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2020-2021 NORTH DAKOTA DEER HUNTING PROCLAMATION 
 
 
Pursuant to North Dakota law and the recommendation of the Game and Fish Director, I hereby 
declare open seasons for the taking of deer with bow (Deer Bow), firearms (Deer Gun), 
Muzzleloader and Youth Deer season.  Except as provided hereinafter or otherwise by law, no person 
shall hunt, kill, take, possess, transport, or so attempt to hunt, kill, take, transport, or possess any deer 
or parts thereof.  
 
DEFINITIONS.  As hereinafter used, unless the content or subject matter otherwise requires: 
“Game” shall include any of those species of big game, small game, or furbearers as defined in 
section 20.1-01-02 of the North Dakota Century Code.  “Edible flesh” (big game animals) shall be 
both front quarters, both hind quarters, and back straps but does not include meat ruined by bullet or 
natural causes.  “Common Carriers” are shipping companies, commercial meat processors and 
taxidermists.  “Processed and Packaged Meat” is meat, which has been cut/ground and wrapped.  
Quartered or boned out pieces of meat are not considered “processed”. 
 
1. SEASON DATES, TIMES, OPEN AREAS 
 

SEASON AREAS OPENS CLOSES RESTRICTIONS 
Deer Bow Statewide Sep 4 (12 noon) *Jan. 3 Residents – Any deer is legal.  No unit 

restrictions.   
Nonresidents – Restricted to species of deer 
described on license.   
Orange clothing required of all bow hunters and 
those accompanying apprentice license holders 
during Deer Gun season.   

*Exception  
  See Section 4 - Special Herd Reduction Deer Seasons 

Deer Gun All Units Nov. 6 (12 noon) 
16 ½ Day Season 

Nov. 22 Restricted to type of deer and unit on license.  
Type of deer includes species and whether 
antlerless or antlered (at least one visible antler).  
See map on back for unit descriptions.  Note 
exception for white-tailed deer hunter in 4B, 4C, 
4D and 4E.  Orange clothing required for gun 
hunters and those accompanying apprentice and 
youth license holders.   
 

Muzzeloader Statewide Nov. 27 (12 noon) Dec. 13 Restricted to white-tailed deer only and type of 
deer on license.  No unit restrictions.  Orange 
clothing required for muzzleloader hunters and 
those accompanying apprentice license holders.   
 

Youth Deer Statewide Sept. 11 (12 noon) 
Sept. 18 (12 noon) 
 

Sept. 20 
Sept. 27 

11, 12 and 13 year olds – Antlerless white-tailed 
deer only.  14 and 15 year olds – Any deer is 
legal.  No unit restrictions.  Except in hunting 
units 4A-4F, 3B1 and 3B2 a special license is 
required to hunt antlered mule deer.  These 
licenses are valid only in the unit specified on the 
license.  Orange clothing required for youth 
hunter, their mentors and those accompanying 
apprentice license holders.  
 

 

HOURS OF HUNTING are one-half (½) hour before sunrise to one-half (½) hour after sunset except when seasons open 
as noted above.  Hunters must cease any hunting activity, leave any stand or blind, and must be in the process of leaving 
the field at the close of shooting hours (one-half (½) hour after sunset).  All season openers are Central Time. 

Referenced on page 12 
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2. ELIGIBILITY 
 
Who May Apply – Any resident or nonresident is eligible for each of the following seasons (Deer 
Bow, Deer Gun, Muzzleloader).  Additionally, residents ages 11, 12 and 13 are eligible for a 
statewide antlerless white-tailed deer license and may only hunt during the Youth Deer season (this 
includes those who are age 10 providing their 11th birthday occurs in the same year as the Youth 
Deer season).  Residents ages 14 and 15 are eligible to apply for a once-in-a-life-time any-deer 
license in-lieu of a Deer Gun license (this includes youth who are age 13 providing they will be age 
14 during the same year as the respective big game hunting season). 
 
Licenses for Military Personnel – North Dakota residents who were on federal active duty with the 
United States Armed Forces under Title 10, stationed outside of the state and received the 
expeditionary medal or campaign badge during the 2019 Deer Gun season and make application 
during the application period are eligible to purchase one white-tailed Deer Gun license of their 
choice in the unit of their choice.  Applicants are required to include documentation showing their 
award or qualification for the award with their application.  Applications received after the close of 
the application period will be issued based on licenses available.   
 
Youth Deer Season (Residents Only) – Residents whose 11th, 12th or 13th birthday occurs in the 
same calendar year as a youth deer hunting season are eligible for a statewide antlerless white-tailed 
deer license.  Individuals age 14 and 15 who have either not previously applied for a regular Deer 
Gun license or who have applied but have never received a regular Deer Gun license are eligible to 
receive one deer license valid for the Youth Deer season, this includes youth who are age 13 
providing they will be age 14 during the same year as the respective big game hunting season as well 
as those youth who apply at age 15 but will be turning 16 after they have applied for their license.   
 
