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This guide is provided for informational purposes and is not a complete listing of regulations. For other specific information
on regulations and laws, visit the Game and Fish Department website at www.gf.nd.gov or for North Dakota state laws go to

www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/T20-1.html.

SEASON DATES, TIMES, OPEN AREAS

BOW ONLY

OPENS: September 1 (12 noon Central Time)

CLOSES: September 24

AREA: Units 2-A, 2-B, 3-A, 3-B, 4-A, 4-C, 5-A, 7-A
RESTRICTIONS: Bows only. Restricted to type of pronghorn and
assigned unit described on license.

GUN OR BOW

OPENS: October 6 (12 noon Central Time)

CLOSES: October 22

AREA: Units 2-A, 2-B, 3-A, 3-B, 4-A, 4-C, 5-A, 7-A,
RESTRICTIONS: Legal firearms or bows. Restricted to type of
pronghorn and assigned unit described on license.

ELIGIBILITY

Who May Apply — Only North Dakota residents are eligible for a
license.

Hunter Education Requirement — Hunters born after December
31, 1961 must have passed a certified state or provincial hunter
education course in order to purchase a North Dakota hunting
license. Persons who hunt only on land they own or operate are
exempt from this requirement.

Minimum Age — Applicants for a pronghorn lottery license must
be at least 12 years of age on or before December 31. Anyone
under age 15 afield with firearms must be under direct supervision
(must be able to have unaided verbal contact) of a parent, guard-
ian or adult authorized by their parent or guardian.

LICENSES

General — No person may transfer, give away, barter or sell an
issued license.

Gratis — Gratis licenses are available to North Dakota residents
who own, or lease for agricultural purposes and actively farm or
ranch, at least 150 acres of land located in an open hunting unit.
These licenses are valid only upon land described on the license.
No other licenses are required for gratis.
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100 North Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, North Dakota 58501-5095
Phone: 701-328-6300 | ndgf@nd.gov

Gun - Licenses are issued by a weighted lottery procedure after
gratis licenses are deducted. Licenses are valid during the bow or
gun seasons until filled.

LICENSE FEES

Resident 16 years of age and older ..............cccccocveeevvcvennne.. $30
Resident under age 16 (at time of application)...................... $10

Other Licenses Required — In addition to the pronghorn license,
hunters must also possess a $1 fishing, hunting and furbearer
certificate and a general game and habitat license ($20) or combi-
nation license ($50).

HUNTING HOURS

Hunting hours are 30 minutes before sunrise (except opening
day) to 30 minutes after sunset. Hunters must cease any hunting
activity, leave any stand or blind, and must be in the process of
leaving the field at the close of shooting hours.

ORANGE CLOTHING REQUIREMENTS

All pronghorn hunters, including bow hunters, are required to
wear orange clothing while the pronghorn gun season is in prog-
ress. Legal orange clothing is a head covering and outer garment
above the waistline of solid daylight fluorescent orange color total-
ing at least 400 square inches.

USE OF BAIT ON WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

Placing of bait for any purpose is prohibited on Department wild-
life management areas. Hunting over bait is defined as the place-
ment and/or use of bait(s) for attracting big game and other wild-
life to a specific location for the purpose of hunting. Baits include
but are not limited to grains, minerals, salts, fruits, vegetables, hay
or any other natural or manufactured foods. The designation does
not apply to the use of scents and lures, water, food plots, standing
crops or livestock feeds used in standard practices.

Hunting over bait is also not allowed on all U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service national wildlife refuges and waterfowl production areas;
U.S. Forest Service national grasslands; U.S. Army Corps of Engi-
neers managed lands; and all North Dakota state trust, state park
and state forest service lands.

Apply Online at www.gf.nd.gov
QUICK — CONVENIENT - EASY

Purchase Licenses and Submit Lottery Applications Online
Regular license fees apply with no service charge added.

