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GENERAL INFORMATION

NORTH DAKOTA GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT
100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 
701-328-6300

•	 Devils Lake Office, 701-662-3617

•	 Dickinson Office, 701-227-7431

•	 Lonetree Office, 701-328-6332

•	 Riverdale Office, 701-328-1190

•	 Jamestown Office, 701-253-6480

•	 Williston Office, 701-774-4320

REPORT VIOLATIONS
Contact game wardens and other law enforcement  

officers by calling:

State Radio Communications 701-328-9921

Email: ndgf@nd.gov
Website: gf.nd.gov

Your Guide to Responsible Boating
Request a copy – 701-328-6300
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MEASURE YOUR BOAT TO DETERMINE WHAT CLASS IT IS IN
When measuring a vessel, measure from the forward end to the after end 
across the deck down the center line, excluding the sheer. This means in a 
straight line and only that part of the hull that is permanent.

EQUIPMENT
CLASS A

(Under 16 feet in length)
CLASS 1

(16 feet, but under 26 feet)
CLASS 2

(26 feet, but under 40 feet)
CLASS 3

(40 feet or over in length)

Registration 
and Numbering

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is 
powered by any motor (including electric motors) must be reg-
istered with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is powered by any motor 
(including electric motors) must be registered with the North Dakota Game and 
Fish Department.

Personal 
Flotation 
Devices (PFDs) 
(See page 16 
re: youngsters 
10 years and 
younger.)

One U.S. Coast Guard 
approved wearable PFD for 
each person aboard. Anyone 
being towed on waterskis, 
surfboard or similar device 
must wear a USCG approved 
PFD while being towed (see 
pages 16-17). No person may 
operate or permit the operation 
of a personal watercraft without 
each person on board the 
personal watercraft wearing a 
Coast Guard approved Type, I, 
II, III or V PFD.

One Coast Guard approved 
USCG approved PFD for 
each person aboard, plus 
one Type IV throwable PFD 
in each boat. Anyone being 
towed on waterskis, surfboard 
or similar device must wear a 
USCG approved PFD while 
being towed (see pages 
16-17).

One U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD for each person aboard, plus one 
Type IV throwable PFD in each boat. Anyone being towed on waterskis, surfboard 
or similar device must wear a USCG approved PFD while being towed (see pages 
16-17).

Backfire Flame 
Arrestors

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each 
carburetor
of all gasoline powered engines, except outboard motors.

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor of all gasoline 
powered engines, except outboard motors.

Fire 
Extinguishers

1. None required unless the boat has:
a. Double bottom not sealed to the hull or not completely 

filled with flotation material; or
b. Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or 

flammable materials are stored; or
c. Closed compartments under thwarts and seats where 

portable fuel tanks may be stored; or
d. Closed living spaces; or
e. Permanently installed fuel tanks.

If any of the above applies, a Coast Guard approved Type 
5-B or 10-B portable extinguisher or a fixed fire extinguishing 
system in the machinery spaces is required.

Two Coast Guard approved 5-B or 
10-B type portable extinguisher, OR 
one Coast Guard approved 20-B type 
portable extinguishers, OR a fixed fire 
extinguishing system in the machinery 
spaces and one Coast Guard approved 
5-B or 10-B type portable extinguisher.

Either three Coast Guard approved 5-B 
or 10-B OR one 20-B AND one 5-B or 
10-B type portable extinguishers, OR one 
Coast Guard approved B-II type portable 
extinguisher and one Coast Guard 
approved B-I type portable extinguisher, 
OR a fixed fire extinguishing system in 
the machinery spaces along with one 
Coast Guard approved 5-B or 10-B type 
OR one Coast Guard approved 20-B type 
portable extinguishers.

Ventilation

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compart-
ments and using gasoline as fuel, must have at least two 
ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the equivalent leading to 
each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate the 
compartment.

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compartments and using 
gasoline as fuel, must have at least two ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the 
equivalent leading to each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate 
the compartment.

Lighting
All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a proper light display. Proper light displays are 
explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.

