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North Dakota Game and Fish Department
100 North Bismarck Expressway

Bismarck, North Dakota 58501-5095 
Phone: 701-328-6300 Email: ndgf@nd.gov

Website: www.gf.nd.gov 

This guide is provided for informational purposes and is not 
intended as a complete listing of regulations. For more specific 
information on regulations and laws, visit the Game and Fish 
Department website (for season proclamations) or for North 

Dakota state laws go to www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/T20-1.html. 

SEASON DATES, TIMES, OPEN AREAS 
• DEER BOW 

Opens: September 2 (12 noon Central Time) 
Closes: January 8 
Areas: Statewide 
Restrictions: See Special Herd Reduction Deer Bow Seasons. Dur-
ing the regular gun season orange clothing is required of all bowhunt-
ers and anyone accompanying apprentice license holders. Nonresi-
dents are restricted to species of deer described on license. For resi-
dents, any deer is legal except antlerless mule deer within deer hunt-
ing units 4A, 4B and 4C. 

• YOUTH DEER 
Opens: September 16 (12 noon Central Time) 
Closes: September 25 
Areas: Statewide 
Restrictions: Ages 11 (who qualify), 12 and 13 – antlerless white-
tailed deer only. Ages 14 and 15 – any deer is legal, except antlerless 
mule deer in units 4A, 4B and 4C. No unit restrictions, except in units 
3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F, a special license is required to 
hunt antlered mule deer. Those possessing restricted antlered mule 

deer licenses may hunt only in their designated unit the entire season. 
Orange clothing required for youth hunters and mentors. 

• DEER GUN 
Opens: November 4 (12 noon Central Time) 
Closes: November 20 
Areas: All units 
Restrictions: Restricted to type of deer and unit described on license. 
Type of deer includes species and sex. Harvest of antlerless mule deer 
is prohibited in units 4A, 4B and 4C. See map on back for unit descrip-
tions. Note exception for white-tailed deer hunters in units 4B, 4C, 4D 
and 4E (see below). Orange clothing required, and for anyone accom-
panying apprentice and youth license holders. 

• MUZZLELOADER 
Opens: November 25 (12 noon Central Time) 
Closes: December 11 
Areas: Statewide 
Restrictions: Restricted to antlered or antlerless white-tailed deer only 
as described on license. No unit restrictions. Orange clothing required, 
and for anyone accompanying apprentice license holders. 

HUNTING HOURS 
HUNTING HOURS are 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes after sun-
set except opening day. Hunters must cease any hunting activity, leave any 
stand or blind, and must be in the process of leaving the field at the close of 
shooting hours. 

LICENSES AVAILABLE BY SEASON 
Deer Bow – Resident – not limited. Nonresident bow licenses valid for 
any white-tailed deer statewide are not limited. Nonresident any-deer bow 
licenses, valid for any deer except antlerless mule deer in deer gun hunt-
ing units 4A, 4B and 4C, are limited to 281, a number equal to 15 percent 
of the total mule deer gun season licenses made available during the previ-
ous year. 
Deer Gun – No more than 49,000 licenses, including gratis licenses, will be 
issued. Special permits designating type of deer and unit are a part of the 
gun license. 
Muzzleloader – State law allows 2 percent of the total number of white-
tailed deer gun licenses available each year to be issued as muzzleloader 
licenses. For 2016, 928 muzzleloader licenses may be issued, one half 
(464) as antlered whitetail and one half (464) as antlerless whitetail. Muz-
zleloader licenses are valid statewide. 

Antlerless White-tailed Deer for Ages 11 (who qualify), 12 and 13 –
Restricted to antlerless white-tailed deer. Valid statewide. The license is 
valid only during the dates of the youth season (September 16-25).
Youth Deer – Ages 13 (who qualify), 14 and 15. Restricted youth (type I) 
antlered mule deer licenses (valid for any deer except antlerless mule deer 
in units 4A, 4B and 4C) are limited as follows: units 3B1-30, 3B2-20, 4A-20, 
4B-40, 4C-40, 4D-35, 4E-25 and 4F-15. Regular youth (type H) licenses are 
valid statewide for any deer (except antlered mule deer in units 3B1, 3B2, 
4D, 4E and 4F and any mule deer in units 4A, 4B and 4C) and are not lim-
ited. If the licensee is unsuccessful in harvesting a deer during the youth 
deer season, the license is also valid during the regular deer gun sea-
son. Restricted youth antlered mule deer licenses are valid only for the spe-
cific unit during either season. 

ELIGIBILITY 
Who May Apply – Residents and nonresidents are eligible for deer bow, 
deer gun and muzzleloader seasons. Residents ages 12 and 13, and 
11-year-olds who turn age 12 in 2016, are eligible to receive an antlerless 
white-tailed deer license. Resident deer gun hunters ages 14 and 15 who 
have never received a youth season deer gun license as a 14-or 15-year-old 
(receiving a license at age 12 or 13 does not apply) are eligible to receive a 
youth deer license. Youth who turn age 14 in 2016 may apply for and receive 
a special youth deer license and hunt during the youth season, as well as 
youth who apply at age 15 but will be 16 after receiving the license. 

ATTENTION WHITE-TAILED DEER HUNTERS IN UNITS 4B, 4C, 4D AND 4E 
• White-tailed deer license holders for units 4B and 4C must hunt in • White-tailed deer license holders for units 4D and 4E must hunt in 
their assigned unit for the first 2-1/2 days (November 4-6). For the their assigned unit for the first 2-1/2 days (November 4-6). For the
remainder of the season they may hunt either or both units. remainder of the season they may hunt either or both units. 



 

 

  

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
  

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hunter Education Requirement – Hunters born after December 31, 1961, 
must have passed a certified state or provincial hunter education course 
in order to purchase a North Dakota deer hunting license. Persons who 
hunt only on land they own or operate are exempt from this requirement. In 
addition, individuals who are 16 years of age and older who have not taken 
the hunter education course can receive an apprentice hunter validation 
that enables them to hunt deer for one license year. Contact the Game and 
Fish Department for details. 