VISA, DISCOVER, MASTERCARD AND AMERICAN EXPRESS ACCEPTED

JESSE KOLAR



TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE

License holders must accompany their game animal, or parts
thereof, (excluding hide) during transportation, except that a per-
mit for the transportation of game may be issued by the Depart-
ment upon request. Game may be shipped by common carrier in
receipt of proper bill of lading. A pronghorn carcass or boned out
meat must be accompanied by the head to the final place of stor-
age. (Exception: Tag as currently required, then take two photo-
graphs using a cellphone with location, date and time stamp turned
on. One photograph of the entire animal at the Kill site with tag
attached, and a second photograph of a closeup of the tag so that
tag information is readable. If you leave the head in the field at the
kill site, after taking photos and saving them, the ear or antler with
the tag attached must be cut off and accompany the meat or car-
cass while in transport. The photographs of the tagged pronghorn
must be shown to any game warden or other law enforcement offi-
cer upon request.) lt is illegal to possess or transport another’s
game animal or parts thereof (excluding hide) without the license
holder accompanying or as otherwise permitted. Processed and
packaged meat (cut/ground and wrapped meat) of legally har-
vested game may be gifted to another. Unprocessed, unpackaged
meat of legally harvested game may be gifted as follows: 1) Prior
to reaching the licensee’s permanent residence a transportation
permit must be obtained and accompany the game meat. 2) After
reaching the licensee’s permanent residence if accompanied by
the meat tag of the person who harvested the game. Commercial
processors and common carriers (shipping companies, commer-
cial meat processors and taxidermists) may possess any person’s
legally taken possession limit of game. The meat tag from the indi-
vidual’s license shall accompany the edible flesh through process-
ing and be returned to the individual.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS

IMMEDIATELY after an animal has been killed, the hunter must indi-
cate the date of kill by cutting out the appropriate month and day
from the tag provided with the license, and attach it to the base of the
horn on male pronghorn or through a slit in the ear on female prong-
horn. In no case is it legal to prosses or transport an animal unless

it is properly tagged. The meat tag must remain with the edible flesh
during any transportation and until it is cut up and packaged as food.
No person may reuse or attempt to reuse any tag issued. Tags are
not transferable. When any part of an animal is mounted, if the tag is
removed from the horns or ear, the tag must be securely fastened to
the back or bottom of the mount and remain there.

BAG LIMITS

Each license holder may take and possess one pronghorn as spec-
ified on the license. Party hunting is not allowed.
Any pronghorn — a pronghorn of any age or sex.

FIREARMS AND ARCHERY EQUIPMENT

Bow Season — A bow must be pulled, held and released by hand.
Any release aid may be used providing it is hand operated, the
shooter supports the draw weight of the bow, and the release is
not attached to any part of the bow other than at the bowstring. A
compound bow used for hunting pronghorn must have at least 35
pounds of draw at 28 inches or less draw length. Recurve and long
bows used for hunting pronghorn must have at least 35 pounds of
draw at 28 inches. Arrows must be at least 24 inches long, tipped
with a metal broadhead, with at least two sharp cutting edges, and
have a cutting diameter of at least 3/4 inch (i.e., not able to pass
through a 3/4 inch ring). It is illegal to hunt big game with barbed
arrows (an arrowhead with any fixed portion of the rear or trailing
edge of the arrowhead forming an angle less than 90 degrees with
the shaft). Broadheads with mechanical or retractable blades are
legal. Telescopic sights, range finding devices, battery-powered

or electronically lighted sights or other electronic devices attached
to the bow, or the arrow, are not permitted, except a lighted nock
and recording devices which do not aid in range finding, sighting
or shooting the bow are permitted. Handheld range finding
devices are legal. Arrows capable of causing damage or injury in
excess of that inflicted by the cutting edges of the broadhead, are
prohibited (e.g., explosive arrow points, arrows tipped with drugs
or chemicals, and pneumatic or hydraulic shafts are illegal). No
firearms, except handguns, shall be in the hunter’s possession

during the pronghorn bow season. However, handguns may not be
used in any manner to assist in the harvest of a pronghorn during
the bow season.

Gun Season - Centerfire rifles of .22 caliber or larger and
muzzleloading rifles of .45 caliber or larger are legal for pronghorn.
Centerfire and muzzleloader rifles must be designed to fire from the
shoulder. Rifled slugs, or patched round balls, of 20 gauge or larger
are legal for shotguns and muzzleloading shotguns. Minimum bar-
rel length of shotguns is 18 inches. Handguns must have a min-
imum barrel length of 4 inches and be .35 caliber or larger. Muz-
zleloading handguns must be .50 caliber or larger. In addition, any
centerfire handgun designed to fire a legal rifle cartridge is also
legal. All legal bow equipment as listed previously is legal during
the pronghorn gun season. Fully automatic firearms, full metal jack-
eted bullets which are nonexpanding, and altered projectiles are
prohibited. Precharged pneumatic air guns, charged from an exter-
nal high compression source such as an air compressor, air tank or
an external hand pump are legal for pronghorn but must fire a pro-
jectile (excluding air bolts) of at least .35 caliber in diameter and at
least 150 grains in weight with a minimum muzzle velocity of 600
feet per second.

