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2025-2026 NORTH DAKOTA DEER HUNTING PROCLAMATION

Pursuant to North Dakota law and the recommendation of the Game and Fish Director, I hereby
declare open seasons for the taking of deer with bow (Deer Bow), firearms (Deer Gun),
Muzzleloader and Youth Deer season. Except as provided hereinafter or otherwise by law, no person
shall hunt, kill, take, possess, transport, or so attempt to hunt, kill, take, transport, or possess any deer
or parts thereof.

DEFINITIONS. As hereinafter used, unless the content or subject matter otherwise requires:
“Game” shall include any of those species of big game, small game, or furbearers as defined in
section 20.1-01-02 of the North Dakota Century Code. “Edible flesh” (big game animals) shall be
both front quarters, both hind quarters, and back straps but does not include meat ruined by bullet or
natural causes. “Common Carriers” are shipping companies, commercial meat processors and
taxidermists. “Processed and Packaged Meat” is meat, which has been cut/ground and wrapped.
Quartered or boned out pieces of meat are not considered “processed”.

1. SEASON DATES, TIMES, OPEN AREAS

SEASON AREAS OPENS CLOSES RESTRICTIONS
Deer Bow Statewide Aug. 29 (12 noon)  *Jan. 4 Residents — Any deer is legal. No unit
restrictions.

Nonresidents — Restricted to species of deer
described on license.
Orange clothing required of all bow hunters and

*Exception those accompanying apprentice license holders
See Section 4 - Special Herd Reduction Deer Seasons during Deer Gun season.
Deer Gun All Units Nov. 7 (12 noon) Nov. 23 Restricted to type of deer and unit on license.
16 Y2 Day Season Type of deer includes species and whether

antlerless or antlered (at least one visible antler).
See map at end for unit descriptions. Note
exception for white-tailed deer hunter in 4B, 4C,
4D and 4E. Orange clothing required for gun
hunters and those accompanying apprentice and
youth license holders.

Muzzeloader Statewide Nov. 28 (12 noon)  Dec. 14 Restricted to white-tailed deer only and type of
deer on license. No unit restrictions. Orange
clothing required for muzzleloader hunters and
those accompanying apprentice license holders.

Youth Deer Statewide Sept. 19 (12 noon)  Sept. 28 11-, 12- and 13-year-olds — Any antlerless deer is
legal. No unit restrictions. Except in hunting
units 4A-4F, 3B1 and 3B2 a special license is
required to hunt antlerless mule deer. These
licenses are valid only in the unit specified on the
license.

14- and 15-year-olds — Any deer is legal. No unit
restrictions. Except in hunting units 4A-4F, 3B1
and 3B2 a special license is required to hunt
antlered mule deer. These licenses are valid only
in the unit specified on the license. Orange
clothing required for youth hunter, their mentors
and those accompanying apprentice license
holders.
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HOURS OF HUNTING are one-half (1) hour before sunrise to one-half (/2) hour after sunset except when seasons open
as noted above. All season openers are Central Time.

2. ELIGIBILITY

Who May Apply — Any resident or nonresident is eligible for each of the following seasons (Deer
Bow, Deer Gun, Muzzleloader). Additionally, residents ages 11, 12 and 13 are eligible for a
statewide any antlerless deer license (this includes those who are age 10 providing their 11" birthday
occurs in the same year as the Youth Deer season). Residents ages 14 and 15 are eligible to apply for
a once-in-a-life-time any-deer license in-lieu of a Deer Gun license (this includes youth who are age
13 providing they will be age 14 during the same year as the respective big game hunting season).

Licenses for Military Personnel — North Dakota residents who were on federal active duty with the
United States Armed Forces under Title 10 and stationed outside of the state during the immediately
preceding year Deer Gun season and make application during the application period are eligible to
purchase one white-tailed Deer Gun license of their choice in the unit of their choice. Applicants are
required to include documentation showing their orders for deployment for a campaign or expedition
during the immediately preceding year Deer Gun season with their application. Applications
received after the close of the application period will be issued based on licenses available.

Youth Deer Season (Residents Only) — Residents whose 11™, 12 or 13" birthday occurs in the
same calendar year as a youth deer hunting season are eligible for a statewide any antlerless deer
license valid for Youth Deer season and Deer Gun season. Individuals age 14 and 15 who have
either not previously applied for a regular Deer Gun license or who have applied but have never
received a regular Deer Gun license are eligible to receive one deer license valid for the Youth Deer
season and Deer Gun season, this includes youth who are age 13 providing they will be age 14 during
the same year as the respective big game hunting season as well as those youth who apply at age 15
but will be turning 16 after they have applied for their license.

Anyone applying for these licenses is not eligible to apply for a license for the regular Deer Gun
season. In addition, each youth must be accompanied (must be able to have unaided verbal contact)
by at least one unarmed parent, guardian, or adult authorized by their parent or guardian during the
Youth Deer season. All non-licensees are prohibited from carrying a firearm or bow while
accompanying a Youth Deer licensee hunting in the field during the Youth Deer season. A non-
licensee is a person not having a Youth Deer license.