Minimum Age – There is no minimum age for purchasing a bow license. 
The minimum age to purchase an antlerless white-tailed deer gun license 
is 12 (exception: qualifying 11-year-olds). The minimum age to purchase a 
youth deer, deer gun or muzzleloader license is 14 (exception: qualifying 
13-year-olds). Each youth hunter must be under direct supervision (must 
be able to have unaided verbal contact) of a parent, guardian or adult 
authorized by their parent or guardian. 

Nonresidents – State law allocates nonresidents 1 percent of deer gun 
and muzzleloader licenses available in any unit (through the second deer 
gun lottery). One half of the nonresident allocation of antlered white-tailed 
deer licenses, up to a maximum of 100 licenses, are available to licensed 
guides or outfitters. Nonresidents may apply for a deer gun license after the 
second lottery at a fee of $50. Nonresident full-time students living in North 
Dakota, who are attending a state or tribal college or a private institution of 
higher education, may qualify for nonlottery resident licenses. Contact the 
Game and Fish Department for details. 

Military – North Dakota residents who were on federal active duty with 
the United States Armed Forces under Title 10 stationed outside of the 
state and received the expeditionary medal or campaign badge during the 
2015 deer gun season and apply by June 1, 2016, are eligible to purchase 
one white-tailed deer gun license in a unit of their choice. Applicants are 
required to include documentation showing their award or qualification for 
the award with their application. Applications received after June 1, 2016 
will be issued licenses based on availability. 

LICENSES 
General – Licenses must be signed in ink and are nontransferable. No per-
son may give away, barter or sell an issued license. 

Deer bow – All resident licenses, and nonresident licenses for white-tailed 
deer only, are issued by the Department’s Bismarck office, website or by call-
ing 800-406-6409, or at participating license vendors. Nonresident any-deer 
licenses are issued only from the Department’s Bismarck office. It is illegal to 
buy more than one regular deer bow license per season. 

Antlerless white-tailed deer – Ages 11 (who qualify), 12 and 13. Licenses 
are issued only through the Department’s Bismarck office. The deadline for 
submitting applications is September 1, 2016. 

Youth deer – Ages 13 (who qualify), 14 and 15. Licenses are issued only 
through the Department’s Bismarck office. The deadline for submitting a 
restricted youth antlered mule deer lottery application was June 1, 2016. The 
deadline for submitting a regular youth season application is September 1, 
2016. 

Deer gun – Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery. The deadline for sub-
mitting lottery applications was June 1, 2016. Any remaining licenses are 
also issued by lottery, or on a first-come, first-served basis. Check with the 
Game and Fish Department for details. 

Muzzleloader – Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery. The deadline for 
submitting applications was June 1, 2016. 

Resident Gratis and Nonresident Landowner – Licenses are available to 
residents and nonresidents who own, or residents who lease for agricultural 
purposes and actively farm or ranch, at least 150 acres of land located in an 
open hunting area. These licenses are valid only upon land described on the 
license. The license consists of the tag and the copy of the application returned 
to the landowner/lessee (both need to be in possession while hunting). The 
resident gratis or nonresident landowner license may be used during the deer 
bow, deer gun or muzzleloader seasons until the license is filled. Resident gra-
tis and nonresident landowner licenses are issued only through the Depart-
ment’s Bismarck office and are subtracted from the maximum number of deer 
gun licenses available (nonresident landowner from the 1 percent allocation), 
for each unit. A resident who holds a valid lottery license to hunt deer may 
hunt the same species and sex of deer, for which that person’s license is valid, 
on land in an adjoining unit for which that person would be eligible for a resi-
dent gratis deer license. A person, that person’s spouse, and their children who 
have a gratis deer license may hunt together on any qualifying land described 
on any of their licenses provided they hunt within the same unit in which their 
described land is located. No other licenses are required for resident gratis 
licensees. Applications received by the June 1, 2016 deadline will be issued an 
any-legal-deer license. Applications received after the deadline will be issued 
licenses based on availability after the initial lottery. 

License Fees: 
Resident Deer Bow (16 years of age and older) ..................................................$30
 
Resident Deer Bow (under 16 at time of purchase) ............................................$10
 
Nonresident Deer Bow .......................................................................................$250
 
Youth Deer (residents 15 and younger at time of application)..............................$10
 
Resident Deer Gun or Muzzleloader (16 years of age and older) .......................$30
 
Resident Deer Gun or Muzzleloader (under 16 at time of application).................$10
 
Nonresident Deer Gun, Muzzleloader or Landowner .........................................$250
 
(Nonresident deer gun applicants also pay a nonrefundable application fee of $5.) 

Other Licenses Required – In addition to the deer license, hunters must 
also possess a fishing, hunting and furbearer certificate ($1 for residents 
and $2 for nonresidents) and a general game and habitat license ($20) or 
combination license ($50). 

ORANGE CLOTHING REQUIREMENTS 
All big game hunters, including bowhunters, are required to wear orange 
clothing while the regular deer gun season is in progress. All youth deer 
season and muzzleloader season hunters are required to wear orange 
clothing. Legal orange clothing is a head covering and outer garment
above the waistline of solid daylight fluorescent orange color, totaling 
at least 400 square inches. 

HUNTING BIG GAME OVER BAIT 
It is unlawful for an individual to hunt big game over bait in deer hunting 
units 3C west of the Missouri River, 3E1, 3E2, 3F1 and 3F2. Hunting big 
game over bait on all Department wildlife management areas is prohib-
ited. Hunting over bait is defined as the placement and/or use of bait(s) for 
attracting big game and other wildlife to a specific location for the purpose 
of hunting. Baits include but are not limited to grains, minerals, salts, fruits, 
vegetables, hay, or any other natural or manufactured foods. The designa-
tion does not apply to the use of scents and lures, water, food plots, stand-
ing crops or livestock feeds used in standard practices. 

