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2014-2015 NORTH DAKOTA DEER HUNTING 

PROCLAMATION 
   

Pursuant to North Dakota law and the recommendation of the Game and Fish Director, I 

hereby declare open seasons for the taking of deer with bow (Deer Bow), firearms (Deer Gun), 

Muzzleloader and Youth Deer season.  Except as provided hereinafter or otherwise by law, no 

person shall hunt, kill, take, possess, transport, or so attempt to hunt, kill, take, transport, or 

possess any deer or parts thereof. 

 

DEFINITIONS.  As hereinafter used, unless the content or subject matter otherwise requires: 

“Game” shall include any of those species of big game, small game, or furbearers as defined in 

section 20.1-01-02 of the North Dakota Century Code.  “Edible flesh” (big game animals) shall 

be both front quarters, both hind quarters, and back straps but does not include meat ruined by 

bullet or natural causes.  “Common Carriers” are shipping companies, commercial meat 

processors and taxidermists.  “Processed and Packaged Meat” is meat which has been cut/ground 

and wrapped.  It is not quartered or boned out pieces of meat. 

 

1. SEASON DATES, TIMES, OPEN AREAS 
 

Season Opens Closes Areas Restrictions  

DEER BOW Aug 29 (12 noon) Jan. 4 Statewide Residents – Any deer is legal, except antlerless mule 

deer within Deer Gun hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 

4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F. No unit restrictions. 

Nonresidents – Restricted to species of deer 

described on license. No unit restrictions.  Harvest 

of antlerless mule deer is prohibited within Deer 

Gun hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E  

 *Exception - See Section 4 -   and 4F. Orange clothing required of all bow 

 Special Herd Reduction Deer Seasons  hunters and those accompanying apprentice license 

holders during Deer Gun season. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

DEER GUN  16½ Day Season   Restricted to type of deer and unit on license. Type  

Nov. 7 (12 noon) Nov. 23 All Units  of deer includes species and whether antlerless or 

antlered (at least one visible antler).  Harvest of 

antlerless mule deer is prohibited in hunting units 

3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F.  See map on 

back for unit descriptions.  Note exception for white-

tailed deer hunters in 4B, 4C, 4D, and 4E. Orange 

clothing required for gun hunters and those 

accompanying apprentice and youth license holders. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

MUZZLELOADER    Restricted to white-tailed deer only and type of 

Nov. 28 (12 noon) Dec. 14 Statewide deer on license.  No unit restrictions.   

Orange clothing required for muzzleloader hunters 

and those accompanying apprentice license holders. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
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Season Opens Closes Areas Restrictions  

YOUTH DEER Sep. 19 (12 noon) Sep. 28 Statewide 12 & 13 year olds - Antlerless white-tailed deer only. 

14 & 15 year olds - Any deer is legal, except 

antlerless mule deer in hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 

4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F.  No unit restrictions. Except 

in Hunting Units 4A-4F, 3B1 & 3B2 a special 

license is required to hunt antlered mule deer. These 

licenses are valid only in the unit specified on the 

license. Orange clothing required for youth hunters, 

their mentors and those accompanying apprentice 

license holders. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

HOURS OF HUNTING are one-half (½) hour before sunrise to one-half (½) hour after sunset except when seasons open 

as noted above.  Hunters must cease any hunting activity, leave any stand or blind, and must be in the process of leaving 

the field at the close of shooting hours (one-half (½) hour after sunset).  All season openers are Central Time. 

 

2. ELIGIBILITY 
 

Who May Apply--Any resident or nonresident is eligible for each of the following seasons (Deer 

Bow, Deer Gun, Muzzleloader).  Additionally, residents ages 12 and 13 are eligible for a 

statewide antlerless white-tailed deer license and may only hunt during the Youth Deer season 

(this includes those who are age 11 providing their birthday occurs in the same year as the Youth 

Deer season). Residents ages 14 and 15 are eligible to apply for a once-in-a-life-time any-deer 

license in-lieu of a Deer Gun license (this includes youth who are age 13 providing they will be 

age 14 during the same year as the respective big game hunting season). 

 

Licenses for Military Personnel --North Dakota residents who are on active duty with the 

United State Armed Forces under Title 10 USC Section 12304b and who are stationed outside of 

the state during the 2014 Deer Gun lottery process, and who miss the initial lottery, are eligible to 

purchase one Deer Gun license for a white-tailed deer of their choice in a unit of their choice.  

North Dakota residents who were on active duty with the United States Armed Forces under Title 

10 USC Section 12304b and stationed outside of the state during the 2013 Deer Gun season and 

were unable to participate in the season are also eligible to purchase one white-tailed Deer Gun 

license of their choice in a unit of their choice. 