Quadriplegics who apply for and receive a Deer Gun season license through the lottery will be
eligible to hunt during the Youth Deer season. Quadriplegics who hunt during the Youth Deer
season must adhere to the unit and deer-type restrictions on their license.

3. LICENSES

Deer Gun, Youth Deer, Muzzleloader and Deer Bow hunters will have their license number printed
on their certificate. It is illegal to purchase more than one regular Deer Bow license. Licenses are
not transferable. No person may give, barter, or sell an issued license to another person.

Lottery application deadline will be determined by the Director and specified at the time of the
lottery application period opening.
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Deer Bow — All resident licenses may be purchased through the Department’s Bismarck office,
online through the Department website or authorized license vendors. A person may only purchase
one regular season archery license per year.

Nonresident Deer Bow — General nonresident bow licenses for white-tailed deer may be purchased
through the Department’s Bismarck office, online through the Department website or authorized
license vendors. Three hundred (300) nonresident any-deer licenses (which include mule deer) are
issued by lottery only from the Department's Bismarck office.

Deer Gun — Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants as
prescribed by the Director. Unsuccessful lottery applicants may apply for any remaining licenses in
the subsequent lottery drawing. Any remaining Deer Gun licenses after the unsuccessful applicant
drawing may be issued by lottery or on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible individuals who
have not been issued a 2025 deer gun license.

Muzzleloader — Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery drawing among eligible applicants.

Fees — The appropriate fee must accompany all Deer Gun, Youth Deer, and or Muzzleloader
applications.

Gratis and Nonresident Landowner Preferential Licenses — Gratis and nonresident preferential
licenses are issued only through the Department's Bismarck office and the number of gratis licenses
issued will be subtracted from the maximum number of Deer Gun licenses available for each unit.

4. FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT

Deer Bow Season — Section la: A bow must be pulled, held, and released by hand. Any release aid
may be used providing it is hand operated, the shooter supports the draw weight of the bow, and the
release is not attached to any part of the bow other than at the bowstring. Arrows capable of causing
damage or injury to the animal in excess of that inflicted by the cutting edges of the broadhead, are
prohibited while hunting big game with a bow (e.g., explosive arrow points, arrows tipped with drugs
or chemicals, and pneumatic or hydraulic shafts are illegal). No firearms, except handguns, may be
in the hunter's possession while hunting with a Deer Bow license. However, handguns may not be
used in any manner to assist in the harvest of a deer on an archery license. Crossbows are not legal,
except with a permit from the North Dakota Game and Fish Department Director.

Deer Bow Season — Section 1b: A compound bow used for hunting deer must have at least 35
pounds of draw at 28 inches or less draw length. Recurve and long bows used for hunting deer must
have at least 35 pounds of draw at 28 inches. Arrows must be at least 24 inches long, tipped with a
metal broadhead, with at least two sharp cutting edges, and have a cutting diameter of at least % inch
(i.e., not able to pass through a % inch ring.). It is illegal to hunt big game with barbed arrows
(barbed refers to an arrowhead with any fixed portion of the rear or trailing edge of the arrowhead
forming an angle less than 90 degrees with the shaft). Broadheads with mechanical or retractable
blades are legal. Telescopic sights, range finding devices or other electronic devices attached to the
bow, or the arrow, are not permitted. Exception: battery powered or electronically lighted sights that
do not project light, a lighted nock and recording devices which do not aid in range finding, sighting
or shooting the bow are permitted. Handheld range finding devices are legal. When permitted,
crossbows must: a) have a minimum draw weight of 75 pounds, b) be equipped with a working
safety to prevent accidental firing, c) use arrows or bolts at least 14 inches in length and d) be
designed to be fired from the shoulder. Crossbows equipped with pistol grips and designed to be
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fired with one hand are illegal. Crossbow hunters may use telescopic, battery powered, or
electronically lighted reticle not exceeding a maximum power of eight, but must comply with all
other archery equipment regulations listed above.

Deer Gun and Youth Deer Seasons — Centerfire rifles of .22 caliber or larger and muzzleloading
rifles of .45 caliber or larger are legal for deer. Centerfire and muzzleloader rifles must be designed
to be fired from the shoulder. Rifled slugs or patched round balls of 20 gauge or larger are legal for
shotguns and muzzleloading shotguns. Minimum barrel length of shotguns is 18 inches. Handguns
must have a minimum barrel length of 4 inches and be .35 cal. or larger. In addition, any centerfire
handgun designed to fire a legal rifle cartridge shall be legal. Muzzleloading handguns must be .50
caliber or larger. Fully automatic firearms, full-metal jacketed bullets, which are non-expanding, as
well as altered projectiles, are prohibited. All legal bow equipment, including crossbows, as listed
above in the Deer Bow season section shall be legal during the Deer Gun season. Crossbows are
legal during the Deer Gun season for an individual with a Deer Gun license or an individual age 14
or 15 with a Youth Deer license. Crossbows must: a) have a minimum draw weight of 75 pounds, b)
be equipped with a working safety to prevent accidental firing, c) use arrows or bolts at least 14
inches in length. Crossbows equipped with pistol grips and designed to be fired with one hand are
illegal. Pre-charged pneumatic air guns, charged from an external high compression source such
as an air compressor, air tank or an external hand pump are legal for deer but must fire a
projectile (excluding air bolts) of at least .35 caliber in diameter and at least 150 grains in weight
with a minimum muzzle velocity of 600 feet per second.