All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit a proper light 
display. Proper light displays are explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.

Whistles None required.
One hand, mouth or power 
operated whistle audible for 
at least 1/2 mile.

One hand or power operated whistle 
audible at least 1 mile.

One power operated whistle audible for at 
least 1 mile.

Bells None required. None required. A bell which produces a clear bell-like tone when struck.
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EQUIPMENT
CLASS A

(Under 16 feet in length)
CLASS 1

(16 feet, but under 26 feet)
CLASS 2

(26 feet, but under 40 feet)
CLASS 3

(40 feet or over in length)

Registration 
and Numbering

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is 
powered by any motor (including electric motors) must be reg-
istered with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is powered by any motor 
(including electric motors) must be registered with the North Dakota Game and 
Fish Department.

Personal 
Flotation 
Devices (PFDs) 
(See page 16 
re: youngsters 
10 years and 
younger.)

One U.S. Coast Guard 
approved wearable PFD for 
each person aboard. Anyone 
being towed on waterskis, 
surfboard or similar device 
must wear a USCG approved 
PFD while being towed (see 
pages 16-17). No person may 
operate or permit the operation 
of a personal watercraft without 
each person on board the 
personal watercraft wearing a 
Coast Guard approved Type, I, 
II, III or V PFD.

One Coast Guard approved 
USCG approved PFD for 
each person aboard, plus 
one Type IV throwable PFD 
in each boat. Anyone being 
towed on waterskis, surfboard 
or similar device must wear a 
USCG approved PFD while 
being towed (see pages 
16-17).

One U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD for each person aboard, plus one 
Type IV throwable PFD in each boat. Anyone being towed on waterskis, surfboard 
or similar device must wear a USCG approved PFD while being towed (see pages 
16-17).

Backfire Flame 
Arrestors

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each 
carburetor
of all gasoline powered engines, except outboard motors.

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor of all gasoline 
powered engines, except outboard motors.

Fire 
Extinguishers

1. None required unless the boat has:
a. Double bottom not sealed to the hull or not completely 

filled with flotation material; or
b. Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or 

flammable materials are stored; or
c. Closed compartments under thwarts and seats where 

portable fuel tanks may be stored; or
d. Closed living spaces; or
e. Permanently installed fuel tanks.

If any of the above applies, a Coast Guard approved Type 
5-B or 10-B portable extinguisher or a fixed fire extinguishing 
system in the machinery spaces is required.

Two Coast Guard approved 5-B or 
10-B type portable extinguisher, OR 
one Coast Guard approved 20-B type 
portable extinguishers, OR a fixed fire 
extinguishing system in the machinery 
spaces and one Coast Guard approved 
5-B or 10-B type portable extinguisher.

Either three Coast Guard approved 5-B 
or 10-B OR one 20-B AND one 5-B or 
10-B type portable extinguishers, OR one 
Coast Guard approved B-II type portable 
extinguisher and one Coast Guard 
approved B-I type portable extinguisher, 
OR a fixed fire extinguishing system in 
the machinery spaces along with one 
Coast Guard approved 5-B or 10-B type 
OR one Coast Guard approved 20-B type 
portable extinguishers.

Ventilation

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compart-
ments and using gasoline as fuel, must have at least two 
ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the equivalent leading to 
each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate the 
compartment.

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compartments and using 
gasoline as fuel, must have at least two ventilator ducts fitted with cowls, or the 
equivalent leading to each such compartment to properly and efficiently ventilate 
the compartment.

Lighting
All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a proper light display. Proper light displays are 
explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.

All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit a proper light 
display. Proper light displays are explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.

Whistles None required.
One hand, mouth or power 
operated whistle audible for 
at least 1/2 mile.

One hand or power operated whistle 
audible at least 1 mile.

One power operated whistle audible for at 
least 1 mile.

Bells None required. None required. A bell which produces a clear bell-like tone when struck.

ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE IN SERVICEABLE CONDITION
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DEFINITIONS
 1. “Associated equipment” means:

a. 	 Any system, part or component of a boat as origi-
nally manufactured, or any similar part or compo-
nent manufactured or sold for replacement, repair 
or improvement of such system, part or compo-
nent; 

b. 	 Any accessory or equipment for, or appurtenance 
to, a boat; and

c. 	 Any marine safety article, accessory or equipment 
intended for use by a person on board a boat; but

d. 	 Excluding radio equipment.
 2. “Boat” means any vessel:

a. 	 Manufactured or used primarily for noncommercial 
use;

b. 	 Leased, rented or chartered to another for the lat-
ter’s noncommercial use; or

 3. “Manufacturer” means any person engaged in:
a. 	 The manufacture, construction or assembly of boats 

or associated equipment;
b. 	 The manufacture or construction of components 

for boats and associated equipment to be sold for 
subsequent assembly; and

c. 	 The importation into the state for sale of boats, 
associated equipment or components thereof.

 4. “Motorboat” means any vessel propelled by machinery, 
whether or not the machinery is the principal source of 
propulsion. The term does not include a vessel having 
a valid marine document issued by the U.S. Bureau of 
Customs or any federal agency successor thereto.

 5. “Operate” means to navigate or otherwise use a motor-
boat or a vessel.

 6. “Owner” means a person, other than a lienholder, having 
property in or title to a motorboat. The term includes a 
person entitled to the use or possession of a motorboat 
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subject to an interest in another person, reserved or 
created by agreement and securing payment or perfor-
mance of an obligation, but the term excludes a lessee 
under a lease not intended as security.

  7. “Passenger” means every person carried on board a ves-
sel other than:
a. 	 The owner or the owner’s representative;
b. 	 The operator;
c. 	 Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the 

business of the vessel who have contributed no 
consideration for their carriage and who are paid 
for their services; or

d. 	 Any guest on board a vessel which is being used 
exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not con-
tributed any consideration, directly or indirectly, for 
that person’s carriage.

  8. “Personal watercraft” means a motorboat that is pow-
ered by an inboard motor powering a water jet pump 
or by an inboard or outboard marine engine and which 
is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing 
or kneeling on the craft, rather than in a conventional 
manner of sitting or standing inside a motorboat.

  9. “Slow or no wake speed” means the slowest possible 
speed necessary to maintain steerage.

10. “Undocumented vessel” means a vessel which does not 
have a valid marine document as a vessel of the United 
States.

11. “Vessel” means any watercraft, other than a seaplane on 
the water, used or capable of being used as a means of 
transportation on water.

12. “Waters” when not qualified means waters not open to 
the general public.

13. “Waters of the state” means all waters of this state, 
including boundary waters. This title extends to and is 
in force and effect over, upon and in all such waters.
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WHO MUST REGISTER THEIR BOATS
Owners of any watercraft propelled by motors must 

register their vessels with the North Dakota Game and Fish 
Department. The vessel owner will receive a Watercraft 
Registration certificate that must be available on the vessel 
when in operation.

Current boat owners are encouraged to renew their regis-
tration online at the Game and Fish website, gf.nd.gov.

Registration of new boats, or transfer of boat ownership, 
is available online. Anyone buying a new boat from a dealer, 
or from a private individual, must complete the registration 
online.

REGISTRATION FEES AND RENEWAL DATES
Registration period is from January 1, 2023 through 

December 31, 2025. Fees are prorated.

MOTORBOATS under 16 feet in length and all canoes 
regardless of length, powered by a motor – $33.

MOTORBOATS 16 feet in length and over but shorter than 
20 feet in length, excluding canoes – $51.

MOTORBOATS 20 feet in length or over, excluding 
canoes – $60.

The Department is not liable for lost, stolen or damaged 
stickers. Replacement stickers may be purchased at gf.nd.
gov.
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CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR OWNERSHIP
NOTICE: If any of the following instances occur, you are 

required to notify the Game and Fish Department within 
15 days:

•	 Change of address

•	 Change of boat ownership

•	 Boat is destroyed or abandoned

•	 Boat is stolen or recovered

The Certificate of Number is not transferable. Anyone pur-
chasing a boat must register the boat in their name even if 
the boat is already registered by the previous owner.