If a 14 or 15 year old youth licensee is unsuccessful in harvesting a deer during the Youth Deer 
season, the license also will be valid during the Deer Gun season.  Eleven, 12 and 13 year olds may 
only hunt in the Youth Deer season.  Anyone applying for these licenses is not eligible to apply for a 
license for the regular Deer Gun season.  In addition, each youth must be accompanied (must be able 
to have unaided verbal contact) by at least one unarmed parent, guardian, or adult authorized by their 
parent or guardian during the Youth Deer season.  All non-licensees are prohibited from carrying a 
firearm or bow while accompanying a Youth Deer licensee hunting in the field during the Youth 
Deer season.  A non-licensee is a person not having a Youth Deer license. 
 
Quadriplegics who apply for and receive a Deer Gun season license through the lottery will be 
eligible to hunt during the Youth Deer season.  Quadriplegics who hunt during the Youth Deer 
season must adhere to the unit and deer-type restrictions on their license. 
 
3. LICENSES 
 
Deer Gun, Youth Deer, Muzzleloader and Deer Bow hunters will have their license number printed 
on their certificate.  It is illegal to purchase more than one Deer Bow license per season.  Licenses are 
not transferable.  No person may give, barter, or sell an issued license to another person. 
 
Deer Bow – All resident licenses are issued by the Department’s Bismarck office, online through the 
Department website, authorized license vendors, or by calling 1-800-406-6409.  A person may only 
purchase one archery license per year. 
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Nonresident Deer Bow – General nonresident bow licenses for white-tailed deer are issued by the 
Department’s Bismarck office, online through the Department website, authorized license vendors, 
or by calling 1-800-406-6409.  Seven-hundred eighty (780) nonresident any-deer licenses (which 
include mule deer) are issued by lottery only from the Department's Bismarck office.   
 
Deer Gun – Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants as 
prescribed by the Director.  After the lottery drawing, unsuccessful applicants may apply for any 
remaining licenses which will be issued by lottery.  If Deer Gun licenses still remain after the 
unsuccessful lottery applicants have had first chance at them, the Department may issue these on a 
lottery or first come-first served basis to any eligible person including those not previously issued a 
2020 Deer Gun license. 
 
Muzzleloader – Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants.   
 
Fees – The appropriate fee must accompany all Deer Gun, Youth Deer, and or Muzzleloader 
applications.   
 
Gratis and Nonresident Landowner Preferential Licenses – Gratis and nonresident preferential 
licenses are issued only through the Department's Bismarck office and the number of gratis licenses 
issued will be subtracted from the maximum number of Deer Gun licenses available for each unit.  
 
4. FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT 
 
Deer Bow Season – Section 1a:  A bow must be pulled, held, and released by hand.  Any release aid 
may be used providing it is hand operated, the shooter supports the draw weight of the bow, and the 
release is not attached to any part of the bow other than at the bowstring.  Arrows capable of causing 
damage or injury to the animal in excess of that inflicted by the cutting edges of the broadhead, are 
prohibited while hunting big game with a bow (e.g., explosive arrow points, arrows tipped with drugs 
or chemicals, and pneumatic or hydraulic shafts are illegal).  No firearms, except handguns, may be 
in the hunter's possession while hunting with a Deer Bow license.  However, handguns may not be 
used in any manner to assist in the harvest of a deer on an archery license.  Crossbows are not legal, 
except with a permit from the North Dakota Game and Fish Department Director. 
 
Deer Bow Season – Section 1b:  A compound bow used for hunting deer must have at least 35 
pounds of draw at 28 inches or less draw length.  Recurve and long bows used for hunting deer must 
have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches.  Arrows must be at least 24 inches long, tipped with a 
metal broadhead, with at least two sharp cutting edges, and have a cutting diameter of at least ¾ inch 
(i.e., not able to pass through a ¾ inch ring.).  It is illegal to hunt big game with barbed arrows 
(barbed refers to an arrowhead with any fixed portion of the rear or trailing edge of the arrowhead 
forming an angle less than 90 degrees with the shaft).  Broadheads with mechanical or retractable 
blades are legal.  Telescopic sights, range finding devices, battery-powered or electronically lighted 
sights or other electronic devices attached to the bow, or the arrow, are not permitted.  Exception: a 
lighted nock and recording devices which do not aid in range finding, sighting or shooting the bow 
are permitted.  Handheld range finding devices are legal.  When permitted, crossbows must: a) have a 
minimum draw weight of 75 pounds, b) be equipped with a working safety to prevent accidental 
firing, c) use arrows or bolts at least 14 inches in length.  Crossbows equipped with pistol grips and 
designed to be fired with one hand are illegal.  Crossbow hunters must comply with all other archery 
equipment regulations listed above. 
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Deer Gun and Youth Deer Seasons – Centerfire rifles of .22 to .49 caliber and muzzleloading rifles 
of .45 caliber or larger are legal for deer.  Centerfire rifles of .50 caliber or larger using smokeless 
powder with a case length of greater than 3.5 inches are prohibited.  Rifled slugs or patched round 
balls of 20 gauge or larger are legal for shotguns and muzzleloading shotguns.  Minimum barrel 
length of shotguns is 18 inches.  Handguns must have a minimum barrel length of 4 inches and be .35 
cal. or larger.  In addition, any centerfire handgun designed to fire a legal rifle cartridge shall be 
legal. Muzzleloading handguns must be .50 caliber or larger.  Fully automatic firearms, full-metal 
jacketed bullets, which are non-expanding, as well as altered projectiles, are prohibited.  All legal 
bow equipment, including crossbows, as listed above in the Deer Bow season section shall be legal 
during the Deer Gun season.  Crossbows are legal during the Deer Gun season for an individual with 
a Deer Gun license or an individual age 14 or 15 with a Youth Deer license.  Crossbows must: a) 
have a minimum draw weight of 75 pounds, b) be equipped with a working safety to prevent 
accidental firing, c) have a stock at least 14 inches long, d) use bolts at least 14 inches in length.  Pre-
charged pneumatic air guns, charged from an external high compression source such as an air 
compressor, air tank or an external hand pump are legal for deer but must fire a projectile 
(excluding air bolts) of at least .35 caliber in diameter and at least 150 grains in weight with a 
minimum muzzle velocity of 600 feet per second.   
 