Other Firearms/Archery Equipment Restrictions

- ltisillegal to go afield with a firearm or bow and arrow while
intoxicated.

« Firearms must be unloaded while traveling in or on a motor-
driven vehicle within the boundaries of any national park.

+ Crossbows are not legal, except with a permit from the Game
and Fish director. Contact the Department for additional
information on crossbow regulations.

AIRCRAFT, MOTOR-DRIVEN VEHICLES, LIGHTS

- ltisillegal to use all types of aircraft, manned or unmanned,
for spotting game 72 hours prior to and during the hunting
season. A licensee cannot hunt the same day they are airborne
over their hunting unit with the exception of their scheduled
passenger airline flight. It is illegal to drive, concentrate, rally,
raise, stir up or disturb game with all types of aircraft, manned or
unmanned.

« Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to pursue game.

- ltis illegal to shoot with bow and arrow or firearm while in or on
a motor-driven vehicle.

» Motor-driven vehicles may be used only on established roads or
trails. Exception: After a pronghorn has been killed and properly
tagged, a motor-driven vehicle may be used to make the
retrieve by leaving the established road or trail and proceeding
to the carcass by the shortest accessible route, and returning
to the road or trail immediately by the same route. Motor-driven
vehicles may not be used off established roads and trails for
retrieval on state wildlife management areas, U.S. Forest
Service national grasslands, U.S. Bureau of Land Management
lands, federal waterfowl production areas, federal refuges, ND
Department of Trust Lands, and any areas where motor-driven
vehicles are restricted. Except for persons having a special
disability permit, no person may use a motor-driven vehicle
while in the process of hunting pronghorn, or aid another in
the process of hunting pronghorn, including travel to and from
the hunting location, unless the motor-driven vehicle is on an
established road or trail.

- Established roads or trails do not include temporary trails made
for agricultural purposes.

« Unless otherwise authorized under North Dakota Century Code,
no person may carry a firearm with a cartridge in the chamber
in or on a motor-driven vehicle while hunting big game animals.
The entire cylinder of a revolver is considered the chamber,
requiring the revolver to be completely unloaded. Handguns
with removable magazines or clips must have the magazine or
clip removed from the firearm if the magazine or clip contains
any loaded shells. It is illegal to carry any muzzleloading firearm
in or on a motor-driven vehicle with a percussion cap or primer
on the nipple or powder in the flash pan.

+ No person may use motor-driven vehicles on North Dakota
Game and Fish Department Conservation PLOTS (Private
Land Open To Sportsmen) property without permission from the
landowner, unless the land is posted with signs granting vehicle
access. These areas are available for walking public access



through written agreements with private landowners. The
boundaries of these properties are identified by large yellow
triangular signs.

« ltis illegal to engage in shining for big game with any artificial
light for the purpose of locating or observing big game
between sunset of one day and sunrise of the next. State
law prohibits any harassment of big game animals that is not
provided for in the law.

« The use of night vision equipment, electronically enhanced
light gathering optics or thermal imaging equipment for
locating or hunting big game is illegal. (Exception: Lighted
nocks and recording devices which do not aid in range
finding, sighting or shooting the bow are allowed for big game
archery seasons.)

AREAS CLOSED TO HUNTING

- Federal or state properties such as refuges, sanctuaries,
military installations, parks or historic sites posted no
trespassing and/or no hunting are closed to the hunting of
pronghorn.

« School trust lands are open to nonvehicular public access,
including hunting, unless posted with ND Department of Trust
Lands signs. The only established trails on Department of
Trust Lands available for public use are those that are signed
with Game and Fish Department trail markers. See the ND
Department of Trust Lands hunting page at www.land.nd.gov/
public-access-information for additional information. When
hunting near the boundaries of closed refuges, sanctuaries,
military installations, parks or historic sites — make sure you
are familiar with any retrieval restrictions that may apply.

POSTING AND TRESPASS

« Only the owner or tenant, or an individual authorized by
the owner, may post land either electronically or by placing
physical signs giving notice that no hunting is permitted on
the land. The name of the person posting the land must
appear on each physical sign in legible characters. Physical
signs must be readable from the outside of the land and must
be placed conspicuously not more than 880 yards apart. As to
land entirely enclosed by a fence or other enclosure, posting
of signs at or on all gates through the fence or enclosure
constitutes a posting of all the enclosed land.