LOSS OF CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
The Game and Fish Department is authorized to issue a 

new Certificate of Number to replace the one lost. The cost 
of the replaced Certificate of Number is $10. 

BOAT DEALERS
A dealer may purchase one or more Certificates of 

Number for demonstrators. The dealer’s number may be 
transferred from one boat to another for demonstration 
purposes, but must be securely fastened in such a manner 
as to be clearly legible.
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NONRESIDENTS
North Dakota law permits the use of boats legally num-

bered under the numbering system of another state for 
a period of 90 days. Motorboats from foreign countries 
may temporarily use the waters of North Dakota without a 
Certificate of Number.

ATTACHING THE NUMBER TO THE BOAT
The number appearing on the Certificate of Number must 

be painted or permanently attached to each side of the 
forward half of the vessel near the bow. The number must 
be in contrasting color to the hull in plain vertical block 
letters at least 3 inches in height excluding any border, 
trim, outlining or shading, and must be maintained in a 
legible condition so that it is clearly visible in daylight 
hours. The number shall read from left to right, and groups 
of numbers and letters must be separated by a space or a 
hyphen equivalent in width to the letter “M.” A validation 
sticker issued by the Department must be displayed on the 
boat within 6 inches of the number, toward the rear of the 
boat. No other numbers are to be displayed in this area.

DISPLAY OF NUMBERS AND VALIDATION STICKER

ND – 000 – AAND – 000 – AA

ND-000-AA ND-000-AA

ND State 
 Validation Sticker  

ND – 000 – AAND – 000 – AA

ND-000-AA ND-000-AA
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AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES STICKER
All watercraft not licensed in this state and operated on 

North Dakota waters must annually obtain a valid, nonre-
fundable aquatic nuisance species sticker.

This ANS sticker must be placed on the starboard side of 
the watercraft within 6 inches of the registration number 
and displayed within 10 days of purchase.

Each licensed watercraft is listed on the purchase receipt. 
A copy of the purchase receipt is proof of validation until 
the sticker is received via postal mail.

DISPLAY OF ANS STICKER FOR OUT-OF-STATE BOATS

BOAT OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS
No person under 12 years of age may operate a motor-

boat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) 
propelled by more than a 10 horsepower motor unless the 
operator is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or 
older.

No person 12 through 15 years of age may operate a 
motorboat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) 
propelled by more than a 10 horsepower motor unless 
the operator is accompanied by a person 18 years of age 
or older or the operator has taken and passed a boating 

Required
Out-of-State ANS Sticker 

XX – XXX – XXOUT
OF STATE

REGISTRATION
STICKER
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Your Guide to Responsible Boating
Request a copy – 701-328-6300

course approved by the Department. No person may cause 
or knowingly permit a minor under 16 years of age to oper-
ate a motorboat propelled by more than a 10 horsepower 
motor unless the minor is otherwise authorized to do so by 
this section.

Contact the Department for more information on an 
approved boating course. Some insurance companies give 
a premium discount to adults who complete an approved 
boating course.

   

COLLISIONS, ACCIDENTS, CASUALTIES 
AND LIABILITY

The operator/owner of a vessel used for recreational 
purposes is required to file a report in writing whenever an 
accident results in: loss of life or disappearance from a ves-
sel; an injury which requires medical treatment beyond first 
aid; or property damage in excess of $2,000 or complete 
loss of the vessel. Reports in death and injury cases must 
be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must 
be submitted within five days. Reports must be submitted 
to the reporting authority in the state where the accident 
occurred. For more information contact the Department.
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PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
No person may operate or permit the operation of a 

personal watercraft:

a. 	 Without each person on board the personal watercraft 
wearing a U.S. Coast Guard approved type I, II, III or V 
personal flotation device;

b. 	 Within 100 feet of a person fishing from a shoreline, 
swimmer, swimming/diving raft, or an occupied, 
anchored, or nonmotorized vessel at greater than slow 
or no-wake speed;