Areas Closed to Hunting with Centerfire Rifles — During the open Deer Gun season only
handguns, shotguns with rifled slugs, legal muzzleloading firearms and legal bow equipment may be
used for the taking of deer on the following areas:

A. That portion of unit 2L starting where ND Highway 19 meets the east shore of Six Mile Bay on
Devils Lake, then south and east along the north shore of Devils Lake to the South Creel
Township line, then north to ND Highway 19, then west on ND Highway 19 to the point of
origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special either sex permits will be issued
to disabled veterans. Check with the Barnes County Veterans Service Office for details (701)
845-8511.

B. The areas north and south of Bismarck described as follows: In unit 3B3, starting on ND
Highway 1804 at the north boundary of the Double Ditch Indian Village site, then south on ND
Highway 1804 to the junction with the road known as River Road, then south on River Road to
the Bismarck city limits, then west to the west bank of the Missouri River, then following the
west bank of the Missouri River to a point directly west of the north boundary of the Double
Ditch Indian Village site, to include river islands and sandbars, then east to the point of origin. In
unit 3C, an area starting where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck join the east
bank of the Missouri River, then following the city limits of Bismarck easterly to the point where
it meets the west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of Section 26, Township 138
North, Range 80 West, then following the west bank of Apple Creek in a general southwest
direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple Creek Wildlife Management Area
(WMA) and then west and south along the WMA boundary to the Missouri River, then following
the east bank of the Missouri River to the point of origin.
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C. That portion of unit 3C starting on ND Highway 1806 from Mandan city limits south to a point
directly west of the mouth of the Heart River. Then east to the west bank of the Missouri River,
then northerly along the west bank of the Missouri River to Mandan city limits and then west
along Mandan city limits to the point of origin.

D. Approximately 171 acres so posted in unit 3B1 within Sections 2, 10, and 11, Township 151
North, Range 104 West in McKenzie County, North Dakota.

E. Those wildlife management areas posted with firearms restrictions at major access points.

F. Approximately 90 acres so posted in unit 3B3 within Section 18, Township 147 North, Range 83
West in the Wolf Creek Campground area in McLean County, North Dakota. The lakeside
boundary is the water’s edge.

G. Approximately 60 acres so posted in unit 2K1 within sections 21 and 28, Township 148 North,
Range 83 West in the East Totten Trail Campground area in McLean County, North Dakota. The
lakeside boundary is the water’s edge.

Muzzleloader Season — Muzzleloading long guns of .45 caliber or larger, and handguns .50 caliber
or larger, having all components loaded through the muzzle, with flint or percussion ignition, firing
black powder or black powder substitutes are legal. Smokeless powders are not legal. Telescopic
sights are prohibited. Exception: no magnification (1X) scopes are legal for Muzzleloader season.

Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Seasons

Concurrent Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Seasons for any antlerless deer will be available for the areas
listed below. These areas include public and privately owned land. All privately owned land
requires access permission from the landowner. All lands within city limits or in specified
management zones require an access permit in addition to the Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction
license unless otherwise noted. Access permits are limited and based on availability.

The season shall open at 12:00 (noon) Central Time, in conjunction with deer bow season, and close
30 minutes after sunset January 31 of the following year. Further restrictions may apply for season
dates, locations, number of licenses and other specifications in the permitted management zones
according to the managing entity.

The cost for each Deer-Bow Herd Reduction license is the same as their respective resident and non-
resident big game fee. The bag limit shall be one any antlerless deer for each license.

South Bismarck/Mandan

Portions of the cities of Bismarck, Mandan and adjacent areas referred to as the South
Bismarck/Mandan Deer Management Zone. This land includes public and privately owned
land. Hunters who desire to hunt within the Deer Management Zone must meet the
requirements as described below.

A. Private land south and east of the City of Bismarck in Burleigh County is described as
follows: starting where the southwest boundary of the city limits of Bismarck joins the
east bank of the Missouri River, then following the city limits of Bismarck east to the
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point where it meets the west bank of Apple Creek in the northeast one-quarter of
Section 26, Township 138 North, Range 80 West, then following the west bank of Apple
Creek in a general southwest direction to its junction with the north boundary of Apple
Creek Wildlife Management Area and then west and south along the WMA boundary to
the Missouri River, then following the east bank of the Missouri River to the point of
origin. (Figure 1. This does not include the NDDOCR property).