 

Youth Deer Season (Residents Only)--Residents ages 12 and 13 are eligible for a statewide 

antlerless white-tailed deer license (this includes those who are age 11 providing their birthday 

occurs in the same year as the Youth Deer season).  Individuals age 14 and 15 who have either 

not previously applied for a Deer Gun license or who have applied but have never received a 

Deer Gun license are eligible to receive one deer license valid for the Youth Deer season, this 

includes youth who are age 13 providing they will be age 14 during the same year as the 

respective big game hunting season as well as those youth who apply at age 15 but will be 

turning 16 after they have received their license.  If a 14 or 15 year old is unsuccessful in 

harvesting a deer during the Youth Deer season, the license also will be valid during the Deer 

Gun season.  Eleven, 12 and 13 year olds may only hunt in the Youth Deer season.  Anyone 

applying for these licenses is not eligible to apply for a license for the regular Deer Gun season. 

 



 Page 3 

 
In addition, each youth must be accompanied (must be able to have unaided verbal contact) by at 

least one unarmed parent, guardian, or adult authorized by their parent or guardian during the 

Youth Deer season.  No Youth Deer licensee hunting in the field during the Youth Deer season 

may be accompanied by a nonlicensee carrying a firearm or a bow and arrow.  A nonlicensee is a 

person not having a Youth Deer license. 

 

Quadriplegics who apply for and receive a Deer Gun season license through the lottery will be 

eligible to hunt during the Youth Deer season.  Quadriplegics who hunt during the Youth Deer 

season must adhere to the unit and deer-type restrictions on their license. 
 

3. LICENSES 
 

Deer Bow, Deer Gun, Youth Deer and Muzzleloader licenses are issued in the form of stamps.  

These stamps must be affixed to the back of the fishing, hunting, and furbearer certificate and 

signed in ink. If space is not available on the certificate the hunter must be in possession of the 

signed stamp.  It is illegal to purchase more than one Deer Bow license per season.  Licenses are 

not transferable.  No person may give, barter, or sell an issued license to another person. 

 

Deer Bow--All resident licenses are issued by the Department’s Bismarck office, through the 

Department web site, or by calling 1-800-406-6409.  A person may only purchase one archery 

license per year. 
 

Nonresident Deer Bow--General nonresident bow licenses for white-tailed deer are issued by 

the Department’s Bismarck office, through the Department web site, or by calling 1-800-406-

6409.  One hundred and seventy-two (172) nonresident any-deer licenses (which include mule 

deer) are issued by lottery only from the Department's Bismarck office.  Harvest of antlerless 

mule deer is prohibited in Deer Gun hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E, and 4F. 

 

Deer Gun--Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants as 

prescribed by the Director.  Persons must submit applications to the Department's Bismarck 

office by June 4, 2014.  Because of sometimes delayed postmarking procedures, applications 

postmarked June 5 and earlier will be accepted.  After the lottery drawing, unsuccessful 

applicants may apply for any remaining licenses which will be issued by lottery.  If Deer Gun 

licenses still remain after the unsuccessful lottery applicants have had first chance at them, the 

Department may issue these on a lottery or first come-first served basis to any eligible person 

including those not previously issued a 2014 Deer Gun license. 

 

Muzzleloader--Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants.  

Persons must submit applications to the Department's Bismarck office by June 4, 2014.  Because 

of sometimes delayed postmarking procedures, applications postmarked June 5 and earlier will 

be accepted.   

 

Fees--The appropriate fee must accompany all Deer Gun, Youth Deer, and or Muzzleloader 

applications.  Residents and nonresidents may use credit cards, personal checks, certified checks, 

or money orders.  If an insufficient funds check is issued and the collection agency cannot 

collect, the applicant shall be ineligible for a 2014 and 2015 Deer Gun or Muzzleloader license. 

 



 Page 4 

 
Gratis and Nonresident Landowner Preferential Licenses--Gratis and nonresident preferential 

licenses are issued only through the Department's Bismarck office and the number of gratis 

licenses issued will be subtracted from the maximum number of Deer Gun licenses available for 

each unit.  
 

Licenses for Terminally Ill Children--One organization will be provided up to eight deer 

licenses to hunt the species indicated on the license in the manner, places, and times prescribed in 

this proclamation.  The organization shall make one license available to each qualified child to 

hunt the species of big game indicated on the license as provided in the this proclamation.  A 

qualified child receiving a license under this section must comply with hunter education 

requirements and, if under the age of eighteen, must be accompanied by an adult twenty-one 

years of age or older.  "Organization" means a nonprofit organization qualified under Internal 

Revenue Code section 501(c)(3) with the principal purpose of granting hunting and fishing 

adventures for children who have been diagnosed with a terminal illness by a licensed physician 

and "qualified child" means a terminally ill individual who is of legal age to hunt the species for 

which the license is valid but under twenty-one years of age, is a resident, and is sponsored by an 

organization that provides to the department supporting documentation demonstrating 

compliance as described in this section. 

 

Licenses for the Injured Military Wildlife Project--The Director may issue four any deer and 

six white-tailed deer licenses annually to the injured military wildlife project for distribution.  A 

license issued under this subsection is valid during the period of the Deer Bow season. 