Hunting over bait is also not allowed on all U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
national wildlife refuges and waterfowl production areas; U.S. Forest Ser-
vice national grasslands; and all North Dakota state school, state park and 
state forest service lands. 

TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE 
Hunters harvesting a big game animal in unit 3F2 cannot transport a car-
cass containing the head and spinal column outside of the unit unless it’s 
taken to a state-inspected meat processor within five days of the harvest 
date. In addition, the head can be removed from the carcass and taken to a 
licensed taxidermist or provided to Game and Fish for CWD testing. 

License holders must accompany their own game animal, or parts thereof, 
(excluding hide) during transportation, except that a permit for the trans-
portation of game may be issued by the Department upon request. Game 
may be shipped by common carrier in receipt of proper bill of lading. A 
deer carcass or boned-out meat must be accompanied by the head to the 
final place of storage (except in unit 3F2 as stated above). No resident of 
the state may ship big game or parts thereof (other than hides) out of the 
state without a permit from the Department. It is illegal to possess or trans-
port another’s big game animal or parts thereof (excluding hide) without 
the license holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted. Processed 
and packaged meat (cut, ground and wrapped meat) of legally harvested 
game may be gifted to another (but not sold, traded or bartered). Unpro-
cessed, unpackaged meat of legally harvested game may be gifted (but not 
sold, traded or bartered) as follows: 1) Prior to reaching the licensee’s per-
manent residence a transportation permit must be obtained and accom-
pany the game meat; 2) After reaching the licensee’s permanent residence 
if accompanied by the carcass tag of the person who harvested the game. 
Commercial processors and common carriers (shipping companies, com-
mercial meat processors and taxidermists) may possess any person’s 
legally taken possession limit of game. The carcass tag from the individ-
ual’s license shall accompany the carcass through processing and must 
be returned to the individual to be kept until the meat is consumed or until 
March 31, 2017. 

It is illegal to possess any deer, or “parts thereof,” without first obtaining 
a license or permit issued through the Department. Natural sheds are not 
considered “parts thereof.” Therefore, a license or permit is not required to 
possess natural sheds. 

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS 
IMMEDIATELY after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indicate the 
date of kill by cutting out the appropriate month and day from the tag pro-
vided with the license, and attach it to the base of the antler on antlered 
deer, or in a slit in the ear on antlerless deer as illustrated on the tag back-
ing. The tag, when properly placed, shall remain with the antlers or head until 
March 31, 2017. After the antlers, head or hide have been removed from the 
carcass, the carcass tag shall remain with the carcass or processed meat 



 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

		
		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

until consumed or until March 31, 2017. No person may reuse or attempt to 
reuse any tag issued. When any part of an animal is mounted, if the tag is 
removed from the antlers or ear, the tag must be securely fastened to the 
back or bottom of the mount and remain there. Tags are not transferable. 

BAG LIMIT 
•		 Any deer with at least one visible antler is considered an antlered deer. 
•		 Resident deer bow license holders may take and possess one deer 

of any type per season, except harvest of antlerless mule deer is 
prohibited within deer gun hunting units 4A, 4B and 4C, and as stated 
for special deer bowhunting areas. 

•		 Nonresident deer bow license holders may take and possess one 
deer of the type described on their license. Harvest of antlerless mule 
deer is prohibited in units 4A, 4B and 4C. 

•		 Residents ages 11 (who qualify), 12 and 13 may take and possess 
one antlerless white-tailed deer. 

•		 Youth deer license holders ages 13 (who qualify), 14 and 15 may take 
and possess one deer of any species, sex or age, except in units 3B1, 
3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F where a special license is required to 
hunt antlered mule deer. Harvest of antlerless mule deer is prohibited 
in units 4A, 4B and 4C. 

•		 Deer gun license holders may take and possess one deer of the type 
described on their license. Party hunting is not allowed.

•		 Muzzleloader license holders may take and possess one white-tailed 
deer of the type described on their license. 

•		 Resident gratis and nonresident landowner license holders may take 
and possess one deer as described on their license. Harvest of antler-
less mule deer is prohibited in units 4A, 4B and 4C. 

FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT 
Deer Bow Season – A bow must be pulled, held and released by hand. 
Any release aid may be used providing it is hand operated, the shooter 
supports the draw weight of the bow, and the release is not attached to 
any part of the bow other than at the bowstring. A compound bow used 
for hunting deer must have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches or 
less draw length. Recurve and long bows used for hunting deer must 
have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches. Arrows must be at least 24 
inches long, tipped with a metal broadhead, with at least two sharp cut-
ting edges, and have a cutting diameter of at least 3/4 inch (i.e., not able 
to pass through a 3/4 inch ring). It is illegal to hunt big game with barbed 
arrows. Broadheads with mechanical or retractable blades not manufac-
tured to stay open are legal. Telescopic sights, range finding devices, bat-
tery-powered or electronically lighted sights or other electronic devices 
attached to the bow, or the arrow, are not permitted (exception: lighted 
nocks and recording devices which do not aid in range finding, sight-
ing or shooting the bow are permitted). Handheld range finding devices 
are legal. Arrows capable of causing damage or injury in excess of that 
inflicted by the cutting edges of the broadhead are prohibited (e.g., explo-
sive arrow points, arrows tipped with drugs or chemicals, and pneumatic 
or hydraulic shafts are illegal). No firearms, except handguns, may be in 
the hunter’s possession while hunting with a deer bow license. However, 
handguns may not be used in any manner to assist in the harvest of a 
deer with an archery license. 

Youth Deer Season – All firearms and archery equipment allowed dur-
ing the regular deer gun season are legal during the youth deer sea-
son. In addition, each youth licensee must be accompanied (able to have 
unaided verbal contact) by at least one unarmed parent, guardian, or 
adult authorized by their parent or guardian. (A licensed hunter in the field 
during the dates of the youth deer season cannot be accompanied by a 
person carrying a firearm or bow and arrow, unless that person is another 
licensed youth season hunter.) Quadriplegics of any age having a regu-
lar deer season lottery license may also hunt during the youth deer sea-
son but are restricted to the type of deer and unit as described on their 
license. 