c. 	 While towing an individual on water skis, kneeboard, 
inflatable craft, or any other device unless an observer 
is on board or the personal watercraft is equipped with 
a mirror on each side which provides the operator an 
unobstructed field of vision to the rear;

d. 	 Without a lanyard-type engine cutoff switch being 
attached to the person, clothing or personal flotation 
device of the operator, if the personal watercraft is 
equipped by the manufacturer with such a device;

e. 	 If any part of the spring-loaded throttle mechanism 
has been removed, altered or tampered with so as to 
interfere with the return-to-idle system;

f. 	 To chase or harass wildlife;

g. 	 Through emergent or floating vegetation at other than 
slow or no-wake speed;

h. 	 In a manner that unreasonably or unnecessarily endan-
gers life, limb or property, including weaving through 
congested watercraft traffic, jumping the wake of 
another watercraft within 100 feet of the other water-
craft; or

i. 	 In any other manner that is not reasonable and pru-
dent.
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WATER-SKIING AND SURFBOARDS
An individual may not operate a vessel on any waters of 

this state towing an individual on water skis, surfboard, 
or similar device unless there is another individual in the 
towing vessel observing any individual being towed or the 
vessel is equipped with a mirror at least 78 square inches 
(198.12 square centimeters) which provides the operator 
an unobstructed field of vision to the rear. However, this 
subsection shall not apply to members of any organization 
regularly staging water ski shows, tournaments or exhibi-
tions while engaged in the performance of such shows, 
tournaments or exhibitions.

No person may operate a vessel on any waters of this 
state towing a person or persons on water skis, surfboard 
or similar device, nor may any person engage in water-
skiing, surfboarding or similar activity at any time between 
the hours from one hour after sunset to one hour before 
sunrise.

Exemptions are granted to performers engaged in a pro-
fessional exhibition as authorized under a permit.

No person shall manipulate any water skis, surfboard or 
similar device without wearing a U.S. Coast Guard approved 
(persons 16 years of age or older engaged in windsurfing or 
boardsailing are exempt).

No person may operate or manipulate any vessel, tow 
rope or other device by which the direction or location of 
water skis, surfboard or similar device may be affected or 
controlled in such a way as to cause the water skis, surf-
board or similar device, or any person thereon, to collide 
with or strike against any object or person.
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NONMOTORIZED BOATS
Nonmotorized boats (no 

motor aboard) must have 
a Coast Guard approved 
wearable PFD aboard for each 
person.

Nonmotorized boats operating 
between sunset and sunrise shall 
have a readily accessible white light 
source which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient 
time to prevent a collision, and when at anchor between 
sunset and sunrise must display a white light visible to a 
boat approaching from any direction.

BOATS FOR RENT
Owners of boats for hire must comply with the registra-

tion and equipment regulations except that the Certificate 
of Number for vessels less than 26 feet in length, leased or 
rented for less than 24 hours may be retained on shore at 
the place of rental, but the rental agreement must be car-
ried in the vessel.

BOAT CAPACITY
No boat may be loaded over capacity. Consult the capac-

ity plate on the boat, if one exists, and do not exceed 
either the stated maximum weight or the maximum num-
ber of people. If there is no capacity plate use the follow-
ing formula to determine the maximum number of persons 
you can safely carry in calm weather:

(Length of Boat X Width) = People
                  15
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PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES 
It is unlawful for any person to operate or to be a pas-

senger on any vessel less than 27 feet in length unless all 
persons 10 years of age or younger present on the vessel, 
wear an appropriately sized and properly fastened U.S. 
Coast Guard approved that is rated 70 or more newtons or 
is a Type I, II, or III (see page 17) wearable personal flota-
tion device while the vessel is in operation.

A personal flotation device is appropriately sized if it is 
designed to be worn by a person of similar age, size or 
weight as the wearer.