Areas Closed to Hunting with Centerfire Rifles – During the open Deer Gun season only 
handguns, shotguns with rifled slugs, legal muzzleloading firearms and legal bow equipment may be 
used for the taking of deer on the following areas: 
 
A. That portion of unit 2L starting where ND Highway 19 meets the east shore of Six Mile Bay on 

Devils Lake, then south and east along the north shore of Devils Lake to the South Creel 
Township line, then north to ND Highway 19, then west on ND Highway 19 to the point of 
origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special either sex permits will be issued 
to disabled veterans.  Check with the Barnes County Veterans Service Office for details (701) 
845-8511. 

 
B. The areas north and south of Bismarck described as follows:  In unit 3B3, starting on ND 

Highway 1804 at the north boundary of the Double Ditch Indian Village site, then south on ND 
Highway 1804 to the junction with the road known as River Road, then south on River Road to 
the Bismarck city limits, then west to the west bank of the Missouri River, then following the 
west bank of the Missouri River to a point directly west of the north boundary of the Double 
Ditch Indian Village site, to include river islands and sandbars, then east to the point of origin.  In 
unit 3C, an area starting where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck join the east 
bank of the Missouri River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the point where 
it meets the west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 
North, Range 80 West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general southwest 
direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife Management Area 
(WMA) and then west and south along the WMA boundary to the Missouri River, then following 
the east bank of the Missouri River to the point of origin. 

 
C. That portion of unit 3C starting on ND Highway 1806 from Mandan city limits south to a point 

directly west of the mouth of the Heart River.  Then east to the west bank of the Missouri River, 
then northerly along the west bank of the Missouri River to Mandan city limits and then west 
along Mandan city limits to the point of origin. 
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D. Approximately 171 acres so posted in unit 3B1 within Sections 2, 10, and 11, Township 151 

North, Range 104 West in McKenzie County, North Dakota. 
 
E. Those wildlife management areas posted with firearms restrictions at major access points. 
 
F. Approximately 90 acres so posted in unit 3B3 within Section 18, Township 147 North, Range 83 

West in the Wolf Creek Campground area in McLean County, North Dakota. The lakeside 
boundary is the water’s edge. 

 
G. Approximately 60 acres so posted in unit 2K1 within sections 21 and 28, Township 148 North, 

Range 83 West in the East Totten Trail Campground area in McLean County, North Dakota.  The 
lakeside boundary is the water’s edge. 

 
Muzzleloader Season – Muzzleloading long guns of .45 caliber or larger, and handguns .50 caliber 
or larger, loaded through the muzzle, with flint or percussion ignition, firing black powder or black 
powder substitutes are legal.  Smokeless powders are not legal.  Telescopic sights are prohibited.  
Exception: no magnification (1X) scopes are legal for Muzzleloader season.     
 
Special Experimental Herd Reduction Deer Seasons –  
 
A)   Additional special experimental deer bow seasons are proclaimed for portions of the City of 

Bismarck, and private land in Burleigh County located adjacent to the City of Bismarck.  Private 
land south and east of the City of Bismarck in Burleigh County is described as follows:  starting 
where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck joins the east bank of the Missouri 
River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the point where it meets the west 
bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138 North, Range 80 
West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general southwest direction to its 
junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife Management Area (WMA) and then 
west  and south along the WMA boundary to the Missouri River, then following the east bank of 
the Missouri River to the point of origin. This does not include the NDDOCR property referred 
to in Section 4(D). 

 
Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Bismarck must receive a trespass permit from 
the Bismarck Chief of Police (701-223-1212).  City of Bismarck permit holders will be restricted 
to those dates and locations specified on the trespass permit(s).  No orange clothing is required 
when hunting within the Special Herd Reduction areas unless required by city officials within 
city limits.  In the area outside the city limits of Bismarck no trespass permit is needed.  These 
licenses are available only at the North Dakota Game and Fish Department headquarters in 
Bismarck.  In addition, hunters may use their Deer Bow license during the Deer Bow season 
(September 4, 2020 through January 3, 2021).   
 