 

4. FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT 
 

Deer Bow Season--A bow must be pulled, held, and released by hand.  Any release aid may be 

used providing it is hand operated, the shooter supports the draw weight of the bow, and the 

release is not attached to any part of the bow other than at the bowstring.  A compound bow used 

for hunting deer must have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches or less draw length.  Recurve 

and long bows used for hunting deer must have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches.  Arrows 

must be at least 24 inches long, tipped with a metal broadhead, with at least two sharp cutting 

edges, and have a cutting diameter of at least ¾ inch (i.e., not able to pass through a ¾ inch ring.) 

It is illegal to hunt big game with barbed arrows. Broadheads with mechanical or retractable 

blades not manufactured to stay open are legal.  Telescopic sights, range finding devices, battery-

powered or electronically lighted sights or other electronic devices attached to the bow, or the 

arrow, are not permitted, except a lighted nock, which is permitted.  Handheld range finding 

devices are legal.  Arrows capable of causing damage or injury to the animal in excess of that 

inflicted by the cutting edges of the broadhead, are prohibited while hunting big game with a bow 

(e.g., explosive arrow points, arrows tipped with drugs or chemicals, and pneumatic or hydraulic 

shafts are illegal).  No firearms, except handguns, may be in the hunter's possession while 

hunting with a Deer Bow license.  However, handguns may not be used in any manner to assist in 

the harvest of a deer on an archery license.  Crossbows are not legal, except with a permit from 

the North Dakota Game and Fish Department Director. When permitted, crossbows must: a) 

have a peak draw weight of at least 75 pounds and not more than 200 pounds, b) be equipped 

with a working safety to prevent accidental firing, c) have a stock at least 14 inches long, d) use 

arrows or bolts at least 14 inches in length, e) Battery-powered and electronic-lighted sight pins 
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and telescopic sights not exceeding a maximum power of four by thirty-two millimeters may be 

attached to crossbows used for hunting, and f) crossbow hunters must comply with all other 

archery equipment regulations listed above. 

 

Deer Gun and Youth Deer Seasons--Centerfire rifles of .22 to .49 caliber and muzzleloading 

rifles of .45 caliber or larger are legal for deer.  Centerfire rifles of .50 caliber or larger using 

smokeless powder with a case length of greater than 3.5 inches are prohibited.  Rifles must have 

a minimum barrel length of 16 inches.  Rifled slugs or patched round balls of 20 gauge or larger 

are legal for shotguns and muzzleloading shotguns.  Minimum barrel length of shotguns is 18 

inches.  Handguns must have a minimum barrel length of 4 inches and be .35 cal. or larger.  In 

addition, any centerfire handgun designed to fire a legal rifle cartridge shall be legal.  Fully 

automatic firearms, full-metal jacketed bullets, which are non-expanding, as well as altered 

projectiles are prohibited.  All legal bow equipment as listed above in the Deer Bow season 

section shall be legal during the Deer Gun season.  Crossbows are legal during the Deer Gun 

season.  Crossbows must: a) have a peak draw weight of at least 75 pounds and not more than 

200 pounds, b) be equipped with a working safety to prevent accidental firing, c) have a stock at 

least 14 inches long, d) use bolts at least 14 inches in length.   

 

Areas Closed to Hunting With Centerfire Rifles--During the open Deer Gun season only 

handguns, shotguns with rifled slugs, legal muzzleloading firearms and legal bow equipment may 

be used for the taking of deer on the following areas: 

 

A. That portion of unit 2L starting where ND Highway 19 meets the east shore of Six Mile 

Bay on Devils Lake, then south and east along the north shore of Devils Lake to the 

South Creel Township line, then north to ND Highway 19, then west on ND Highway 

19 to the point of origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special either 

sex permits will be issued to disabled veterans.  Check with the Barnes County 

Veterans Service office for details (701) 845-8511. 

 

B. The areas north and south of Bismarck described as follows:  In unit 3B3, starting on 

ND Highway 1804 at the north boundary of the Double Ditch Indian Village site, then 

south on ND Highway 1804 to the junction with the road known as River Road, then 

south on River Road to the Bismarck city limits, then west to the west bank of the 

Missouri River, then following the west bank of the Missouri River to a point directly 

west of the north boundary of the Double Ditch Indian Village site, to include river 

islands and sandbars, then east to the point of origin.  In unit 3C, an area starting where 

the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck join the east bank of the Missouri 

River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the point where it meets the 

west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 

North, Range 80 West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general 

southwest direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife 

Management Area (WMA) and then west and south along the WMA boundary to the 

Missouri River, then following the east bank of the Missouri River to the point of 

origin. 
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C. That portion of unit 3C starting on ND Highway 1806 from Mandan city limits south to 

a point directly west of the mouth of the Heart River.  Then east to the west bank of the 

Missouri River, then northerly along the west bank of the Missouri River to Mandan 

city limits and then west along Mandan city limits to the point of origin. 