No access permit is required but hunters must obtain landowner permission before
hunting. After obtaining permission, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd
Reduction licenses online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

B. That land within the city of Bismarck designated by the Bismarck Chief of Police.
(Figure 1). Hunters who desire to hunt within the city limits of Bismarck must first
obtain a trespass/access permit from the Bismarck Chief of Police (701-223-1212). City
of Bismarck permit holders will be restricted to those dates and locations specified on
the trespass permit(s). No orange clothing is required when hunting within the Deer-
Bow Herd Reduction areas unless required by city officials. After obtaining a permit,
hunters must purchase a Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction license online at the Game
and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

C. Private land in Morton County located adjacent to the city of Mandan, starting where the
southeast boundary of the city limits of Mandan joins the west bank of the Missouri
River, then following the west bank of the Missouri River, in a general southwest
direction to a point where it meets the east bank of the Heart River, then following the
east bank of the Heart River north to its junction with the southern boundary of the city
limits of Mandan then following the city limits east to the point of origin (Figure2).

No access permit is required but hunters must obtain landowner permission before
hunting. After obtaining permission, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd
Reduction licenses online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

D. USDA-ARS Northern Great Plains Research Lab in Mandan. Hunters must first obtain
an access permit available at www.ars.usda.gov/plains-area/mandan-nd/ngprl/. After
obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction licenses
online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov (Figure 3).

E. ND Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation land south of Bismarck, located on the
grounds of the Missouri River Correctional Center (MRCC). Hunters must first obtain a
NDDOCR access permit before hunting on MRCC land (Figure 4). Access permits are
only available through the MRCC and details, including areas open to hunting, will be
determined by the MRCC. Anyone interested in applying should call 701-328-9696 to
schedule a time to come on property during business hours to meet with designated staff
to complete the access permit application and to go over the details of the hunting
program. Hunters must comply with all other applicable deer bow rules and regulations.
After obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction
licenses online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.
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City of Fargo

Portions of the city of Fargo and adjacent areas referred to as the City of Fargo Deer
Management Zone. This land includes public and privately owned land. All privately
owned land requires access permission from the landowner. Hunters who desire to hunt
within the described Fargo Deer Management Zone must first obtain a Fargo Deer
Management Access Permit. For more information contact fargowmp@gmail.com.

Restrictions, including areas open to hunting, number of permits, specific dates, and number
of licenses, will be determined by the City of Fargo at the time of application. After
obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction licenses online
at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

City of Minot

Portions of the City of Minot, including private land, referred to as the Minot Deer
Management Zone. This land includes public and privately owned land. All privately
owned land requires access permission from the landowner. Hunters who desire to hunt
within the Minot Deer Management Zone must first obtain a Minot Deer Management
Access Permit from the City of Minot (701-857-4711).

A limited number of access permits will be issued for hunting in the Minot Deer
Management Zone. After obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase a Special Deer-Bow
Herd Reduction license online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

City of Watford City

Portions of the city of Watford City and adjacent areas referred to as the Watford City Deer
Management Zone (Figure 5). Hunters who desire to hunt within the described Watford
City Deer Management Zone must first obtain a Watford City Deer Management Access
Permit from the City of Watford City (701-444-2230).

Restrictions including quantity of access permits, will be determined by the City of Watford
City. After obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction
licenses online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov.

City of Portland

Portions of the city of Portland and adjacent areas referred to as the Portland Deer
Management Zone (Figure 6). Hunters who desire to hunt within the described Portland
Deer Management Zone must first obtain a Portland Deer Management Access Permit from
the City of Portland (701-788-2463).

Restrictions including quantity of access permits, will be determined by the City Portland.
After obtaining a permit, hunters must purchase Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction licenses
online at the Game and Fish Department’s website at gf.nd.gov

Other Firearm and Archery Equipment Restrictions — It is illegal to go afield with a firearm or
bow and arrow while intoxicated.
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Americans with Disabilities — The Director may make reasonable accommodations to comply with
the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Sz AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, AND LIGHTS

It shall be illegal to use all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned, for spotting game 72 hours prior
to and during the hunting season. A licensee cannot hunt the same day they are airborne over their
hunting unit with the exception of their scheduled passenger airline flight. It is illegal to drive,
concentrate, rally, raise, stir up, or disturb game with all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned.

Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game. Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to
retrieve a big game animal until the animal has been taken into possession and legally tagged.

It is illegal to shoot with bow and arrow or firearm while in or on a motor-driven vehicle.

Unless otherwise authorized under N.D.C.C., no person may carry a firearm with a cartridge in the
chamber in or on a motor-driven vehicle while hunting big game animals. The entire cylinder of a
revolver is considered the chamber, requiring the revolver to be completely unloaded. Handguns
with removable magazines or clips must have the magazine or clip removed from the firearm if the
magazine or clip contains any loaded shells. It is illegal to carry any muzzleloading firearm in or on
a motor-driven vehicle with a percussion cap or primer on the nipple or powder in the flash pan.