Deer Gun Season – Centerfire rifles of .22 to .49 caliber, and muzzle-
loading rifles of .45 caliber or larger, are legal for deer. Magazine capac-
ity is unlimited. Centerfire rifles of .50 caliber or larger using smokeless 
powder with a case length of greater than 3.5 inches are prohibited. Rifled 
slugs or patched round balls of 20 gauge or larger are legal for shot-
guns and muzzleloaders. Minimum barrel length of shotguns is 18 inches. 
Handguns must have a minimum barrel length of 4 inches and be .35 cal-
iber or larger. In addition, any centerfire handgun designed to fire a legal 
rifle cartridge is legal. Muzzleloading handguns must be .50 caliber or 
larger. All legal bow equipment as listed in the deer bow season section 
is legal during the deer gun season. Fully automatic firearms, full metal 
jacketed bullets which are nonexpanding, and altered projectiles are pro-
hibited. Qualifying crossbows are legal. Crossbows must: a) have a peak 
draw weight of at least 75 pounds; b) be equipped with a working safety 
to prevent accidental firing; c) have a stock at least 14 inches long; d) use 
bolts at least 14 inches in length. 

Areas Closed To Hunting With Centerfire Rifles
During the open deer gun season only handguns, shotguns with rifled 
slugs, legal muzzleloading firearms and legal bow equipment may be 
used for taking deer on the following areas: 

A.) That portion of Unit 2L starting where ND Highway 19 meets the east 
shore of Six Mile Bay on Devils Lake, then south and east along the 
north shore of Devils Lake to the South Creel Township line, then 
north to ND Highway 19, then west on ND Highway 19 to the point 
of origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special 
permits will be issued to disabled veterans. Check with the Barnes 
County Veterans Service office for details – (701) 845-8511. 

B.) The areas north and south of Bismarck described as follows: In Unit 
3B3, starting on ND Highway 1804 at the north boundary of the 
Double Ditch Indian Village site, then south on ND Highway 1804 to 
the junction with the road known as River Road, then south on River 
Road to the Bismarck city limits, then west to the west bank of the 
Missouri River, then following the west bank of the Missouri River to 
a point directly west of the north boundary of the Double Ditch Indian 
Village site, to include river islands and sand bars, then east to the 
point of origin. In Unit 3C, an area commencing where the southwest 
boundary of the city limits of Bismarck joins the east bank of the Mis-
souri River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the 
point where it meets the west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast 
one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 North, Range 80 West, then 
following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general southwest direc-
tion to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife 
Management Area and then west and south along the WMA bound-
ary to the Missouri River, then following the east bank of the Missouri 
River to the point of origin.

C.) That portion of Unit 3C starting on ND Highway 1806 from Man-
dan city limits south to a point directly west of the mouth of the Heart 
River. Then east to the west bank of the Missouri River, then northerly 
along the west bank of the Missouri River to Mandan city limits and 
then west along Mandan city limits to the point of origin.

D.) Approximately 171 acres so posted in Unit 3B1 within sections 2, 10, 
and 11, Township 151 North, Range 104 West in McKenzie County. 

E.) Those wildlife management areas posted with firearms restrictions at 
major access points.

F.) Approximately 90 acres so posted in Unit 3B3 within Section 18, 
Township 147 North, Range 83 West in the Wolf Creek campground 
area in McLean County. The lakeside boundary is the water’s edge. 

G.) Approximately 60 acres so posted in Unit 2K1 within sections 21 
and 28, Township 148 North, Range 83 West in the East Totten Trail 
campground area in McLean County. The lakeside boundary is the 
water’s edge. 

Muzzleloader Season – Muzzleloading long guns of .45 caliber or larger, 
and handguns .50 caliber or larger, loaded through the muzzle, with flint 
or percussion ignition, firing black powder or black powder substitutes are 
legal. Smokeless powders are not legal. Telescopic sights are prohibited. 
(Exception: No magnification (1x) scopes are legal.) 

Other Firearms/Archery Equipment Restrictions
•		 It is illegal to go afield with a firearm or bow and arrow while intoxi-

cated. 
•		 Firearms must be unloaded while traveling in or on a motor-driven 

vehicle within the boundaries of any national park. 

AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, LIGHTS 
•		 It is illegal to use all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned, for spot-

ting game 72 hours prior to and during the hunting season. A licensee 
cannot hunt the same day they are airborne over their hunting unit, 
except on a scheduled passenger airline flight. It is illegal to drive, 
concentrate, rally, raise, stir up or disturb game with all types of air-
craft, manned or unmanned. 

•		 Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game and may not 
be used to retrieve a big game animal until the animal has been taken 
into possession and legally tagged. 

•		 It is illegal to shoot with bow and arrow or firearm while in or on a 
motor-driven vehicle. 

•		 Unless otherwise authorized under N.D.C.C., no person may carry a 
firearm with a cartridge in the chamber in or on a motor-driven vehicle 
while hunting big game animals. The entire cylinder of a revolver 
is considered the chamber, requiring the revolver to be completely 
unloaded. Handguns with removable magazines or clips must have 
the magazine or clip removed from the firearm if the magazine or clip 
contains any loaded shells. It is illegal to carry any muzzleloading 
firearm in or on a motor-driven vehicle with a percussion cap or primer 
on the nipple or powder in the flash pan. 