 

D. Approximately 171 acres so posted in unit 3B1 within Sections 2, 10, and 11, Township 

151 North, Range 104 West in McKenzie County, North Dakota. 

 

E. Those wildlife management areas posted with firearms restrictions at major access 

points. 

 

F. Approximately 90 acres so posted in unit 3B3 within Section 18, Township 147 North, 

Range 83 West in the Wolf Creek Campground area in McLean County, North Dakota. 

The lakeside boundary is the water’s edge. 

 

G. Approximately 60 acres so posted in unit 2K1 within sections 21 and 28, Township 148 

North, Range 83 West in the East Totten Trail Campground area in McLean County, 

North Dakota.  The lakeside boundary is the water’s edge. 

 

Muzzleloader Season--Muzzleloading long guns of .45 caliber or larger, and handguns .50 

caliber or larger, loaded through the muzzle, with flint or percussion ignition, firing black powder 

or black powder substitutes are legal.  Smokeless powders are not legal.  Telescopic sights are 

prohibited.  No magnification (1X) scopes are legal for Muzzleloader season.   
 

Special Herd Reduction Deer Seasons--A) Three special concurrent experimental deer bow 

seasons are proclaimed for portions of the City of Bismarck, and private land in Burleigh County 

located adjacent to the City of Bismarck.  The private land in Burleigh County is described as 

follows:  starting where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck joins the east bank 

of the Missouri River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the point where it 

meets the west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 

North, Range 80 West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general southwest 

direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife Management Area 

(WMA) and then west  and south along the WMA boundary to the Missouri River, then 

following the east bank of the Missouri River to the point of origin. This does not include the 

NDDOCR property referred to in Section 4(E). 
 

Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Bismarck must receive a trespass permit from 

the Bismarck Chief of Police (701-223-1212), prior to being issued up to three special deer bow 

licenses from the Game and Fish Director.  Hunters will be restricted to those dates and locations 

specified on the trespass permit(s).  No orange clothing is required when hunting within the 

Special Herd Reduction areas unless required by city officials within city limits.  In addition, 

hunters may use their Deer Bow license during the Deer Bow season (August 29, 2014 through 

January 4, 2015) after obtaining a trespass permit.  In the area outside the city limits of Bismarck 

no trespass permit is needed.  These licenses are available only at the North Dakota Game and 

Fish Department headquarters in Bismarck. 
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The bag limit shall be one antlerless white-tailed deer for each Special Herd Reduction Deer Bow 

Season Permit. 
 

Legal bow equipment, manner of taking, shooting hours and all other requirements shall be the 

same as printed elsewhere in this proclamation.  The seasons shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central 

Time, August 29, 2014, and close one-half (½) hour after sunset January 31, 2015, unless 

restrictions are contained in the trespass permit issued by the Bismarck Chief of Police. 

 

B)   Special concurrent experimental deer bow seasons will be held in portions of the City of 

Fargo and adjacent areas, including privately owned land.   
 

A maximum of 90 antlerless deer bow permits (available from the Department’s Bismarck 

office) will be issued for hunting in the City of Fargo and adjacent areas.  The bag limit shall be 

two antlerless white-tailed deer for each Fargo City Deer Management Permit.   
 

Specific details including season dates and areas open to hunting will be determined by the City 

of Fargo (701-235-4493).  No orange clothing is required when hunting within the city limits of 

Fargo. Hunters must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations issued by the 

North Dakota Game and Fish Department. 
 

Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Fargo must receive a Deer Management 

Permit from the City of Fargo prior to being issued licenses from the Game and Fish Department. 

Hunters must submit applications to the Department’s Bismarck office along with a copy of their 

Fargo City Deer Management Permit and $20.00 for each license.  Any remaining un-issued 

permits after October 31, 2014, can be purchased by Fargo City Deer Management Permit 

holders on a first come first served basis.   

 

C)   A concurrent experimental antlerless deer bow season is proclaimed for the USDA-ARS 

Northern Great Plains Research Lab in Mandan, North Dakota.  The season shall open at 12:00 

(noon) Central Time, August 29, 2014, and close one-half (½) hour after sunset January 31, 

2015.  A maximum of 35 antlerless deer bow licenses will be available.  Applicants for these 

licenses must first obtain a permit from USDA-ARS.  Licenses will be available at the NDGFD 

headquarters in Bismarck. 

 

D) A concurrent experimental antlerless deer bow season is proclaimed for the University of 

North Dakota Forest River Biology Station located near Inkster, North Dakota.  The season shall 

open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, August 29, 2014 and close January 4, 2015.  A maximum of 

5 antlerless licenses will be available.  Applicants for these licenses must first obtain a letter of 

permit from the University of North Dakota.  Applications for this permit are due on June 4, 

2014 and should be sent using a letter or postcard to the UND Biology Department (Deer Permit, 

Starcher Hall, 10 Cornell Street-Stop 9109, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9019).  In addition, permit 

holders may also use a regular deer archery license to hunt on the Forest River Biology Station.  