No person may use motor-driven vehicles on North Dakota Game and Fish Department Conservation
PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) property without permission from the landowner, or if
posted with signs granting vehicle access. These areas have been entrusted to the public for walking
access through written agreements by private landowners. The boundaries of these properties are
illustrated in the North Dakota Game and Fish Department’s annual PLOTS Guide and on-site by
large yellow triangular signs.

It shall be illegal to engage in shining for big game with any artificial light for the purpose of locating
or observing big game between sunset of one day and sunrise of the next.

Use of or possession in the field of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced light gathering
optics or thermal imaging equipment while locating or hunting big game during any big game season
is prohibited.

6. BAG LIMITS

Any deer with at least one visible antler is considered an antlered deer.

Resident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of any type per season and as
stated previously for special herd reduction deer bow hunting areas (Section 4).

Nonresident Deer Bow license holders may take and possess one deer of the type described on their
license.

Deer Gun license holders may take and possess one deer of the type described on their license. See
Section 12 for types of Deer Gun licenses.
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Muzzleloader license holders may take and possess one white-tailed deer of the type described on
their license.

Gratis license holders may take and possess one deer as described on their license. Gratis holders
may not take a mule deer during muzzleloader season.

Youth Deer license holders ages 14 and 15 may take and possess one deer of any species, sex, or age,
except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F where a special license is required to hunt
antlered mule deer.

Youth Deer license holders ages 11, 12, and 13 may take and possess one antlerless deer of any
species or age, except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F where a special license is
required to hunt antlerless mule deer.

78 TAGGING REQUIREMENTS

IMMEDIATELY after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indicate the date of kill by cutting
out the appropriate month and day from the tag provided with the license and attach it to the base of
the antler on antlered deer or in a slit in the ear on antlerless deer to prevent its removal.

In no case is it legal to possess or transport an animal unless it is properly tagged. The meat tag
must remain with the edible flesh during any transportation and until it is cut up and packaged as
food. No person may re-use or attempt to re-use any tag issued. Tags are not transferable.

When any part of an animal is mounted, if the tag is removed from the antlers or ear, the tag must be
securely fastened to the back or bottom of the mount and remain there.

8. TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE

License holders must accompany their game animal, or parts thereof, (excluding hide) during
transportation. Except that a permit for the transportation of game may be issued by the Department
upon request. Game may be shipped by common carrier in receipt of proper bill of lading. No
resident of the state may ship big game or parts thereof (other than hides) out of the state without a
permit from the Department.

A deer carcass or boned out meat must be accompanied by the head to the final place of storage.
Exception: Tag as currently required, then take two pictures using a cellphone with location and date
and time stamp turned on. One picture of the entire animal at the kill site with tag attached, and a
second picture of a closeup of the tag so that tag information is readable. Drop off the head at a
CWD collection site properly tagged or if you leave the deer head in the field at the kill site, after
taking pictures and saving them, the ear or antler with the tag attached must be cut off and
accompany the meat or carcass while in transport. The photographs of the tagged deer must be
shown to any game warden or other law enforcement officer upon request.

It is illegal to possess or transport another’s game animal or parts thereof (excluding hides) without
the license holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted. Processed and packaged meat of legally
harvested game may only be gifted to another (but not sold, traded or bartered). Un-processed, un-
packaged meat of legally harvested game may be gifted (but not sold, traded or bartered) as follows:
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1) Prior to reaching the licensee’s permanent residence, a transportation permit must be obtained and
accompany the game meat. 2) After reaching the licensee’s permanent residence if accompanied by
the meat tag of the person who harvested the game.

Commercial processors and common carriers may possess any person’s legally taken possession
limit of game. The meat tag from the individuals license shall accompany the edible flesh through
processing and be returned to the individual.

9. AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING

Unless specifically authorized, federal or state properties such as refuges, sanctuaries, military
installations, parks, or historic sites posted no trespassing or no hunting are closed to the hunting of
deer.
Exceptions: Portions of Grahams Island State Park in Unit 2L. Several units of the park are open
to deer gun and deer bow hunting. In addition to a Unit 2L deer gun hunting license or deer bow
hunting license, a special park permit is required for the deer bow hunting only units. Special
restrictions apply when hunting in the park, please contact the park office for additional
information and for obtaining permits (701-766-4015).

Portions of Fort Stevenson State Park in Unit 3A3 are open to bow hunting. In addition to a deer
bow hunting license, a special park permit is required. Special restrictions apply when hunting in
the park. Contact the park office for additional information and for obtaining permits (701-337-
5576).

Portions of Fort Ransom State Park in Unit 2G1 are open to bow hunting. In addition to a deer
bow hunting license, a special park permit is required. Special restrictions apply when hunting in
the park. Contact the park office for additional information and for obtaining permits (701-973-
4331).