A maximum of 100 antlerless Special Deer Bow Season licenses (available from the 
Department’s Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting in portions of the City of Bismarck and 
private land in Burleigh County located adjacent to the City of Bismarck.  Hunters may initially 
receive up to three Special Deer Bow Season licenses.  Any remaining un-issued licenses after 
November 1, 2020 can be purchased on a first come first served basis. 
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The bag limit shall be one antlerless white-tailed deer for each Special Deer Bow license. 
 

Legal bow equipment, manner of taking, shooting hours and all other requirements shall be the 
same as printed elsewhere in this proclamation.  The seasons shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central 
Time, September 4, 2020, and close one-half (½) hour after sunset January 31, 2021 unless 
restrictions are contained in the trespass permit issued by the Bismarck Chief of Police. 

 
B)   Additional special experimental deer bow seasons are proclaimed for private land in Burleigh 

County located adjacent to the City of Bismarck.  Private land north of the City of Bismarck in 
Burleigh County is described as follows:  Starting where the northwest boundary of Bismarck 
city limits joins the east bank of the Missouri River, following the river north to the Burleigh 
County line (County Road 24), then east to HWY 83, south to Bismarck city limits, and west to 
the point of origin.   

 
A maximum of 400 antlerless Special Deer Bow Season licenses (available from the 
Department’s Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting private land in Burleigh County located 
adjacent to and north of the City of Bismarck.  Hunters may initially receive up to five Special 
Deer Bow Season licenses.  After November 1, 2020 hunters may purchase up to five additional 
licenses on a first come first served basis. 
 
The bag limit shall be one antlerless white-tailed deer for each Special Deer Bow license. 

 
Legal bow equipment, manner of taking, shooting hours and all other requirements shall be the 
same as printed elsewhere in this proclamation.  The seasons shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central 
Time, September 4, 2020, and close one-half (½) hour after sunset January 31, 2021 

 
C)  Additional experimental antlerless deer bow seasons are proclaimed for an area of private land in 

Morton County located adjacent to the city of Mandan, starting where the southeast boundary of 
the city limits of Mandan joins the west bank of the Missouri River, then following the west bank 
of the Missouri River, in a general southwest direction to a point where it meets the east bank of 
the Heart River, then following the east bank of the Heart River north to its junction with the 
southern boundary of the city limits of Mandan then following the city limits easterly to the point 
of origin.   

 
A maximum of 50 antlerless Special Deer Bow Season licenses (available from the Department’s 
Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting land in Morton County located adjacent of the City of 
Mandan.  Hunters may initially receive up to three Special Deer Bow Season licenses.  Any 
remaining un-issued licenses after November 1, 2020 can be purchased on a first come first 
served basis.  
 
The bag limit shall be one antlerless white-tailed deer for each Special Deer Bow license. 
The season shall open at 12:00 (noon) CDT, September 4, 2020, and close one-half (1/2) hour 
after sunset January 31, 2021.  Hunters possessing a regular bow season license may use that 
license only during the regular bow season (September 4, 2020 – January 3, 2021).  
 

D)  Additional special experimental deer bow seasons will be held in portions of the City of Fargo 
and adjacent areas, including privately owned land.  Hunters who desire to hunt within the city 
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limits of Fargo must receive a Fargo City Deer Management Permit from the City of Fargo (701-
241-1437).   

 
A maximum of 90 antlerless Special Deer Bow Season licenses (available from the Department’s 
Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting in the City of Fargo and adjacent areas.  Each Fargo 
City Deer Management Permit holder may initially receive up to two Special Deer Bow Season 
licenses.  Hunters must submit applications to the Department’s Bismarck office along with a 
copy of their Fargo City Deer Management Permit and $30.00 for each license.  Any remaining 
un-issued licenses after October 31, 2020, can be purchased by Fargo City Deer Management 
Permit holders on a first come first served basis.   
 
The season shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, September 4, 2020 and close one-half (½) 
hour after sunset January 31, 2021.  Specific details including areas open to hunting will be 
determined by the City of Fargo.  No orange clothing is required when hunting within the city 
limits of Fargo. Hunters must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations 
issued by the North Dakota Game and Fish Department. 

 
E)   An experimental antlerless deer bow season is proclaimed for the USDA-ARS Northern Great 

Plains Research Lab in Mandan, North Dakota.  The season shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central 
Time, September 4, 2020 and close one-half (½) hour after sunset January 31, 2021.  A 
maximum of 35 antlerless deer bow licenses will be available.  Application for the lottery for 
these licenses will be available at www.ars.usda.gov/plains-area/mandan-nd/ngprl/. Licenses must 
be purchased at the NDGFD headquarters in Bismarck. 

 
F)   Three special experimental antlerless deer bow seasons will be held on the ND Department of 

Corrections & Rehabilitation land south of Bismarck, North Dakota.  Hunters must first obtain a 
NDDOCR access permit before hunting on NDDOCR land.  Only 25 access permits will be 
granted to archery hunters and access permits are only available through the NDDOCR.   

 
A maximum of 75 antlerless deer bow licenses (available from the Department’s Bismarck 
office) will be issued.  Each access permit holder can purchase up to three antlerless white-tailed 
deer licenses.   
 