Only those with a permit from UND may hunt on the Station.   

 



 Page 8 

 
E)    A special concurrent experimental antlerless deer bow seasons will be held on the ND 

Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation land south of Bismarck, North Dakota.  Hunters 

must first obtain a NDDOCR access permit before hunting on NDDOCR land.  Only 25 access 

permits will be granted to archery hunters and access permits are only available through the 

NDDOCR.  Application deadline for access permits is 4:00 pm Central Time, July 1, 2014. 
 

A maximum of 75 antlerless deer bow licenses (available from the Department’s Bismarck 

office) will be issued.  Each access permit holder can purchase up to three antlerless white-tailed 

deer licenses.   
 

Season dates for deer hunting will open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, August 29, 2014 and will 

close January 4, 2015.  Other details, including areas open to hunting, will be determined by the 

NDDOCR.  Hunters must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations. 

 

Other Firearm and Archery Equipment Restrictions--It is illegal to go afield with a firearm 

or bow and arrow while intoxicated. 

 

Americans with Disabilities--The Director may make reasonable accommodations to comply 

with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

 

5. AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, AND LIGHTS 

 
* It shall be illegal to use all types of aircraft, including drones, for spotting game 72 hours 

prior to and during the hunting season.  A licensee cannot hunt the same day they are 

airborne over their hunting unit with the exception of their scheduled passenger airline 

flight.  It is illegal to drive, concentrate, rally, raise, stir up, spot, or disturb game with all 

types of aircraft, including drones. 

 

* Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game.  Motor-driven vehicles may not 

be used to retrieve a big game animal until the animal has been taken into possession and 

legally tagged. 

 

* It is illegal to shoot with bow and arrow or firearm while in or on a motor-driven vehicle. 

 

* No person may carry a firearm with a cartridge in the chamber in or on a motor-driven 

vehicle while hunting big game animals.  The entire cylinder of a revolver is considered 

the chamber, requiring the revolver to be completely unloaded.  Handguns with 

removable magazines or clips must have the magazine or clip removed from the firearm if 

the magazine or clip contains any loaded shells.  It is illegal to carry any muzzleloading 

firearm in or on a motor-driven vehicle with a percussion cap or primer on the nipple or 

powder in the flash pan. 

 

* No person may use a motor-driven vehicle in the process of hunting big game or aid 

another in the process of hunting big game unless the motor-driven vehicle is on an 

established trail.  
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* No person may use motor-driven vehicles on North Dakota Game and Fish Department 

Conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) property without permission 

from the landowner, or if posted with signs granting vehicle access.  These areas have 

been entrusted to the public for walking access through written agreements by private 

landowners. The boundaries of these properties are illustrated in the North Dakota Game 

and Fish Department’s annual PLOTS Guide and on-site by large yellow triangular signs. 

* It shall be illegal to engage in shining for big game with any artificial light for the purpose 

of locating or observing big game between sunset of one day and sunrise of the next.   

 

* Use of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced light gathering optics or thermal 

imaging equipment for locating or hunting game is prohibited. 

 

6. BAG LIMITS 

 
* Any deer with at least one visible antler is considered an antlered deer. 

 

* Resident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of any type per season 

except the harvest of antlerless mule deer within Deer Gun hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 

4B, 4C, 4D, 4E, and 4F and as stated previously for special herd reduction deer bow 

hunting areas (Section 4).   

 

* Nonresident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of the type 

described on their license.  Harvest of antlerless mule deer is prohibited in Deer Gun 

hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E, and 4F. 

 

* Deer Gun license holders may take and possess one deer of the type described on their 

license.  See Section 13 for types of Deer Gun licenses. 

 

* Muzzleloader license holders may take and possess one white-tailed deer of the type 

described on their license. 

 

* Gratis license holders may take and possess one deer as described on their license.  

Harvest of antlerless mule deer is prohibited in hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 

4E, and 4F. 

 

* Youth Deer license holders ages 14 and 15 may take and possess one deer of any species, 

sex, or age, except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F where a special license 

is required to hunt antlered mule deer.  Harvest of antlerless mule deer is prohibited in 

hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E, and 4F. 

 

* Youth Deer license holders ages 12 and 13 may take and possess one antlerless white-

tailed deer. 
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7. TAGGING REQUIREMENTS 

 
IMMEDIATELY after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indicate the date of kill by 

cutting out the appropriate month and day from the tag provided with the license and attach it to 

the base of the antler on antlered deer or in a slit in the ear on antlerless deer as illustrated on the 

tag backing to prevent its removal.   The tag, placed immediately upon the antler or slit in ear, 

shall remain with the antlers or head until March 31, 2015.  After the antlers, head, or hide have 

been removed from the carcass, the carcass tag shall remain with the carcass or processed meat 

until consumed or until March 31, 2015.  No person may re-use or attempt to re-use any tag 

issued.  When any part of an animal is mounted, if the tag is removed from the antlers or ear, the 

tag must be securely fastened to the back or bottom of the mount and remain there.  Tags are not 

transferable. 