Portions of Lake Sakakawea State Park in Unit 3B3 are open to deer gun hunting. Wheelchair
bound hunting opportunity. In addition to a Unit 3B3 deer gun hunting license, a special park

permit is required. Special restrictions apply when hunting in the park. Contact the park office
for additional information and for obtaining permits (701-487-3315).

Head of the Mountain Nature Preserve in Unit 2G2 is open to white-tailed muzzleloader and bow
hunting only. Walk-in access only. A muzzleloader hunting license or deer bow hunting license
is required. Contact the Fort Ransom State Park office for additional information (701-973-4331).

Also closed for the Deer Gun and Muzzleloader seasons is that portion of unit 2L starting at the
junction of U.S. Highway 2 and ND Highway 20, then south along ND Highway 20 and ND
Highway 57 to the north shore of Devils Lake, then northwest along the north shore of Devils Lake
to the west edge of South Creel Township, then north along the township line to ND Highway 19,
then east along ND Highway 19 to its junction with U.S. Highway 2, then southeast along U.S.
Highway 2 to the point of origin, except Camp Grafton where a limited number of special permits
will be issued to disabled veterans. Check with North Dakota National Guard headquarters at Camp
Grafton for details (701-662-0200).
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In accordance with N.D.C.C. 20.1-08-04.9, nonresidents shall be prohibited from hunting from
October 11, 2025 through October 17, 2025 on Game and Fish Department wildlife management
areas or Conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas. Exception: Nonresidents
hunting on PLOTS land they own.

10. WANTON WASTE

No person shall kill or cripple any big game animal without making a reasonable effort to retrieve
and retain the big game animal in his or her actual custody. No person shall waste, destroy, spoil, or
abandon the edible flesh of a big game animal at the place where taken or between that place and
either (a) his or her permanent residence, (b) a taxidermist, (c) a common carrier, or (d) a commercial
processor.

11. NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE (NWR) PERMITS

Certain National Wildlife Refuges may be open to deer hunting during the Deer Bow and
Muzzleloader seasons. Some National Wildlife Refuges will be open during the Deer Gun season,
including some requiring a special refuge permit which controls the amount of access during the
season. Special refuge permits are determined by lottery and must be applied for through the initial
lottery drawing process. In order to receive a refuge permit an individual must first be successful in
drawing a unit permit. Contact refuge headquarters for details if planning to hunt deer during any
season.

Refuges Requiring Permits

REFUGE PERMITS UNIT RESTRICTIONS

Upper Souris NWR 175 Antlered 3A2 Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer

701-468-5467 on Upper Souris NWR or Tewaukon NWR. Refuge

Tewaukon NWR 15 Antlered 2G2 permit holders may hunt off the refuge anywhere in the

701-724-3598 unit. No refuge permit is required to hunt antlerless deer on
Upper Souris NWR or Tewaukon NWR.

J. Clark Salyer NWR 175 Antlered 3A4 Only holders of refuge permits may hunt antlered deer

701-768-2548 on the refuge and permit holders may not hunt off the
refuge. No refuge permit is required to hunt antlerless
deer.

National Wildlife Refuges are open to deer hunting during the Youth Deer season. Youth hunters are encouraged to contact
refuge headquarters for details.

12. LICENSES AVAILABLE BY SEASON

Deer Bow — Resident — not limited.
Nonresident — General statewide white-tailed deer are not limited. Licenses for any deer
are limited to 300.
Youth Deer —
“] Tag” — Ages 14 and 15 — Valid for any deer in specific units (units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D,
4E and 4F). License is valid only for a specific unit and hunters must hunt only in that unit
during the Youth Deer season and the Deer Gun season. These licenses will be issued by lottery.

“] Tag” Licenses Available 3B1-20 4C -20
3B2-20 4D -25
4A -15 4E - 15

4B -30 4F — 15
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“H Tag” — Ages 14 and 15 — Not limited and are valid statewide for any deer except in units 3B1,
3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E & 4F where these licenses are not valid for antlered mule deer.

“N Tag” — Ages 11, 12 and 13 — Valid for any antlerless deer in specific units (units 3B1, 3B2,
4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E and 4F). License is valid only for a specific unit and hunters must hunt only
in that unit during the Youth Deer season and the Deer Gun season. These licenses will be issued
by lottery.

“N Tag” Licenses Available 3B1 —30 4C-5
3B2-30 4D -10
4A -5 4E -5
4B -10 4F -5

“0 Tag” — Ages 11, 12 and 13 — Not limited and are valid statewide for any antlerless deer
except in units 3B1, 3B2, 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, 4E & 4F where these licenses are not valid for
antlerless mule deer.

Additional licenses may be issued for youth applicants. These licenses will be granted even after
all regular season licenses have been issued.

Muzzleloader — A maximum of 403 licenses are available for statewide antlered white-tailed deer. A
maximum of 403 licenses are available for a statewide antlerless white-tailed deer.