+ Hunting on posted lands without permission from the owner
or tenant is illegal and punishable by suspension of hunting,
fishing and trapping privileges for a period of at least one
year.

« Hunting on posted land without permission can be prosecuted
even if the land is not posted to the letter of the law.

+ Any person may enter upon legally posted land (without a
firearm or bow) to recover game shot or killed on land where
he/she had a lawful right to hunt.

« ltisillegal to hunt in unharvested cereal and oilseed crops,
including sprouted winter wheat, alfalfa, clover and other
grasses grown for seed, without the owner’s consent.

- ltisillegal to deface, take down or destroy posting signs.

- Failure to close gates upon exit or entry is a criminal violation
punishable by forfeiture of hunting licenses.

+ ltis illegal to hunt upon the premises of another within 440
yards of any occupied building without the consent of the
person occupying the building. This does not prohibit hunting
on land owned by neighbors (private or public) even if the
land is less than 440 yards from the occupied building.

ROAD RIGHTS-OF-WAY

Do not hunt on road rights-of-way unless you are certain that
they are open to public use. Most road rights-of-way are under
control of the adjacent landowner and are closed to hunting
when the adjacent land is posted closed to hunting.

WANTON WASTE

No person shall kill or cripple any big game animal without mak-
ing a reasonable effort to retrieve and retain the big game animal
in his/her actual custody. No person shall waste, destroy, spoil
or abandon the edible flesh of a big game animal at the place
where taken and between that place and either (a) his/her per-
manent residence (b) a taxidermist (c) a common carrier or (d) a

commercial processor.

“Edible flesh” (big game animals) is both front quarters, both hind
quarters and back straps, but does not include meat ruined by
bullet or natural causes.

USE OF ANIMALS AND TREE STANDS

Animals - It is unlawful to use any animal except horses or
mules as an aid in the hunting or taking of big game. State
law allows the use of dogs in the recovery of big game — see
N.D.C.C. 20.1-05-04 or contact the Department for additional
information.

Tree Stands, Ground Blinds and Trail Cameras — No per-
son may construct or use a permanent tree stand or permanent
steps to a tree stand on any state wildlife management area,
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service national wildlife refuge or water-
fowl production area. Portable tree stands and portable steps,
and natural tree stands may be used. Portable tree stands and
portable steps are defined as those which are held to the tree
with ropes, straps, cables, chains or bars. The use of nails, wire,
screws or bolts to attach steps or a stand to a tree is prohibited
on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service national wildlife refuges and
waterfowl production areas. Screw-in steps (allowed on state
wildlife management areas) are those that are screwed into the
tree by hand without the aid of any tools. Ladder type stands
which lean against the tree are portable stands. A notched board
placed in a tree crotch is a portable stand. Natural stands are
those crotches, trunks, down trees, etc., where no platform is
used. Tree stands do not preempt hunting rights in the vicin-

ity of the tree stand. Tree stands, steps, ground blinds and trail
cameras may not be put up on state wildlife management areas,
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers managed lands or federal water-
fowl production areas before August 20, and they shall be taken
down by January 31, 2024. Tree stands, steps, ground blinds
and trail cameras not removed by January 31, 2024, are consid-
ered abandoned property and are subject to removal and con-
fiscation by the Game and Fish Department, U.S. Army Corps
of Engineers and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Tree stands,
steps, ground blinds and trail cameras left unattended on state
wildlife management areas, federal waterfowl production areas
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers managed lands require an
identification tag displaying the owner’s name, address and tele-
phone number; or Game and Fish Department issued equipment
registration number. Contact national wildlife refuge headquar-
ter offices for individual refuge regulations. Portable tree stands,
ground blinds and trail cameras on waterfowl production areas
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers managed lands may be used
in accordance with state wildlife management area regulations.
Trail cameras may not be installed on private property without
written permission from the landowner, or an individual autho-
rized by the owner, and the camera must have an equipment
registration number, or the individuals name, address and tele-
phone number.

FIRE DANGER INDEX
Fire danger indexes provide an indication of wildland fire potential.

Fire danger indexes are calculated considering temperature,
humidity, wind speed, cloud cover and vegetative condition, and
are classified as Low, Medium, High, Very High or Extreme.

Fires are more likely to occur on higher index days. Certain out-
door activities may be prohibited when a fire danger index is con-
sidered Very High or Extreme.