 

8. TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE 

 
License holders must accompany their game animal, or parts thereof, (excluding hide) during 

transportation.  Except that a permit for the transportation of game may be issued by the 

Department upon request.  Game may be shipped by common carrier in receipt of proper bill of 

lading.  A deer carcass must be accompanied by the head to the final place of storage.  No 

resident of the state may ship big game or parts thereof (other than hides) out of the state without 

a permit from the Department.  It is illegal to possess or transport another’s game animal or parts 

thereof (excluding hides) without the license holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted.  

Processed and packaged meat of legally harvested game may be gifted to another.  Un-processed, 

un-packaged meat of legally harvested game may be gifted as follows: 1) Prior to reaching the 

licensee’s permanent residence, a transportation permit must be obtained and accompany the 

game meat.  2) After reaching the licensee’s permanent residence if accompanied by the carcass 

tag of the person who harvested the game.  

 

Commercial processors and common carriers may possess any person’s legally taken possession 

limit of game.  The carcass tag from the individuals license shall accompany the carcass through 

processing and be returned to the individual to be kept until the meat is consumed or until March 

31, 2015. 

 

9. AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING 
 

Federal or state properties such as refuges, sanctuaries, military installations, parks*, or historic 

sites posted no trespassing or no hunting are closed to the hunting of deer. 

 

* Exceptions:  Grahams Island State Park in unit 2L.  In addition to a unit 2L deer hunting 

license, a special park permit will be required.  Other special restrictions may be instituted 

and must be followed when hunting in the park, please contact the park office for 

additional information and for obtaining permits (701-766-4015). 
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Fort Ransom State Park in unit 2G1.  In addition to a unit 2G1 deer hunting license, a 

special park permit will be required.  Other special restrictions may be instituted and must 

be followed when hunting in the park, please contact the park office for additional 

information and for obtaining permits (701-973-4331). 

 

Fort Stevenson State Park in unit 3A3 will be open during the Deer Bow season.  Contact 

the park office for details (701-337-5576). 
 

Also closed for the Deer Gun and Muzzleloader seasons is that portion of unit 2L starting at the 

junction of U.S. Highway 2 and ND Highway 20, then south along ND Highway 20 and ND 

Highway 57 to the north shore of Devils Lake, then northwest along the north shore of Devils 

Lake to the west edge of South Creel Township, then north along the township line to ND 

Highway 19, then east along ND Highway 19 to its junction with U.S. Highway 2, then southeast 

along U.S. Highway 2 to the point of origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of 

special permits will be issued to disabled veterans.  Check with North Dakota National Guard 

headquarters at Camp Grafton for details (701-662-0200). 
 

In accordance with N.D.C.C. 20.1-08-04.9, nonresidents shall be prohibited from hunting from 

October 11, 2014 through October 17, 2014 on Game and Fish Department wildlife management 

areas or Conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas. 
 

10. WANTON WASTE    
 

No person shall kill or cripple any big game animal without making a reasonable effort to 

retrieve and retain the big game animal in his or her actual custody.  No person shall waste, 

destroy, spoil, or abandon the edible flesh of a big game animal at the place where taken or 

between that place and either (a) his or her permanent residence, (b) a taxidermist, (c) a common 

carrier, or (d) a commercial processor. 
 

11. HUNTING BIG GAME OVER BAIT 
 

Hunting big game over bait on Game and Fish Department’s Wildlife Management Areas 

(WMAs) is prohibited.  Hunting big game over bait is defined as the placement and or use of 

bait(s) for attracting big game and other wildlife to a specific location for the purpose of hunting. 

Baits include but are not limited to grains, minerals, salts, fruits, vegetables, hay or any other 

natural or manufactured foods.  The designation does not apply to the use of scents and lures, 

water, food plots, standing crops, or livestock feeds being used in standard practices.  

 



 Page 12 

 
12. NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE (NWR) PERMITS 
 

Certain National Wildlife Refuges may be open to deer hunting during the Deer Bow and 

Muzzleloader seasons.  Contact refuge headquarters for details.  Some National Wildlife Refuges 

will be open during the Deer Gun season, including some requiring a special refuge permit which 

controls the amount of access during the season.  Special refuge permits are determined by 

lottery and must be applied for through the initial lottery drawing process.  In order to receive a 

refuge permit an individual must first be successful in drawing a unit permit.   
 

 

Refuges Open During Deer Gun Season (Nov 7-23). 
 