Changes to the labeling of U.S. Coast Guard approved per-
sonal flotation devices will be appearing on the market over 
the next few years. Please be aware of the label changes 
(defined below) and be sure to meet the requirement for 
your vessel. Personal floatation devices with the previous 
style label will still be acceptable as long as they meet your 
vessel’s requirements.

IT
 W

ON ’ T WORK
 

IF
 Y

O
U  DON ’T WEAR IT

New labels for U.S. Coast Guard Approved PFDs
Wearable PFD – A PFD that is intended to be worn or attached 
to the body.

Throwable PFD – A PFD that is intended to be thrown to a 
person in the water.
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U.S. COAST GUARD APPROVED PFDs

A Type I PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to turn an unconscious 
person in the water from 
a face downward position 
to a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type II PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to turn an unconscious 
person in the water from 
a face downward position 
to a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type III PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to keep a conscious per-
son in a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type IV PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to be thrown to a person 
in the water and not worn.

SPECIAL USE PFD or
A Type V PFD, to be 
acceptable, must be used 
in accordance with its 
label.
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PROHIBITED OPERATION
No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or 

manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device 
in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the 
life, limb or property of any person. Reckless or negligent 
operation of a motorboat or vessel includes weaving 
through congested motorboat or vessel traffic, jumping 
the wake of another motorboat or vessel within 100 feet of 
the motorboat or vessel, or in any other manner that is not 
reasonable or prudent.

No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or 
manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device 
while intoxicated or under the influence of any narcotic 
drug, barbiturate or marijuana.

No person may operate a motorboat or vessel within 100 
feet of a person fishing from a shoreline, swimmer, swim-
ming/diving raft, or an occupied, anchored or nonmotor-
ized vessel, or within 250 feet of a reduced speed or slow 
or no-wake sign at greater than slow or no-wake speed.

For purposes of this provision, reckless or negligent 
operation includes, but is not limited to the following:

1. 	 Use of excessive speed during periods of reduced vis-
ibility while in close proximity of other vessels, while in 
narrow, winding channels, or near docks or marinas.

2. 	 Operating in an overloaded condition.

3. 	 Operating within swimming areas designated by mark-
ers or by the presence of swimmers.

4. 	 Operating near dams and other hazardous waters.

5. 	 Operating in such a manner as to cause a dangerous or 
damaging wake.

6.	 Towing water skiers near other vessels or obstructions, 
into other hazardous areas, or into swimming areas 
designated by markers or by the presence of swimmers.



19

7. 	 Operation in such a manner as to molest or annoy per-
sons lawfully engaged in fishing.

8. 	 Continued use or refusal to terminate use of a boat 
after being ordered to correct an especially hazardous 
condition by a law enforcement officer.

REGULATION OF NOISE FROM BOATS
A boat operated on the waters of this state between the 

hours of midnight and 5 a.m. may not produce a noise in 
excess of 88 decibels for more than 10 minutes.

The decibel level of a boat must be measured from the 
shoreline closest to the location from which a complainant 
or other individual noticed the noise.

BOATING UNDER INFLUENCE 
Intoxication Testing of Boat Operators

Game wardens or law enforcement officers who have 
probable cause that a motorboat operator is under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or a combination 
thereof, may require the operator to take a test to deter-
mine his/her sobriety.

The motorboat or vessel must be operated, in motion, en 
route but not aground or at anchor.

If the operator has an alcohol, drug or combination 
thereof, concentration of .10 or over, or the operator 
refuses to submit to testing, his/her operator privileges may 
be revoked in addition to other penalties.

The law does not prohibit people of legal drinking age 
from consuming alcoholic beverages or possessing open 
containers in a boat.
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TERMINATION OF UNSAFE USE
Any law enforcement 

officer who observes a 
vessel being used with-
out sufficient lifesaving 
or fire fighting devices 
or in an overloaded or 
other unsafe condition 
as defined in Depart-
ment regulations and 
in his or her judgment 
such use creates an especially hazardous condition, may 
direct the operator to take whatever immediate and rea-
sonable steps would be necessary for the safety of those 
aboard the vessel, including directing the operator to 
return to mooring and to remain there until the situation 
creating the hazard is corrected or ended. For the purpose 
of this provision, an unsafe condition includes, but is not 
limited to the following:

1. 	 Operating without required 
boat safety equipment.

2. 	 Operating in an overloaded 
condition.

3. 	 Fuel leakage or presence of fuel 
in the bilges.

4. 	 Riding on the bow, gunwales, 
transom, or on the backs of 
seats without taking precau-
tions sufficient to prevent falls 
overboard.