Hunters are asked to be aware of current fire danger indexes.
Updated information is available through ndresponse.gov, or
from a county sheriff’s office.



LICENSES AVAILABLE BY UNIT 2023 PRONGHORN GUN HUNTING UNITS

Licenses are valid during both the gun and bow N ’ 4
seasons until filled. N (

lexander
J

Arnegard {

Unit 2-A — 50 any pronghorn ° ‘
Unit 2-B — 30 any pronghorn
Unit 3-A— 15 any pronghorn
Unit 3-B — 70 any pronghorn
Unit 4-A — 75 any pronghorn
Unit 4-C — 50 any pronghorn
Unit 5-A — 60 any pronghorn
Unit 7-A — 65 any pronghorn

McKenzie

illdeer . g
As per N.D.C.C. 20.1-05.1-01, one additional {0t Dum Center Halicay Mercer ¢
pronghorn license is allocated to the North Dakota I D e Gm Zap Beulah o/~
Hunter Educators Association and two to the Out- unn fodge e T

Manning Golden
° Valley

door Adventure Foundation. In addition, N.D.C.C.
20.1-05.1-02 allows for not more than two ad-
ditional licenses to other eligible organizations.

These licenses are valid for residents only and for Golden

any pronghorn in any open unit. Valley ——A
SUNRISE AND SUNSET TIMES Miaraion Hebron
The time of sunrise and sunset at Bismarck is pro- °E';\:>—,

vided below. The sun rises and sets one minute
later for each 12.5 miles west of Bismarck and
one minute earlier for each 12.5 miles east of Bis-
marck.

The east/west boundaries between 3-A and 3-B, and the west boundary of 2-B, is the Little
Missouri River. The north border of Unit 3-A begins where the Little Missouri River first touches
the northernmost Slope County line, thence westerly along and to the end of the northernmost

Slope County line, thence due west along a straight line to the Montana border.
REPORT ALL POACHERS

CENTRAL DAYLIGHT TIME

RAP (REPORT ALL POACHERS) DATE SUNRISE SUNSET DATE SUNRISE SUNSET DATE SUNRISE SUNSET
: SEP1 701 824 SEP19 724 749 ocT7 748 713
PROGRAM. This program encourages SEP 2 7:02  8:22 SEP20 725 747 0CT8 749 711
reporting of wildlife violations. Callers SEP3  7:03 820 SEP21 727 T7:45 OCT9  7:51  7:09
. . SEP4 705 819 SEP22 728 743 ooT10 782 707
can remain anonymous if they prefer, SEP5  7:06 817 SEP23 729 T4 O0CT11 753 705
and rewards range from $100 to $1,000 SEP6 707 815 SEP24 731 7:39 OCT12 755  7:03
; , SEP7 709 813 SEP25 732 737 I :
depending on the nature and seriousness of : . . : OoCT13 756 7:01
SEP8 740 &M SEP26 733 735 ooT 14 788 700
the crime. SEP9 741 809 SEP27 735  7:33 : )

OCT15  7:59 6:58

. EP10 7113 807 : :
Call 701-328-9921. Call this number only to zEP 14 sos gEP 28 136 13 OCT16 800  6:56
o : : EP29 737 7:29 OCT17 802 654
report game and fish violations. The reward SEP12 7:15  8:03 SEP30 7:39  7:27 OCT18 803 652
fund is supported by private donations. If SEP13 716 801 ocT1 740 725 OCT19 805  6:51
: SEP14 748  7:59 ocT2 741 7:23 00T20 806 6.9

you wish to donate to the RAP program, tax SEP15  7:19 757 OCT 3 743 7:21 : :
, = cEP e 720 7es : : OCT21 807 647
deductible contributions can be sent to RAP, e o gg‘s‘ ;;:‘5‘ ;;13 OCT22 809 645

Box 1091, Bismarck, ND, 68502-1091. SEP18 723  7:51 OCT6 747 715

The NDGFD receives Federal financial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service and the US Coast Guard. In accordance with Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975,
and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the Interior and its Bureaus and the US Department of Homeland
Security in prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex (in education programs or activities) and also religion. If
you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or you desire further information, please write to:
ND Game and Fish Department, Attn: Chief of Administrative Services, 100 N. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: Office of Civil Rights,
Department ofthe Interior, 1849 C Street, NW, Washington, DC 20240. The TTY/TDD (Relay ND) number for the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.

For additional hunting information visit www.gf.nd.gov
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