REFUGE                      PERMITS                 UNIT         RESTRICTIONS 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Antlered  

Upper Souris NWR     125   3A2  Only holders of refuge permits may hunt 

701-468-5467      antlered deer on Upper Souris NWR or Tewaukon 

NWR.  Refuge permit 

holders may hunt off the refuge anywhere 

___________________________________________________________ in the unit.  No refuge permit is required 

Tewaukon NWR          15      2G2  to hunt antlerless deer on Upper Souris NWR 

701-724-3598      or Tewaukon NWR. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

J. Clark Salyer NWR     175    3A4  Only holders of refuge permits may hunt 

701-768-2548     antlered deer on the refuge and permit  

Arrowwood NWR   2F2  holders may not hunt off the refuge.  No 

701-285-3341     refuge permit is required to hunt antlerless 

Audubon NWR    2K1  deer on J. Clark Salyer NWR. 

701-442-5474      

Chase Lake NWR   2J2 

701-752-4218 

Des Lacs NWR   3A2 & 3A3  No refuge permit required.  Open for 

701-385-4046      entire season for persons possessing 

Lake Alice NWR         2E   a license in the unit. 

701-662-8611 

Lake Nettie NWR   2K1   

701-442-5474      

Lake Zahl NWR   3A1   

701-965-6488 

Long Lake NWR   2I  

701-387-4397 

Lostwood NWR   3A1 

701-848-2722 

Slade NWR   2I  

701-387-4397     

Sibley Lake NWR    2F1  

701-845-3466 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

National Wildlife Refuges open to deer hunting during the Youth Deer season include:  

Arrowwood, Chase Lake, Des Lacs, J. Clark Salyer, Long Lake, Lostwood, Lake Alice, Sibley 

Lake, Slade, Tewaukon, Lake Nettie, Upper Souris, and Zahl.  Youth hunters are required to 

contact headquarters for permission and details. 
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13. LICENSES AVAILABLE BY SEASON 

 
Deer Bow--Resident--not limited. 

Nonresident--General statewide white-tailed deer are not limited.  License for any 

deer (except antlerless mule deer in Deer Gun hunting units 3B1, 3B2, 

4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E, and 4F), but still include antlered mule deer, are 

limited to 172. 

 

Youth Deer- “I Tag” - Ages 14 and 15 - Valid for any deer, except antlerless mule deer, in 

specific units (units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F).  License is valid only for a specific 

unit and hunters must hunt only in that unit during the Youth Deer season (Sep. 19 - Sep. 28, 

2014) and the Deer Gun season (Nov. 7 -  Nov. 23, 2014).  These licenses will be issued by 

lottery and the application deadline is June 4, 2014.  

 

“I Tag” Licenses Available 3B1 - 20 4C - 25 

3B2 - 10  4D - 20 

  4A - 17 4E - 10 

  4B - 25  4F -   7 

 

“H Tag” - Not limited and are valid statewide for any deer except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 

4D, 4E & 4F where these licenses are not valid for any mule deer. 

 

Additional licenses may be issued for youth applicants.  These licenses will be granted even after 

all regular season licenses have been issued.   

 

Muzzleloader-- A maximum of 466 licenses are available for statewide antlered white-tailed 

deer. A maximum of 466 licenses are available for a statewide antlerless white-tailed deer.     

 

Deer Gun--For the 2014 Deer Gun season, 48,000 licenses and additional gratis licenses will be 

issued.  Special permits designating the type of deer and unit are a part of the gun license.  Deer 

types are coded according to the following letter designations: 
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A--Any Antlered Deer--either species  D--Antlerless White-tailed Deer 

B--Any Antlerless Deer--either species  E--Antlered Mule Deer 

C--Antlered White-tailed Deer   F--Antlerless Mule Deer 

 

 

16 ½ DAY SEASON 

November 7 (12 Noon) - November 23 

 
Deer Number Deer Number  Deer Number 

Unit Type Available Unit Type Available Unit Type Available 

 

