 7:26
SEP 30 7:41 7:24

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET
OCT 1 7:43 7:22
OCT 2 7:44 7:20
OCT 3 7:45 7:18
OCT 4 7:47 7:16
OCT 5 7:48 7:14
OCT 6 7:49 7:12
OCT 7 7:51 7:10
OCT 8 7:52 7:08
OCT 9 7:53 7:06
OCT 10 7:55 7:04
OCT 11 7:56 7:02
OCT 12 7:58 7:00
OCT 13 7:59 6:59
OCT 14 8:00 6:57
OCT 15 8:02 6:55
OCT 16 8:03 6:53
OCT 17 8:05 6:51
OCT 18 8:06 6:50
OCT 19 8:07 6:48
OCT 20 8:09 6:46
OCT 21 8:10 6:44
OCT 22 8:12 6:43
OCT 23 8:13 6:41
OCT 24 8:15 6:39
OCT 25 8:16 6:38
OCT 26 8:18 6:36
OCT 27 8:19 6:34
OCT 28 8:20 6:33
OCT 29 8:22 6:31
OCT 30 8:23 6:29
OCT 31 8:25 6:28

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET
CENTRAL STANDARD TIME
NOV 1 7:26 5:26
NOV 2 7:28 5:25
NOV 3 7:29 5:24
NOV 4 7:31 5:22
NOV 5 7:32 5:21
NOV 6 7:34 5:19
NOV 7 7:35 5:18
NOV 8 7:37 5:17
NOV 9 7:38 5:15
NOV 10 7:40 5:14
NOV 11 7:41 5:13
NOV 12 7:42 5:12
NOV 13 7:44 5:11
NOV 14 7:45 5:09
NOV 15 7:47 5:08
NOV 16 7:48 5:07
NOV 17 7:50 5:06
NOV 18 7:51 5:05
NOV 19 7:52 5:04
NOV 20 7:54 5:04
NOV 21 7:55 5:03
NOV 22 7:57 5:02
NOV 23 7:58 5:01
NOV 24 7:59 5:00
NOV 25 8:01 5:00
NOV 26 8:02 4:59
NOV 27 8:03 4:58
NOV 28 8:04 4:58
NOV 29 8:06 4:57
NOV 30 8:07 4:57

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET
DEC 1 8:08 4:56
DEC 2 8:09 4:56
DEC 3 8:10 4:56
DEC 4 8:12 4:55
DEC 5 8:13 4:55
DEC 6 8:14 4:55
DEC 7 8:15 4:55
DEC 8 8:16 4:55
DEC 9 8:17 4:55
DEC 10 8:18 4:55
DEC 11 8:19 4:55
DEC 12 8:19 4:55
DEC 13 8:20 4:55
DEC 14 8:21 4:55
DEC 15 8:22 4:55
DEC 16 8:23 4:56
DEC 17 8:23 4:56
DEC 18 8:24 4:56
DEC 19 8:24 4:57
DEC 20 8:25 4:57
DEC 21 8:26 4:58
DEC 22 8:26 4:58
DEC 23 8:26 4:59
DEC 24 8:27 4:59
DEC 25 8:27 5:00
DEC 26 8:27 5:01
DEC 27 8:28 5:02
DEC 28 8:28 5:02
DEC 29 8:28 5:03
DEC 30 8:28 5:04
DEC 31 8:28 5:05

CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

SUNRISE AND SUNSET TIMES
The sunrise and sunset times at Bismarck are noted below. The sun rises and sets one 
minute later for each 12.5 miles west of Bismarck and one minute earlier for each 12.5 
miles east of Bismarck.
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RAP (REPORT ALL POACHERS) PROGRAM. 
This program encourages people to report wildlife 
violations, remain anonymous if they prefer, and receive 
monetary rewards for convictions based on their 
information. Anonymous callers will be given a special 
code number and are not required to give their name. 
Rewards range from $100 to $1,000 depending on the 
nature and seriousness of the crime.Call 701-328-9921. 
Call this number only to report game and fi sh violations. 
The reward fund is supported by private donations. If 
you wish to donate to the RAP program, tax deductible 
contributions can be sent to RAP, Box 1091, Bismarck, 
ND, 58502-1091.

MOOSE
Unit M5 – Those portions of 
Grand Forks, Nelson, Ramsey 
and Walsh counties bordered on the 
north by ND Highway 17, on the west by 
ND Highway 1, on the south by U.S. High-
way 2, and on the east by Minnesota.

Unit M6 – Those portions of Barnes, 
Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Eddy, 
Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, 
Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, 
McLean, Nelson, Ramsey, Ransom, Rich-
land, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, 
Traill and Wells counties bordered on the 
east by Minnesota, on the south by South 
Dakota, on the west by the Missouri River 
and on the north by units M5 and M9.

Unit M8 – Those portions of Bottineau, 
Cavalier, Pierce, Ramsey, Rolette and 
Towner counties bordered on the east by 
ND Highway 1, on the north by Canada 
and hunting unit M4, on the west by ND 
Highway 60, and on the south by ND Highway 17.

Unit M9 – Those portions of Benson, Bottineau, McHenry, McLean, Towner, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Sheridan, Ward and Wells counties 
bordered on the east by ND Highway 1 and the boundary of hunting unit M6, on the north by hunting units M8, M4 and Canada. The west-
ern and southern borders are ND Highway 256 and U.S. Highway 83 to the point where the highway crosses the southern portion of Lake 
Sakakawea, then west along Lake Sakakawea and south along the Missouri River to Washburn, then north on ND Highway 200A, then 
east on ND Highway 200 to the junction of U.S. Highway 281 at Carrington. 

Unit M10 – Divide and Burke counties and those portions of Bottineau, Mountrail, Renville, Ward and Williams counties bordered on the 
east by Unit M9, on the north by Canada, on the west by Montana, and on the south by U.S. Highway 2.

Unit M11 – Those portions of Dunn, McKenzie, Mercer, McLean, Mountrail, Ward and Williams counties bordered on the east by Unit M9, 
on the north by U.S. Highway 2, and on the west by Montana. The southern border starts at the junction of Montana and ND Highway 200, 
then east along ND Highway 200 to U.S. Highway 85, then south along U.S. Highway 85 to ND Highway 200, then east along ND Highway 
200 to the Missouri River east of Pick City (Unit M9). Mallard Island is included within this unit.

For additional hunting information visit www.gf.nd.gov