Deer Gun — For the 2025 Deer Gun season, 42,300 licenses, including gratis licenses, will be issued.
Special permits designating the type of deer and unit are a part of the Deer Gun license.



16 ? DAY SEASON
November 8 (12 Noon) - November 24
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DEER TYPE
TYPEA TYPEB TYPEC TYPED TYPEE TYPEF
Any Antlered Any Antlerless Antlered Antlerless
Hunting Deer--either Deer--either White-tailed White-tailed Antlered Mule Antlerless
Mgmnt Unit Unit species species Deer Deer Deer Mule Deer
[Turtie Mtns |1 300 | (100) 700
Red River 2A (100) 200 | (100) 100
2B (200) 700 | (200) 400
2C (200) 600 | (200) 300
Pembina Hills |2D (100) 500 | (100) 300
Sheyenne 2F1 (400) 500 | (300) 400
2F2 (300) 300 | (200) 200
2G (100) 200 | (100) 0
2G1 (200) 400 | (200) 100
2G2 (200) 400 | (200) 100
Coteau 2E (200) 500 | (200) 100
2H 900 600
21 (200) 800 | (100) 600
2J1 (200) 600 | (200) 300
2J2 (200) 600 | (100) 500
2K1 900 | (200) 600
2K2 (200) 800 | (200) 600
3A1 2,200 2,100
3A3 1,300 | (100) 1,200
Devils Lake 2L (100) 100 | (100) 0
Souris 3A2 1,400 1,300
3A4 1,300 900
Missouri 3B1 300 300| (100) 100 | (200) 6] 200 (100) 0
3B2 300 300 100 | (100) 0 200 (100) 0
3B3 300 200 100 | (100) 0
3C 100 400 300
Slope 3D1 100 500 400 | (100) 0| (100) 0
3D2 700 100 700 100 | (100) 0
El 600 . 500 300 | (100) 100
E2 700 700 150 (50) 100
3F1 400 400 400 400
3F2 1,300 50 1,500 | (450) 400 | (450) 400
Badlands 4A (50) 150 | (150) 50 150 50
4B (100) 100 | (100) 6] 300 100
4C (50) 100 | (100) 0 200 50
4D (50) 150 ¢ (100) 100 250 100
4E (50) 150 | (50) 50 150 50
4F 200 (50) 100 150 (50) 50
TOTALS | (2,700) 20,400 | (2,150) 16,100 | (950) 2,500 [(1,750) 1,300 6] 1,600 (250) 400

A change from the previous year’s issued Deer Gun licenses is indicated to the left of this years allocation. A decrease is indicated by (x).
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ATTENTION WHITE-TAILED DEER HUNTERS
IN UNITS 4B, 4C, 4D, & 4E

White-tailed deer license holders for units 4B and 4C must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 212
days (November 7-9, 2025). For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt either or both
units.

White-tailed deer license holders for units 4D and 4E must hunt in their assigned unit for the first 2%,
days (November 7-9, 2025). For the remainder of the Deer Gun season, they may hunt either or both
units.

13. ADDITIONAL CONCURRENT SEASONS

Additional seasons may be proclaimed for antlerless deer only and will run concurrently with the
deer gun, muzzleloader, and deer bow seasons, if the Game and Fish Director determines after
the regular lottery that an adequate number of licenses remain unissued. These concurrent season
licenses may be used during any open season, provided the unit, sex and species printed on the
license is adhered to. Only firearms and archery equipment, as defined in Sec. 4, that are legal
during the appropriate season may be used. Persons who have not reached the age of fourteen by
the end of the calendar year are also eligible for a concurrent season license, but these licenses
will be issued as archery only.

14. SPECIAL ALLOCATION HUNTING LICENSES

Licenses for the Injured Military Wildlife Project of ND — The Director shall issue four any deer
and six white-tailed deer licenses annually to the injured military wildlife project for distribution. A
license issued under this subsection is valid during the period of the Deer Bow season.

Mule Deer Foundation — The Director shall issue one mule deer license, valid for the 2025 hunting
season. The license is to be raffled or auctioned under rules adopted by the Director. The raffle or
auction proceeds shall be used for mule deer conservation in the state of North Dakota.

Outdoor Adventure Foundation - In accordance with N.D.C.C 20.1-05.1-01(9), the Outdoor
Adventure Foundation will be provided up to four any white-tailed deer and up to three any deer
licenses to hunt the species indicated on the license in the manner, places, and times prescribed in
this proclamation with the exception of qualifying youth, who may use any weapon that is legal in
any season for that species when hunting on private land with written permission from the
landowner.

15. DISCRETIONARY SPECIAL ALLOCATION HUNTING LICENSES

If determined appropriate by the Director based on the sustainability of the species population the
Director may issue to eligible organizations no more than ten white-tailed deer licenses in accordance
with N.D.C.C 20.1-05.1-02.
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16. VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES
The following violations have the listed penalties:

* Hunting before or after legal hours (Section 1) up to 30 minutes--penalty--$100. In excess of
30 minutes—Class B misdemeanor.