1 A        300 3A1 A       600 3E2 A     600   

1 B        300 3A1 B         50 3E2 B     600 

2A A         300 3A2 A     1000 3E2 C     500 

2A B        100 3A2 B       800 3E2 D     500 

2B A      1100 3A3 A       600 3F1 A     350 

2B B        900 3A3 B       500 3F1 B     350 

2C A        600 3A4 A     1100 3F1 C     600 

2C B        400 3A4 B     1000 3F1 D     400 

2D A      400 3B1 C     200 3F2 A       550 

2D B      400 3B1 D     100 3F2 B       800 

2E A      500 3B1 E     200 3F2 C       900 

2E B      500 3B1 F         0 3F2 D       800 

2F1 A    1000 3B2 C     200 4A C       150 

2F1 B    1000 3B2 D     200 4A D       100 

2F2 A      800 3B2 E     100 4A E       175 

2F2 B      700 3B2 F         0 4A F           0 

2G A      200 3B3 A     100 4B C       100 

2G B      200 3B3 B     100 4B D       100 

2G1 A      700 3B3 C     900 4B E       250 

2G1 B      600 3B3 D     700 4B F           0 

2G2 A      800 3C A     100 4C C       100 

2G2 B      600 3C B     100 4C D       100 

2H A      800 3C C   1000 4C E       250 

2H B      700 3C D     800 4C F           0 

2I A    1000 3D1 A     200 4D C       200 

2I B    1000 3D1 B     200 4D D       200 

2J1 A      600 3D1 C     150 4D E       200 

2J1 B      500 3D1 D     100 4D F           0 

2J2 A    1100 3D2 A     250 4E C       150 

2J2 B    1000 3D2 B     250 4E D       100 

2K1 A      700 3D2 C     200 4E E       100 

2K1 B      700 3D2 D     200 4E F           0 

2K2 A    1600 3E1 A     300 4F C       250 

2K2 B    1900 3E1 B     300 4F D       250 

2L A      300 3E1 C     500 4F E         75 

2L B      400 3E1 D     400 4F F           0 
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ATTENTION WHITE-TAILED DEER HUNTERS 

IN UNITS 4B, 4C, 4D, & 4E 

 

White-tailed deer license holders for units 4B and 4C must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 

2½ days (November 7 - 9, 2014).  For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt 

either or both units. 

 

White-tailed deer license holders for units 4D and 4E must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 

2½ days (November 7 - 9, 2014).  For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt 

either or both units. 

 

14.    ADDITIONAL CONCURRENT SEASONS 

 
There will be no additional concurrent seasons in 2014 except those Special Herd Reduction 

Deer Seasons described in Section 4. 

 

15.   MULE DEER FOUNDATION 

 
The 2014 Deer Hunting Proclamation provides the Mule Deer Foundation with one mule deer 

license, valid for the 2014 hunting season.  The license is to be raffled or auctioned as per 

legislation passed during the 2003 legislative session.  The raffle or auction proceeds are to be 

used for mule deer conservation in the state of North Dakota. 

 

 

16.    VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES 

 

The following violations have the listed penalties: 

 

* Hunting before or after legal hours (Section 1) up to 30 minutes--penalty--$100.  In 

excess of 30 minutes–Class B misdemeanor. 

 

* A person afield legally hunting with a firearm in or on a vehicle with a cartridge in the 

chamber --penalty--$25. 

 

* Failure to sign or affix stamps to the licensee's fishing, hunting, and furbearer certificate 

(Section 3)--penalty--$25. 

 

* Use of motor-driven vehicle in a restricted area (Section 5)--penalty--$50. 

 

* Fail to accompany,  possessing or transporting another's game animal or parts thereof 

excluding hides (Section 8)--penalty--$100. 

 

* Hunting with a centerfire rifle in an area closed to centerfire firearms (Section 4)--

penalty--$100. 
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* Use of illegal equipment (Section 4)--penalty--noncriminal--$100. 

 

 

 

 

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND and the Great Seal of the State of North Dakota this  

 29th  _ day of April, 2014. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  /s/ Jack Dalrymple _ 

Jack Dalrymple 

Governor 

Attest: 

 

  /s/ Alvin A. Jaeger _ 

Secretary of State 

 

  /s/ Jim Silrum  

Deputy 
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 17.    2014-2015 DEER GUN HUNTING UNITS 

 
ALL UNITS ARE BOUNDED BY INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS, US HIGHWAYS OR NORTH DAKOTA STATE HIGHWAYS AS NOTED ON THE MAP, WITH THE FOLLOWING 

EXCEPTIONS: 
*  Western half of boundary between units 2F1 and 2L – Eddy 

County Highway 1 heading east from its junction with U.S. 

Highway 281 at Sheyenne to its junction with ND Highway 20. 

*  Boundary between units 3B2 and 3B3 – South shore of Lake 

Sakakawea heading west from U.S. Highway 83 to a point 

on the shore directly north of where ND Highway 200 turns 

southward (west of Pick City), then south to ND Highway 

200.  Mallard Island is part of unit 3B3. 

*  Boundary between units 3F2 and 3C – The junction of ND 

Highway 6 and ND Highway 21 heading south on ND Highway 6 

to the junction with ND Highway 24, then east on ND Highway 

24 and continuing east to a point on the west shore of the Missouri 

River, then following the Missouri River shoreline south to the 

South Dakota border. 

 

*  Boundary between units 3A3 and 3B2 – North shore of Lake 

Sakakawea.  Except for Mathews (de Trobriand) Island and 

Mallard Island; all islands are part of unit 3B2.  Mathews (de 

Trobriand) Island is part of unit 3A3. 

 

*  Boundary between units 4B and 4C – The Little Missouri 

River. 

*  Boundary between units 4D and 4E – The northern Slope County 

line heading west from its junction with U.S. Highway 85 to the 

Little Missouri River, then south on the Little Missouri River to 

U.S. Highway 12.  

 