5. 	 Operating a boat in a state of gross disrepair, rendering 
it in unseaworthy condition.

6. 	 Operating in weather or water conditions which endan-
ger the boat and its occupants.
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HYPOTHERMIA
Hypothermia, the loss of body heat to the water, is prob-

ably the greatest cause of water-related deaths. Often the 
cause of death is listed as drowning; but, most often the 
primary cause is hypothermia and the secondary cause is 
drowning. After an individual has succumbed to hypother-
mia, he/she will lose consciousness and then drown. The 
following chart shows the effects of hypothermia:

Water Temperature 
(degrees F.)

Exhaustion or 
Unconsciousness

Expected Time of
  Survival

32.5 Under 15 minutes
Under 15 to 45 
minutes

32.5 to 40 15 to 30 minutes 30 to 90 minutes

40 to 50 30 to 60 minutes 1 to 3 hours

50 to 60 1 to 2 hours 1 to 6 hours

60 to 70 2 to 7 hours 2 to 40 hours

70 to 80 3 to 12 hours 3 hours to indefinitely

Over 80 Indefinitely Indefinitely

    PFDs can increase survival time because of the insula-
tion they provide. Naturally, the warmer the water, the less 
insulation one will require. When operating in cold waters 
(below 40° F) consideration should be given to using a coat 
or jacket-style PFD as they cover more of the body than the 
vest-style PFDs.

DIVER FLAGS
A diver flag must be displayed on a float or 
buoy during any diving or spearfishing. Opera-
tors of boats must exercise caution when near  
a diver flag.
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LIGHTING
Lights When Anchored or Operating Nonpowered Boats

Power boats under 65 feet and all sailing vessels at 
anchor must display anchor lights except in “special 
anchorage areas.” An anchor light is a white light visible to 
a boat approaching from any direction, and is displayed in 
the fore part of the vessel.

All nonpowered boats operating between sunset and 
sunrise shall have a readily accessible white light source 
which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient time to 
prevent a collision.

Less Than 26 Feet

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a 20-point (225 degree) combination red and green 
bow light, visible for one mile, the left side being red, the 
right side being green, and 32-point (360 degree) white 
stern light visible for two miles, placed higher than the 
bow light and unobstructed by occupants or portions of 
the vessel. In addi-
tion, all vessels at 
anchor between 
sunset and sunrise 
must display a white 
anchor light visible 
to a boat  
approaching from 
any direction.
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26 Feet to Not More Than 65 Feet

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a 20-point (225 degree) white bow light visible for 
two miles, a red 10-point (112 1/2 degree) side light on the 
left side and a green, 10 point (112 1/2 degree) side light 
on the right side, both visible for 1 mile (the arc of vis-
ibility of the side lights must begin parallel to the center-
line of the vessel and extend 10 points toward the stern) 
and a 32-point (360 degree) white stern light visible for 2 
miles, placed higher than the bowlight and unobstructed 
by occupants or portions of the vessel. In addition all ves-
sels at anchor between sunset and sunrise must display a 
white anchor light visible to a boat approaching from any 
direction.

Important: stern
lights must
be placed high
enough that 
their light will
not be blocked
by persons or
parts of the boat 
or its equipment.
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BUOYS
Placement of Regulatory Signs, Markers, Buoys and Other 
Warning or Marking Devices

Upon written approval of the Game and Fish director, 
regulatory signs, markers, buoys or other warning or mark-
ing devices may be placed near or in the waters of this 
state as may be necessary for safety or recreation.