•		 Motor-driven vehicles may be used only on established roads or 
trails. Exception: After a deer has been killed and properly tagged, a 
motor-driven vehicle may be used to make the retrieve by leaving the 
established road or trail and proceeding to the carcass by the shortest 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		

		
		

		

accessible route, and returning to the road or trail immediately by the 
same route. Motor-driven vehicles may not be used off established roads 
and trails for retrieval on state wildlife management areas, U.S. Forest 
Service national grasslands, Bureau of Land Management lands, federal 
waterfowl production areas, federal refuges, state school trust lands, and 
any areas where motor-driven vehicles are restricted. Except for persons 
having a special disability permit, no person may use a motor-driven 
vehicle while in the process of hunting deer or aid another in the process 
of hunting deer including travel to and from the hunting location unless 
the motor-driven vehicle is on an established road or trail. 

•		 Established roads or trails do not include temporary trails made for 
agricultural purposes. 

•		 No person may use motor-driven vehicles to retrieve big game on North 
Dakota Game and Fish Department Conservation PLOTS (Private Land 
Open To Sportsmen) property without permission from the landowner, 
or if the land is posted with signs granting vehicle access. These areas 
are available for walking public access through written agreements with 
private landowners. The boundaries of these properties are identified by 
large yellow triangular signs. 

•		 It is illegal to engage in shining for big game with any artificial light for the 
purpose of locating or observing big game between sunset of one day 
and sunrise of the next. State law prohibits any harassment of big game 
animals that is not provided for in law. 

•		 The use of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced light gather-
ing optics or thermal imaging equipment for locating or hunting game is 
illegal. (Exception: Lighted nocks and recording devices which do not aid 
in range finding, sighting or shooting the bow are allowed for big game 
archery seasons.) 

AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING 
Nonresidents are not allowed to hunt deer with a bow on Game and Fish 
Department wildlife management areas or Private Land Open To Sportsmen 
(PLOTS) areas from October 8-14. 

Federal or state properties such as refuges, sanctuaries, military installa-
tions, parks*, or historic sites posted to no trespassing or no hunting are 
closed to the hunting of deer. 

*Exception: Portions of Fort Stevenson State Park in Unit 3A3 are open dur-
ing the deer bow season. Contact the park office for details – 
701-337-5576. 

*Exception: Grahams Island State Park in Unit 2L. In addition to a Unit 2L 
deer hunting license, a special park permit is required. Special restrictions 
apply when hunting in the park. Contact the park office for additional infor-
mation and for obtaining permits – 701-766-4015. 

*Exception: Fort Ransom State Park in Ransom County. In addition to a deer 
bow hunting license, a special park permit is required. Special restrictions 
apply when hunting in the park. Contact the park office for additional infor-
mation and for obtaining permits – 701-973-4331. 

Also closed for the deer gun and muzzleloader seasons is that portion of 
Unit 2L starting at the junction of U.S. Highway 2 and ND Highway 20, then 
south along ND Highway 20 and ND Highway 57 to the north shore of Devils 
Lake, then northwest along the north shore of Devils Lake to the west edge 
of South Creel Township, then north along the township line to ND Highway 
19, then east along ND Highway 19 to its junction with U.S. Highway 2, then 
southeast along U.S. Highway 2 to the point of origin, except Camp Graf-
ton where a limited number of special permits will be issued to disabled vet-
erans. Check with the headquarters at Camp Grafton for details – 701-662-
0200. 

The University of North Dakota Forest River Biology Station will be open 
during the deer bow season by special permit through UND. Applications for 
this permit are due June 1, 2016 and should be sent using a letter or post-
card to the UND Biology Department. 

School trust lands are open to nonvehicular public access, including hunting, 
unless posted with ND Department of Trust Lands signs. The only estab-
lished trails on Department of Trust Lands available for public use are those 
that are signed with Game and Fish Department trail markers. See the ND 
Department of Trust Lands hunting page at www.land.nd.gov/hunt for addi-
tional information. 

When hunting near boundaries of closed refuges, sanctuaries, military instal-
lations, parks or historic sites – make sure you are familiar with any retrieval 
restrictions that may apply. 

POSTING AND TRESPASS 
•		 Only the owner or tenant, or an individual authorized by the owner,  

may post land by placing signs giving notice that no hunting is 
permitted on the land. The name of the person posting the land must 
appear on each sign in legible characters. The signs must be readable 

from the outside of the land and must be placed conspicuously not more 
than 880 yards (one-half mile) apart. As to land entirely enclosed by a 
fence or other enclosure, posting of signs at or on all gates through the 
fence or enclosure constitutes a posting of all the enclosed land. 

•		 Hunting on posted land without permission from the owner or tenant is 
illegal and punishable by suspension of hunting, fishing and trapping 
privileges for a period of at least one year. 

•		 Hunting on posted land without permission can be prosecuted even if the 
land is not posted to the letter of the law. 

•		 Any person may enter upon legally posted land (without a firearm or 
bow) to recover game shot or killed on land where he/she had a lawful 
right to hunt. 

•		 It is illegal to hunt in unharvested cereal and oilseed crops, including 
sprouted winter wheat, alfalfa, clover and other grasses grown for seed, 
without the owner’s consent. 

•		 It is illegal to deface, take down or destroy posting signs. 
•		 Failure to close gates upon exit or entry is a criminal violation punishable 

by forfeiture of hunting licenses. 
•		 It is illegal to hunt upon the premises of another within 440 yards (one-
quarter mile) of any occupied building without the consent of the person 
occupying the building. This does not prohibit hunting on land owned by 
neighbors (private or public) even if the land is less than 440 yards (one-
quarter mile) from the occupied building. 

ROAD RIGHTS OF WAY 
Do not hunt on road rights of way unless you are certain that they are open 
to public use. Most road rights of way are under the control of the adja-
cent landowner and are closed to hunting when the adjacent land is posted 
closed to hunting. 

WANTON WASTE 
No person shall kill, cripple, waste, destroy, spoil or abandon the edible 
flesh of any big game animal without making a reasonable effort to retrieve 
and retain the big game animal in his/her actual custody, at the place where 
taken and between that place and either (a) his/her permanent residence (b) 
a taxidermist (c) a common carrier or (d) a commercial processor. 

“Edible Flesh” (big game animals) is both front quarters, both hind quar-
ters and back straps but does not include meat ruined by bullet or natural 
causes. 