Season dates for deer hunting will open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, September 4, 2020 and 
will close January 31, 2021.  Other details, including areas open to hunting, will be determined 
by the NDDOCR.  Hunters must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations. 
 

G) Additional special experimental deer bow seasons will be held in portions of the City of Minot, 
including privately owned land.  Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Minot must 
receive a Minot City Deer Management Permit from the City of Minot (701-857-4711).  A 
maximum of 40 antlerless Special Deer Bow Season licenses (available from the Department’s 
Bismarck office) will be issued for hunting in the City of Minot.  Each Minot City Deer 
Management Permit holder may initially receive up to two Special Deer Bow Season 
licenses.  Hunters must submit applications to the Department’s Bismarck office along with a 
copy of their Minot City Deer Management Permit and $30.00 for each license.  Any remaining 
un-issued licenses after October 31, 2020, can be purchased by Minot City Deer Management 
Permit holders on a first come first served basis.   

 

http://www.ars.usda.gov/plains-area/mandan-nd/ngprl/
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The season shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, September 4, 2020 and close one-half (½) 
hour after sunset January 31, 2021.  Specific details including areas open to hunting will be 
determined by the City of Minot.  No orange clothing is required when hunting within the city 
limits of Minot.  Hunters must comply with all other applicable archery rules and regulations 
issued by the North Dakota Game and Fish Department. 
 

Other Firearm and Archery Equipment Restrictions – It is illegal to go afield with a firearm or 
bow and arrow while intoxicated. 
 
Americans with Disabilities – The Director may make reasonable accommodations to comply with 
the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
 
5. AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, AND LIGHTS 
 
* It shall be illegal to use all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned, for spotting game 72 hours 

prior to and during the hunting season.  A licensee cannot hunt the same day they are airborne 
over their hunting unit with the exception of their scheduled passenger airline flight.  It is 
illegal to drive, concentrate, rally, raise, stir up, or disturb game with all types of aircraft, 
manned or unmanned. 

 
* Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game.  Motor-driven vehicles may not be 

used to retrieve a big game animal until the animal has been taken into possession and legally 
tagged. 

 
* It is illegal to shoot with bow and arrow or firearm while in or on a motor-driven vehicle. 
 
* Unless otherwise authorized under N.D.C.C., no person may carry a firearm with a cartridge 

in the chamber in or on a motor-driven vehicle while hunting big game animals. The entire 
cylinder of a revolver is considered the chamber, requiring the revolver to be completely 
unloaded.  Handguns with removable magazines or clips must have the magazine or clip 
removed from the firearm if the magazine or clip contains any loaded shells.  It is illegal to 
carry any muzzleloading firearm in or on a motor-driven vehicle with a percussion cap or 
primer on the nipple or powder in the flash pan. 

 
* No person may use a motor-driven vehicle in the process of hunting big game or aid another 

in the process of hunting big game unless the motor-driven vehicle is on an established trail.  
 
* No person may use motor-driven vehicles on North Dakota Game and Fish Department 

Conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) property without permission from 
the landowner, or if posted with signs granting vehicle access.  These areas have been 
entrusted to the public for walking access through written agreements by private landowners. 
The boundaries of these properties are illustrated in the North Dakota Game and Fish 
Department’s annual PLOTS Guide and on-site by large yellow triangular signs. 

 
* It shall be illegal to engage in shining for big game with any artificial light for the purpose of 

locating or observing big game between sunset of one day and sunrise of the next.   
 



                  
Page 9 
 
* Use of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced light gathering optics or thermal 

imaging equipment for locating or hunting game is prohibited. 
 
6. BAG LIMITS 
 
* Any deer with at least one visible antler is considered an antlered deer. 
 
* Resident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of any type per season and 

as stated previously for special herd reduction deer bow hunting areas (Section 4).  
 
* Nonresident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of the type described 

on their license.   
 
* Deer Gun license holders may take and possess one deer of the type described on their 

license. See Section 13 for types of Deer Gun licenses. 
 
* Muzzleloader license holders may take and possess one white-tailed deer of the type 

described on their license.  
* Gratis license holders may take and possess one deer as described on their license.  Gratis 

holders may not take a mule deer during muzzleloader season.   
 
* Youth Deer license holders ages 14 and 15 may take and possess one deer of any species, sex, 

or age, except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F where a special license is 
required to hunt antlered mule deer.   

 
* Youth Deer license holders ages 11, 12, and 13 may take and possess one antlerless white-

tailed deer. 
 
7. TAGGING REQUIREMENTS 
 
IMMEDIATELY after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indicate the date of kill by cutting 
out the appropriate month and day from the tag provided with the license and attach it to the base of 
the antler on antlered deer or in a slit in the ear on antlerless deer as illustrated on the tag backing to 
prevent its removal.   The tag, placed immediately upon the antler or slit in ear, shall remain with the 
antlers or head until March 31, 2021.  After the antlers, head, or hide have been removed from the 
carcass, the carcass tag shall remain with the carcass or processed meat until consumed or until 
March 31, 2021.  No person may re-use or attempt to re-use any tag issued.  When any part of an 
animal is mounted, if the tag is removed from the antlers or ear, the tag must be securely fastened to 
the back or bottom of the mount and remain there.  Tags are not transferable. 
 
8. TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE 
 
License holders must accompany their game animal, or parts thereof, (excluding hide) during 
transportation.  Except that a permit for the transportation of game may be issued by the Department 
upon request.  Game may be shipped by common carrier in receipt of proper bill of lading.  A deer 
carcass or boned out meat must be accompanied by the head to the final place of storage (See 
Chronic Wasting Disease Proclamation for exceptions).  No resident of the state may ship big game 
or parts thereof (other than hides) out of the state without a permit from the Department.  It is illegal 
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to possess or transport another’s game animal or parts thereof (excluding hides) without the license 
holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted.  Processed and packaged meat of legally harvested 
game may only be gifted to another (but not sold, traded or bartered).  Un-processed, un-packaged 
meat of legally harvested game may be gifted (but not sold, traded or bartered) as follows: 1) Prior to 
reaching the licensee’s permanent residence, a transportation permit must be obtained and 
accompany the game meat.  2) After reaching the licensee’s permanent residence if accompanied by 
the carcass tag of the person who harvested the game.  
 
Commercial processors and common carriers may possess any person’s legally taken possession 
limit of game.  The carcass tag from the individuals license shall accompany the carcass through 
processing and be returned to the individual to be kept until the meat is consumed or until March 31, 
2021. 
 
9. AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING 
 
Unless specifically authorized, federal or state properties such as refuges, sanctuaries, military 
installations, parks, or historic sites posted no trespassing or no hunting are closed to the hunting of 
deer. 
 Exceptions:  Grahams Island State Park in unit 2L.  In addition to a unit 2L Deer Gun hunting 

license, a special park permit will be required.  Other special restrictions may be instituted 
and must be followed when hunting in the park, please contact the park office for additional 
information and for obtaining permits (701-766-4015). 
 
Fort Stevenson State Park in unit 3A3 will be open during the Deer Bow season.  Contact the 
park office for details (701-337-5576). 
 
Fort Ransom State Park in Ransom County.  In addition to a Deer Bow hunting license, a 
special park permit will be required.  Other special restrictions may be instituted and must be 
followed when hunting in the park, please contact the park office for additional information 
and for obtaining permits (701-973-4331). 
 

Also closed for the Deer Gun and Muzzleloader seasons is that portion of unit 2L starting at the 
junction of U.S. Highway 2 and ND Highway 20, then south along ND Highway 20 and ND 
Highway 57 to the north shore of Devils Lake, then northwest along the north shore of Devils Lake 
to the west edge of South Creel Township, then north along the township line to ND Highway 19, 
then east along ND Highway 19 to its junction with U.S. Highway 2, then southeast along U.S. 
Highway 2 to the point of origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special permits 
will be issued to disabled veterans.  Check with North Dakota National Guard headquarters at Camp 
Grafton for details (701-662-0200). 
 
In accordance with N.D.C.C. 20.1-08-04.9, nonresidents shall be prohibited from hunting from 
October 10, 2020 through October 16, 2020 on Game and Fish Department wildlife management 
areas or Conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas. 
 
10. WANTON WASTE    
 
No person shall kill or cripple any big game animal without making a reasonable effort to retrieve 
and retain the big game animal in his or her actual custody.  No person shall waste, destroy, spoil, or 
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abandon the edible flesh of a big game animal at the place where taken or between that place and 
either (a) his or her permanent residence, (b) a taxidermist, (c) a common carrier, or (d) a commercial 
processor. 
 
11. HUNTING BIG GAME OVER BAIT 
 
Hunting big game over bait on Game and Fish Department’s Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) is 
prohibited.  Hunting big game over bait is defined as the placement and or use of bait(s) for attracting 
big game and other wildlife to a specific location for the purpose of hunting. Baits include but are not 
limited to grains, minerals, salts, fruits, vegetables, hay or any other natural or manufactured foods.  
The designation does not apply to the use of scents and lures, water, food plots, standing crops, or 
livestock feeds being used in standard practices. 
 
12. NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE (NWR) PERMITS 
 
Certain National Wildlife Refuges may be open to deer hunting during the Deer Bow and 
Muzzleloader seasons.  Some National Wildlife Refuges will be open during the Deer Gun season, 
including some requiring a special refuge permit which controls the amount of access during the 
season.  Special refuge permits are determined by lottery and must be applied for through the initial 
lottery drawing process.  In order to receive a refuge permit an individual must first be successful in 
drawing a unit permit.  Contact refuge headquarters for details if planning to hunt deer during any 
season.  
 

Refuges Open During Deer Gun Season (Nov 6-22). 
 

REFUGE PERMITS UNIT RESTRICTIONS 
Upper Souris NWR 
701-468-5467 
 

125 Antlered 
 

3A2 Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer 
on Upper Souris NWR or Tewaukon NWR.  Refuge 
permit holders may hunt off the refuge anywhere in the 
unit. No refuge permit is required to hunt antlerless deer on 
Upper Souris NWR or Tewaukon NWR.  
 