* A person afield legally hunting with a firearm in or on a vehicle with a cartridge in the
chamber (Section 5) --penalty--$25.

* Use of motor-driven vehicle in a restricted area (Section 5)--penalty--$50.

N Failing to accompany, possessing or transporting another's game animal or parts thereof
excluding hides (Section 8)--penalty--$100.

* Hunting with a centerfire rifle in an area closed to centerfire firearms (Section 4)--penalty--
$100.

& Use of illegal equipment (Section 4 - Deer Bow season 1b)--penalty--$100.

* Failure to possess the meat tag before being packaged as food or during transportation
(Section 7) --penalty--$250.

* Failure to possess or show properly tagged ear, antler or photographs (Section 8) --
penalty--$250

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND and the Great Seal of the State of North Dakota this

Z ﬂd day of / !E“-‘l ,2025.

elly Armstrop{ -
Governor -~

Attest:

Se(;retai'y "of State

Deputy
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17. DEER GUN HUNTING UNITS

—

North Dakota Game and Fish Department
Deer Gun Hunting Units

Srth Dohts Oawres A [ivh Depurtent 20116

ALL UNITS ARE BOUNDED BY INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS, US HIGHWAYS OR NORTH DAKOTA STATE HIGHWAYS AS NOTED ON THE

MAP WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTIONS:

* Western half of boundary between units 2F1 and 2L — Eddy County Highway 1 heading east from its junction with U.S. Highway 281 at Sheyenne to its junction
with ND Highway 20.

* Boundary between units 3A3 and 3B2 — North shore of Lake Sakakawea. Except for Mathews (de Trobriand) Island and Mallard Island: all islands are part of unit
3B2. Mathews (de Trobriand) Island is part of unit 3A3. Mallard Island is part of unit 3B3.

* Boundary between units 3B2 and 3B3 — South shore of Lake Sakakawea heading west from U.S. Highway 83 to a point on the shore directly north of where ND
Highway 200 tumns southward (west of Pick City), then south to ND Highway 200. Mallard Island is part of unit 3B3,

* Boundary between units 4B and 4C — The Little Missouri River. -

* Boundary between units 3F2 and 3C — The junction of ND Highway 6 and ND Highway 21 heading south on ND Highway 6 to the junction with ND Highway 24,
then east on ND Highway 24 and continuing east to a point on the west shore of the Missouri River, then following the Missouri River shoreline south to the South
Dakota border.

* Boundary between units 4D and 4E — The northern Slope County line heading west from its junction with U.S. Highway 85 to the Little Missouri River, then south
on the Little Missouri River to U.S. Highway 12.
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Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season
(City of Bismarck and Burieigh County Private Land)

This map displays the special deer-bow herd reduction season held for
portions of the city of Bismarck, and pnvate land n Burieigh County located
adjacent to the city of Bismarck Hunters who desire to hunt within the city
limits {identified in red) must obtain a trespass permit from the Bismarck
chief of police. Contact the Bismarck Police Department for additional
information or visit the Game and Fish Department's website at
gaf.nd.goviregulations/deer#special

: City of Bismarck - Trespass Permit Required

Burleigh County - Requires Landowner Permission

North Dakota Game and Fish Depanment 2020

Figure 1. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, City of Bismarck and South Burleigh County.
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Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season
(Morton County)

This map displays the special deer-bow herd reduction season held for
private tand in Morton County located adjacent to the city of Mandan.
For more information, visit the Department's website

of nd_gov/regulations/deer#special

: Morton County - requires landowner permission

North Dakota Game and Fish Depariment 2020

Figure 2. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, Morton County.



Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season
(USDA-ARS Northern Great Plains Research Lab

This map displays the speaal deer-bow herd reducton season hekd
for USDA-ARS land i Morton County located adjacent to the oty
of Mandan For more information, vs4 the Department's website
gf.nd govreguiationsideerfspecial

) usoa-ARS Land - Access Permit Required

Figure 3. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, USDA-ARS Northern Great Plains Research Lab, Mandan.
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Figure 4. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, ND Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Missouri
River Correctional Center, Bismarck.
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Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season
(Watford City Area)

This map displays the special dear-bow herd reduction season held for portions of the Watford City area
These areas includa city, county and privately owned land within city limits. Hunters who desire to hunt
these areas must first abtain a Watford City Deer Management Permit from the City of Watfard City
(based on availability) by calling 701-444-2533, Aftar obtaining a pormi, hunters must purchase a Spocial
Deer-Bow Herd Reduction license online at the Gama and Fish Departmant's website at gf nd.gev,

For more ir ion, visit gf nd g ions/deer#: ial

D Clty/County/Private Land - Watford City Deer Management Permit Requlired

Norlh Dakota Game and Fish Depariment 2025

Figure 5. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, City of Watford City.
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Figure 6. Special Deer-Bow Herd Reduction Season, City of Portland.
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