USE OF ANIMALS AND TREE STANDS 
Animals – It is unlawful to use any animal except horses or mules as an aid 
in the hunting or taking of big game. 

Tree Stands – No person may construct or use a permanent tree stand or 
permanent steps to a tree stand on any state wildlife management area, 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service national wildlife refuge or waterfowl produc-
tion area. Portable tree stands and portable steps, and natural tree stands 
may be used. Portable tree stands and portable steps are defined as those 
which are held to the tree with ropes, straps, cables, chains or bars. The 
use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach steps or a stand to a tree is pro-
hibited on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service national wildlife refuges and water-
fowl production areas. Screw-in steps (allowed on state wildlife manage-
ment areas) are those that are screwed into the tree by hand without the 
aid of any tools. Ladder type stands which lean against the tree are porta-
ble stands. A notched board placed in a tree crotch is a portable stand. Nat-
ural stands are those crotches, trunks, down trees, etc., where no platform 
is used. Tree stands do not preempt hunting rights in the vicinity of the tree 
stand. Tree stands and steps may not be put up on state wildlife manage-
ment areas before August 20, 2016, and they shall be taken down by Janu-
ary 31, 2017. Stands and steps not removed by January 31, 2017, are con-
sidered abandoned property and are subject to removal and confiscation by 
the Game and Fish Department. Tree stands left unattended on state wild-
life management areas require an identification tag displaying the owner’s 
name, address and telephone number; or hunter education number. Tree 
stands must be removed daily on national wildlife refuges. Portable tree 
stands on waterfowl production areas and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
managed lands may be used in accordance with state regulations. 

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES  
National wildlife refuges open to deer hunting during the youth deer sea-
son include: Arrowwood, Chase Lake, Des Lacs, J. Clark Salyer, Long Lake, 
Lostwood, Lake Alice, Lake Nettie, Sibley Lake, Slade, Tewaukon, Upper 
Souris and Zahl. Youth hunters are required to contact refuge headquarters 
for permission and details. 

Certain national wildlife refuges may be open to deer hunting during the bow 
and muzzleloader seasons. Contact refuge headquarters for details. Some 
national wildlife refuges will be open during the deer gun season (see table 
below), including some requiring a special refuge permit which controls the 
amount of access during the season. Special refuge permits are determined 

www.land.nd.gov/hunt
www.land.nd.gov/hunt


  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  

  

  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  

  

  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  

  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

	

		

		

		

		

by lottery and must be applied for through the initial lottery drawing process. 
To receive a special refuge permit, an individual must first be successful in 
drawing a unit permit. 

On national wildlife refuges and waterfowl production areas, hunting with 
horses or mules is prohibited and the distribution of bait and hunting over 
bait is also prohibited. 

REFUGES OPEN DURING DEER GUN SEASON
 REFUGE	  PERMITS UNIT 

Upper Souris NWR 701-468-5467 125 Antlered 3A2 
Tewaukon NWR 701-724-3598 15 Antlered 2G2 
RESTRICTIONS – Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer on the refuge. Refuge
permit holders may hunt off the refuge anywhere in the unit. No refuge permit required to hunt 
antlerless deer. 
J. Clark Salyer NWR 701-768-2548 175 Antlered 3A4 
RESTRICTIONS – Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer on the refuge and permit
holders may not hunt off the refuge. No refuge permit required to hunt antlerless deer. 
Arrowwood NWR 701-285-3341 No refuge permit required. 2F2 
Audubon NWR 701-442-5474 No refuge permit required. 2K1 
Chase Lake NWR 701-752-4218 No refuge permit required. 2J2 
Des Lacs NWR 701-385-4046 No refuge permit required. 3A2/3A3 
Lake Alice NWR 701-662-8611 No refuge permit required. 2E 
Lake Nettie NWR 701-442-5474 No refuge permit required. 2K1 
Lake Zahl NWR 701-965-6488 No refuge permit required. 3A1 
Long Lake NWR 701-387-4397 No refuge permit required. 2I 
Lostwood NWR 701-848-2722 No refuge permit required. 3A1 
Slade NWR 701-387-4397 No refuge permit required. 2I 
Sibley Lake NWR 701-845-3466 No refuge permit required. 2F1 
RESTRICTIONS – Open for entire season for hunters possessing a license in the unit. 

LEAD IN VENISON 
In 2008, the North Dakota Department of Health participated in a small study 
that identified the presence of lead fragments in some venison donated to 
three North Dakota food pantries. Since then, other states have conducted 
similar research and found similar results. More information on this issue is 
available on the North Dakota Department of Health website. 

FIRE DANGER INDEX 
Fire danger indexes provide an indication of wildland fire potential. 

Fire danger indexes are calculated considering temperature, humidity, wind 
speed, cloud cover and vegetative condition, and are classified as Low, 
Medium, High, Very High or Extreme. 

Fires are more likely to occur on higher index days. Certain outdoor activi-
ties may be prohibited when a fire danger index is considered Very High or 
Extreme. 

In addition, counties may have burn or travel restrictions in place. Check 
with local authorities for present conditions. 

SPECIAL HERD REDUCTION DEER BOW SEASONS 
A.) Antlerless white-tailed deer permits (available from the Department’s Bis-
marck office) will be issued for portions of the city of Bismarck, and pri-
vate land in Burleigh County located adjacent to the city of Bismarck 
starting where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck joins 
the east bank of the Missouri River, then following the city limits of Bis-
marck easterly to the point where it meets the west bank of Apple Creek 
in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 North, Range 
80 West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general south-
west direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek 
Wildlife Management Area and then west and south along the WMA 
boundary to the Missouri River, then following the east bank of the Mis-
souri River to the point of origin. This does not include the NDDOCR 
property referred to in Section D. Three special experimental deer bow 
seasons will run September 2, 2016 – January 31, 2017. (Hunters pos-
sessing a regular bow season license may use that license only during 
the regular deer bow season.) Hunters who desire to hunt within the city 
limits of Bismarck must receive trespass permits from the Bismarck chief 
of police. No orange clothing is required unless required by city officials 
within city limits. Contact the Bismarck Police Department for additional 
information – 701-223-1212. 