Tewaukon NWR 
701-724-3598 
 

15 Antlered 2G2 

J. Clark Salyer NWR 
701-768-2548 
 

175 Antlered 3A4 Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer 
on the refuge and permit holders may not hunt off the 
refuge.  No refuge permit is required to hunt antlerless 
deer.  
 

Arrowwood NWR 
701-285-3341 
 

 2F2 No refuge permit required.  Open for entire season for 
persons possessing a license in the unit.   

Audubon NWR 
701-442-5474 
 

 2K1  

Chase Lake NWR 
701-752-4218 
 

 2J2  

Des Lacs NWR 
701-385-4046 
 

 3A2 & 3A3  

Lake Alice NWR 
701-662-8611 
 

 2E  
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continued.    
REFUGE PERMITS UNIT RESTRICTIONS 
Lake Nettie NWR 
701-442-5474 
 

 2K1 No refuge permit required.  Open for entire season for 
persons possessing a license in the unit.   

Lake Zahl NWR 
701-965-6488 
 

 3A1  

Long Lake NWR 
701-387-4397 
 

 2I  

Lostwood NWR 
701-848-2722 
 

 3A1  

Slade NWR 
701-387-4397 
 

 2I  

Sibley Lake NWR 
701-845-3466 
 

 2F1  

National Wildlife Refuges open to deer hunting during the Youth Deer season include:  Arrowwood, Chase Lake, 
Des Lacs, J. Clark Salyer, Long Lake, Lostwood, Lake Alice, Sibley Lake, Slade, Tewaukon, Lake Nettie, Upper 
Souris, and Zahl.  Youth hunters are encouraged to contact headquarters for details. 
 
 
13. LICENSES AVAILABLE BY SEASON 
 
Deer Bow – Resident – not limited. 

Nonresident – General statewide white-tailed deer are not limited.  License for any deer 
are limited to 780. 

Youth Deer –  
“I Tag” – Ages 14 and 15 – Valid for any deer in specific units (units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 
4E and 4F).  License is valid only for a specific unit and hunters must hunt only in that unit 
during the Youth Deer season (Sep. 18, 2020 – Sep. 27, 2020) and the Deer Gun season (Nov. 6, 
2020 – Nov. 22, 2020).  These licenses will be issued by lottery. 
 

“I Tag” Licenses Available 3B1 – 60 4C – 45 
 3B2 – 30 4D – 40 
 4A – 25 4E – 30 
 4B – 55 4F – 20 

  
“H Tag” – Ages 14 and 15 – Not limited and are valid statewide for any deer except in units 3B1, 
3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E & 4F where these licenses are not valid for antlered mule deer. 

 
Additional licenses may be issued for youth applicants.  These licenses will be granted even after 
all regular season licenses have been issued.   

 
Muzzleloader – A maximum of 638 licenses are available for statewide antlered white-tailed deer. A 
maximum of 638 licenses are available for a statewide antlerless white-tailed deer.     
 
Deer Gun – For the 2020 Deer Gun season, 69,050 licenses, including gratis licenses, will be issued. 
Special permits designating the type of deer and unit are a part of the Deer Gun license.   
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16 ½ DAY SEASON 
November 6 (12 Noon) - November 22 

       
 DEER TYPE 

Hunting 
Unit 

TYPE A TYPE B TYPE C TYPE D TYPE E TYPE F 
Any Antlered 
Deer--either 

species 

Any Antlerless 
Deer--either 

species 

Antlered 
White-tailed 

Deer 

Antlerless  
White-tailed 

Deer 
Antlered  

Mule Deer 
Antlerless  
Mule Deer 

1  450  450         
2A +100 600 +100 600             
2B  1,100  800             
2C +200 1,000 +300 600             
2D +200 700 +50 400             

2F1  1,100  900             
2F2  900  700             
2G  600  300         

2G1  1,000  900         
2G2  1,100  900         

2E +200 900 +100 500         
2H  1,100  900         
2I  1,300  1,100         

2J1  1,000 +100 900         
2J2  1,100  1,000         

2K1  900  800         
2K2  1,300  1,100         
3A1 +200 2,000 +200 1,700         
3A3 +200 1,400 +200 1,200             

2L  400  400             
3A2  1,000  800             
3A4  1,100  900             
3B1        500  500  600  400 
3B2        300  300  300  300 
3B3  250 +100 250 +100 1,000 200 1,000       
3C +200 400 +200 400  1,100  1,000       

3D1  400  400  300  300       
3D2 +100 600 +100 600  300  300       
3E1  500  400 +50 600  400       
3E2  700 +50 700 +50 500  300       
3F1  400  400  600  500       
3F2 +100 1,100 +100 1,400  850  850       
4A        300  300   250  100 
4B       +50 250  300 50 550 +100 350 
4C        250  300   450  250 
4D        250  300 -50  400 -100 250 
4E        300  200   300  250 
4F        400  400   200  250 

TOTALS +1,500 26,400 +1,600 22,400 +250 7,800 +200 7,250  3,050  2,150 
An increase or decrease from the previous year’s issued Deer Gun licenses is indicated by a +/- (change) to the right of the 
2020-2021 Deer Gun licenses that will be issued. 