B.) Additional special experimental deer bow seasons will be held in portions 
of the city of Fargo and adjacent areas, including privately owned land. 
A maximum of 90 antlerless special deer bow season licenses (available 
from the Department) will be issued for hunting in the city of Fargo and 
adjacent areas. Specific details, including season dates and areas open 

to hunting, will be determined by the city of Fargo. No orange clothing 
required. Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Fargo must 
receive a Deer Management Permit from the city of Fargo prior to being 
issued licenses from the Game and Fish Department. Hunters must sub-
mit applications to the Department’s Bismarck office along with a copy of 
their Fargo City Deer Management Permit and $30 for each license. Any 
unissued permits remaining after October 31, 2016, can be purchased 
by FCDMP holders on a first-come, first-served basis. Season dates are 
12 noon Central Time September 2, 2016 through January 31, 2017. 

C.) A maximum of 35 antlerless deer bow permits (available from the 
Department’s Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting at the USDA-
ARS Northern Great Plains Research Lab in Mandan. This special sea-
son will run from September 2, 2016 through January 31, 2017. Appli-
cants must first obtain a permit from USDA-ARS and can apply only 
through their website at www.ars.usda.gov/npa/ngprl. 

D.) Three special experimental antlerless deer bow seasons will be held 
on the North Dakota Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation land 
south of Bismarck, North Dakota. Hunters must first obtain a NDDOCR 
access permit before hunting on NDDOCR land. Only 25 access permits 
will be granted to archery hunters and access permits are only avail-
able through the NDDOCR. Application deadline for access permits is 4 
p.m. Central Time, July 1, 2016. A maximum of 75 antlerless deer bow 
licenses (available from the Department’s Bismarck office) will be issued. 
Each access permit holder can purchase up to three antlerless white-
tailed deer licenses. The season opens at 12 noon Central Time, Sep-
tember 2, 2016 and will close January 31, 2017. Other details, includ-
ing areas open to hunting, will be determined by the NDDOCR. Hunters 
must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations. 

HUNTING BY NONTRIBAL MEMBERS ON NORTH 
DAKOTA INDIAN RESERVATIONS 
If an individual hunts exclusively on Indian lands within an Indian reserva-
tion, a tribal license is required and a state hunting license is not required. 
Hunting on nontribal lands within an Indian reservation requires a state hunt-
ing license. Game taken legally with a tribal license within an Indian reserva-
tion may be possessed and transported anywhere in North Dakota. 

Portions of some units are located on Indian reservations. Contact reserva-
tion tribal offices for more information. 

•		 Fort Berthold. Game and Fish Department, 404 Frontage Road, New 
Town, ND 58763, 701-627-4760. 

•		 Standing Rock. Game and Fish Department, Box 549, Fort Yates, ND 
58538, 701-854-7236. 

•		 Turtle Mountain. Department of Natural Resources, Box 570, Belcourt, 
ND 58316, 701-477-2604. 

•		 Spirit Lake. Fish and Wildlife Department, Box 359, Fort Totten, ND 
58335, 701-766-1243. 

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET 
CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME 

SEP 2 7:05 8:19 
SEP 3 7:06 8:17 
SEP 4 7:07 8:16 
SEP 5 7:09 8:14 
SEP 6 7:10 8:12 
SEP 7 7:11 8:10 
SEP 8 7:13 8:08 
SEP 9 7:14 8:06 
SEP 10 7:15 8:04 
SEP 11 7:16 8:02 
SEP 12 7:18 8:00 
SEP 13 7:19 7:58 
SEP 14 7:20 7:56 
SEP 15 7:22 7:54 
SEP 16 7:23 7:52 
SEP 17 7:24 7:50 
SEP 18 7:25 7:48 
SEP 19 7:27 7:46 
SEP 20 7:28 7:44 
SEP 21 7:29 7:42 
SEP 22 7:31 7:40 
SEP 23 7:32 7:38 
SEP 24 7:33 7:36 
SEP 25 7:35 7:34 
SEP 26 7:36 7:32 
SEP 27 7:37 7:30 
SEP 28 7:39 7:28 
SEP 29 7:40 7:26 
SEP 30 7:41 7:24 
OCT 1 7:43 7:22 
OCT 2 7:44 7:20 
OCT 3 7:45 7:18 

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET 

OCT 4 7:47 7:16 
OCT 5 7:48 7:14 
OCT 6 7:49 7:12 
OCT 7 7:51 7:10 
OCT 8 7:52 7:08 
OCT 9 7:53 7:06 
OCT 10 7:55 7:04 
OCT 11 7:56 7:02 
OCT 12 7:58 7:01 
OCT 13 7:59 6:59 
OCT 14 8:00 6:57 
OCT 15 8:02 6:55 
OCT 16 8:03 6:53 
OCT 17 8:05 6:51 
OCT 18 8:06 6:50 
OCT 19 8:07 6:48 
OCT 20 8:09 6:46 
OCT 21 8:10 6:44 
OCT 22 8:12 6:43 
OCT 23 8:13 6:41 
OCT 24 8:15 6:39 
OCT 25 8:16 6:38 
OCT 26 8:17 6:36 
OCT 27 8:19 6:34 
OCT 28 8:20 6:33 
OCT 29 8:22 6:31 
OCT 30 8:23 6:30 
OCT 31 8:25 6:28 
NOV 1 8:26 6:27 
NOV 2 8:28 6:25 
NOV 3 8:29 6:24 
NOV 4 8:31 6:22 
NOV 5 8:32 6:21 

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET 
CENTRAL STANDARD TIME 

NOV 6 7:34 5:19 
NOV 7 7:35 5:18 
NOV 8 7:37 5:17 
NOV 9 7:38 5:15 
NOV 10 7:40 5:14 
NOV 11 7:41 5:13 
NOV 12 7:42 5:12 
NOV 13 7:44 5:11 
NOV 14 7:45 5:10 
NOV 15 7:47 5:08 
NOV 16 7:48 5:07 
NOV 17 7:50 5:06 
NOV 18 7:51 5:05 
NOV 19 7:52 5:04 
NOV 20 7:54 5:04 
NOV 21 7:55 5:03 
NOV 22 7:57 5:02 
NOV 23 7:58 5:01 
NOV 24 7:59 5:00 
NOV 25 8:01 5:00 
NOV 26 8:02 4:59 
NOV 27 8:03 4:58 
NOV 28 8:04 4:58 
NOV 29 8:06 4:57 
NOV 30 8:07 4:57 
DEC 1 8:08 4:56 
DEC 2 8:09 4:56 
DEC 3 8:10 4:56 
DEC 4 8:12 4:55 
DEC 5 8:13 4:55 
DEC 6 8:14 4:55 
DEC 7 8:15 4:55 

DATE SUNRISE SUNSET 

DEC 8 8:16 4:55 
DEC 9 8:17 4:55 
DEC 10 8:18 4:55 
DEC 11 8:19 4:55 
DEC 12 8:19 4:55 
DEC 13 8:20 4:55 
DEC 14 8:21 4:55 
DEC 15 8:22 4:55 
DEC 16 8:23 4:56 
DEC 17 8:23 4:56 
DEC 18 8:24 4:56 
DEC 19 8:24 4:57 
DEC 20 8:25 4:57 
DEC 21 8:25 4:58 
DEC 22 8:26 4:58 
DEC 23 8:26 4:59 
DEC 24 8:27 4:59 
DEC 25 8:27 5:00 
DEC 26 8:27 5:01 
DEC 27 8:28 5:02 
DEC 28 8:28 5:02 
DEC 29 8:28 5:03 
DEC 30 8:28 5:04 
DEC 31 8:28 5:05 
JAN 1 8:28 5:06 
JAN 2 8:28 5:07 
JAN 3 8:28 5:08 
JAN 4 8:28 5:09 
JAN 5 8:28 5:10 
JAN 6 8:28 5:11 
JAN 7 8:27 5:12 
JAN 8 8:27 5:13 

SUNRISE AND SUNSET TIMES 
The time of sunrise and sunset at Bismarck is given below. The sun rises and sets one minute 
later for each 12.5 miles west of Bismarck and one minute earlier for each 12.5 miles east of 
Bismarck. 

www.ars.usda.gov/npa/ngprl
www.ars.usda.gov/npa/ngprl
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All units are bounded by interstate highways, U.S. highways or North Dakota state 
highways as noted on the map, with the following exceptions: 

RAP (REPORT ALL POACHERS)
• Western half of boundary between units 2F1 and 2L – Eddy County No. 1 heading east from its junction PROGRAM. This program encourages people
with U.S. Highway 281 at Sheyenne to its junction with ND Highway 20. to report wildlife violations, remain anonymous

• Boundary between units 3A3 and 3B2 – North shore of Lake Sakakawea. Except for Mathews if they prefer, and receive monetary rewards
(deTrobriand) Island and Mallard Island; all islands are part of Unit 3B2. Mathews (deTrobriand) Island is for convictions based on their information.
part of Unit 3A3. Mallard Island is part of Unit 3B3. Anonymous callers will be given a special code

• Boundary between units 3B2 and 3B3 – South shore of Lake Sakakawea heading west from U.S. Highway number and are not required to give their name.
83 to a point on the shore directly north of where ND Highway 200 turns southward (west of Pick City), then Rewards range from $100 to $1,000 depending
south to ND Highway 200. Mallard Island is part of Unit 3B3. on the nature and seriousness of the crime. Call

• Boundary between units 3F2 and 3C – The junction of ND Highway 6 and ND Highway 21 heading south 800-472-2121. Call this number only to report
on ND Highway 6 to the junction with ND Highway 24, then east on ND Highway 24 and continuing east game and fish violations. Note: If calling from
to a point on the west shore of the Missouri River, then following the Missouri River shoreline south to the outside North Dakota, the number is 701-328-
South Dakota border. 9921.The reward fund is supported by private

• Boundary between units 4B and 4C – The Little Missouri River. donations. If you wish to donate to the RAP
• Boundary between units 4D and 4E – The northern Slope County line heading west from its junction with program, tax deductible contributions can be sent
U.S. Highway 85 to the Little Missouri River, then south on the Little Missouri River to U.S. Highway 12. to RAP, Box 1091, Bismarck, ND, 58502-1091. 

For additional hunting information visit www.gf.nd.gov 
The NDGFD receives federal financial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service. In accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of 
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments 
of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the Interior and its Bureaus in prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, 
sex (in education programs or activities) and also religion for the NDGFD. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility 
as described above, or you desire further information, please write to: ND Game and Fish Department, Attn: Chief Administrative Services, 100 N. Bismarck 
Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: US Fish and Wildlife Service, Attn: Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP- 4020, Arlington, 
Virginia 22203. If you are disabled and desire application information for hunting and fishing opportunities in this state please contact the Department 
at 701-328-6300. The TTY/TTD (Relay ND) number for the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888. 

LICENSING BY COMPUTER OR BY PHONEPhone: Website: 
800-406-6409 QUICK – CONVENIENT – EASY www.gf.nd.gov

Regular licenseIn addition to the Purchase general licenses and apply for
license fee(s) a fees apply with nomost lottery licenses 24 hours a day — 7 days a week.service charge service charge added.

Applicants must print 
Service charge will 
will be added. 

out their own license. 
vary depending Those without a 
on amount of printer will receive a 
transaction. confirmation numberVISA, DISCOVER AND MASTERCARD ACCEPTED. to carry. 
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http:EASYwww.gf.nd.gov
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