 
 
 
 
 
 



                  
Page 14 
 

ATTENTION WHITE-TAILED DEER HUNTERS 
IN UNITS 4B, 4C, 4D, & 4E 

 
White-tailed deer license holders for units 4B and 4C must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 2½ 
days (November 6-10, 2020).  For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt either or 
both units. 
 
White-tailed deer license holders for units 4D and 4E must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 2½ 
days (November 6-10, 2020).  For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt either or 
both units. 
 
14. ADDITIONAL CONCURRENT SEASONS 
 
Additional seasons may be proclaimed for antlerless deer only and will run concurrently with the 
deer gun, muzzleloader, and deer bow seasons, if the Game and Fish Director determines after 
the regular lottery that an adequate number of licenses remain unissued. These concurrent season 
licenses may be used during any open season, provided the unit, sex and species printed on the 
license is adhered to.  Only firearms and archery equipment, as defined in Sec. 4, that are legal 
during the appropriate season may be used.  Persons who have not reached the age of fourteen by 
the end of the calendar year are also eligible for a concurrent season license but these licenses 
will be issued as archery only. 
 
15.   SPECIAL ALLOCATION HUNTING LICENSE 
 
Licenses for the Injured Military Wildlife Project of ND – The Director shall issue four any deer 
and six white-tailed deer licenses annually to the injured military wildlife project for distribution.  A 
license issued under this subsection is valid during the period of the Deer Bow season. 
 
Mule Deer Foundation – The Director shall issue one mule deer license, valid for the 2020 hunting 
season.  The license is to be raffled or auctioned under rules adopted by the Director.  The raffle or 
auction proceeds shall be used for mule deer conservation in the state of North Dakota. 
 
Outdoor Adventure Foundation - In accordance with N.D.C.C 20.1-05.1-01(9), the Outdoor 
Adventure Foundation will be provided up to four any white-tailed deer and up to three any deer 
licenses to hunt the species indicated on the license in the manner, places, and times prescribed in 
this proclamation with the exception of qualifying youth, who may use any weapon that is legal in 
any season for that species when hunting on private land with written permission from the 
landowner. 
 
16. DISCRETIONARY SPECIAL ALLOCATION HUNTING LICENSE 
 
If determined appropriate by the Director based on the sustainability of the species population the 
Director may issue to eligible organizations no more than ten white-tailed deer licenses in accordance 
with N.D.C.C 20.1-05.1-02.   
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17. VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES 
 
The following violations have the listed penalties: 
 
* Hunting before or after legal hours (Section 1) up to 30 minutes--penalty--$100.  In excess of 

30 minutes–Class B misdemeanor. 
 
* A person afield legally hunting with a firearm in or on a vehicle with a cartridge in the 

chamber (Section 5) --penalty--$25. 
 
* Use of motor-driven vehicle in a restricted area (Section 5)--penalty--$50. 
 
* Failing to accompany, possessing or transporting another's game animal or parts thereof 

excluding hides (Section 8)--penalty--$100. 
 
* Hunting with a centerfire rifle in an area closed to centerfire firearms (Section 4)--penalty--

$100. 
 
* Use of illegal equipment (Section 4 - Deer Bow season 1b)--penalty--$100. 

 

  

 

 

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND and the Great Seal of the State of North Dakota this  

  _ day of _______, 2020. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   _ 
Doug Burgum 
Governor 

Attest: 
 
   _ 
Secretary of State 
 
    
Deputy
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 17.    2020-2021 DEER GUN HUNTING UNITS 

 
ALL UNITS ARE BOUNDED BY INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS, US HIGHWAYS OR NORTH DAKOTA STATE HIGHWAYS AS NOTED ON THE MAP, WITH THE FOLLOWING 
EXCEPTIONS: 

*  Western half of boundary between units 2F1 and 2L – Eddy 
County Highway 1 heading east from its junction with U.S. 
Highway 281 at Sheyenne to its junction with ND Highway 
20. 

*  Boundary between units 3B2 and 3B3 – South shore of 
Lake Sakakawea heading west from U.S. Highway 83 to a 
point on the shore directly north of where ND Highway 
200 turns southward (west of Pick City), then south to ND 
Highway 200.  Mallard Island is part of unit 3B3. 

*  Boundary between units 3F2 and 3C – The junction of ND 
Highway 6 and ND Highway 21 heading south on ND Highway 
6 to the junction with ND Highway 24, then east on ND 
Highway 24 and continuing east to a point on the west shore of 
the Missouri River, then following the Missouri River shoreline 
south to the South Dakota border. 

 
*  Boundary between units 3A3 and 3B2 – North shore of Lake 

Sakakawea.  Except for Mathews (de Trobriand) Island and 
Mallard Island; all islands are part of unit 3B2.  Mathews (de 
Trobriand) Island is part of unit 3A3.  Mallard Island is part of 
unit 3B3. 

 
*  Boundary between units 4B and 4C – The Little Missouri 

River. 

*  Boundary between units 4D and 4E – The northern Slope 
County line heading west from its junction with U.S. Highway 
85 to the Little Missouri River, then south on the Little Missouri 
River to U.S. Highway 12.  

 