SANITATION DEVICES
If a vessel is equipped with a marine toilet or other simi-

lar device for the disposition of sewage or other wastes, 
only that type of marine toilet equipped with a treatment 
device meeting standards established by the state water 
pollution control board. The board shall furnish a list of the 
types of treatment devices currently available and consid-
ered acceptable for use with marine toilets under this sub-
section. No person owning or operating a vessel upon the 
waters of this state may use, operate or permit the use or 
operation of any marine toilet or similar device unless it is 
approved under this subsection. No person may discharge 
into the waters of this state, directly or indirectly from a 
vessel, any untreated sewage or other wastes. No container 
of untreated sewage or other wastes may be placed, left, 
discharged or caused to be placed, left, or discharged in or 
near any waters of this state from a vessel in such a manner 
or quantity as to create a nuisance or health hazard, or pol-
lute such waters.

No person may operate or give permission for the opera-
tion of a vessel which is not equipped as required by this 
section or modification thereof.
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REGATTAS, RACES, MARINE PARADES, TOURNAMENTS
OR EXHIBITIONS

The Department may 
authorize the holding of 
regattas, motorboat, or 
other boat races, marine 
parades, tournaments or 
exhibitions on any waters 
of this state. Whenever 
a regatta, motorboat, or 
other boat race, marine 
parade, tournaments or 
exhibition is proposed 
to be held, the person 
in charge thereof, shall, 
at least 10 days prior 
thereto, file an applica-
tion with the Department 
for permission to hold 
the same, and it shall not 
be conducted without authorization of the Department in 
writing.

OUTBOARD MOTOR SERIAL NUMBERS
No outboard motor manufactured after January 1, 1980, 

shall be sold or offered for commercial sale by a dealer 
in this state unless the motor has permanently engraved 
thereon by the manufacturer an identifying serial number. 
The serial mark shall be of a permanent nature so as to 
prevent or discourage the removal, defacing, alteration or 
destruction thereof.

No person may possess, repair, or sell an outboard motor, 
acquired after January 1, 1980, from which the serial num-
ber has been removed.
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BOAT MOTOR RESTRICTIONS
Some North Dakota lakes have watercraft restrictions 

such as “Idle Speed Only” or “Electric Motors Only.” “Idle 
Speed Only” is defined as operating a boat at the slowest 
possible speed necessary to maintain steerage (i.e., troll-
ing – with no wake).  

Electric Motors Only (Note: Boats may be propelled 
manually or with an electric motor. No combustion motor 
may be operated on these waters): Casselton Reservoir, 
Davis Dam, Dickinson Dike, Heinrich-Martin Dam, J. Clark 
Salyer, Kettle Lake, Larimore Dam, Leland Dam, Lightning 
Lake, McDowell Dam, Mooreton Pond, Sather Dam, Spring 
Lake Park Ponds, and Strawberry Lake (Turtle Mountains).

Idle Speed Only: Arroda Lakes, Arrowwood Lake Wildlife 
Refuge, Lake Audubon (north arm), Baukol-Noonan Dam, 
Baukol-Noonan East Mine Pond, Belfield Pond, Bound-
ary Lake, Brewer Lake, Camels Hump Dam, Carbury Dam, 
Clausen Springs Lake, Coal Mine Lake, Crown Butte, Davis 
WPA, Dion Lake, Epping-Springbrook Dam, Fish Creek 
Dam, Fordville Dam, Gravel Lake, Harmon Lake, Harmony 
Lake, Heart Butte (Lake Tschida) – designated areas only, 
Hooker Lake, Lake Ilo, Indian Creek Dam, Jensen Lake, Jim 
Lake Wildlife Refuge, Kota-Ray Dam, Kraft Slough, Long 
Lake Wildlife Refuge, McClusky Canal proper, McGregor 
Dam, Mirror Lake, North Golden Lake, Pelican Lake, Raleigh 
Reservoir, Sheep Creek Dam, South Carlson Lake, Sweet 
Briar Dam, and along the Missouri River at the mouths of 
the Heart River, Lakewood, Marina Bay, Misty Waters and 
Square Butte Creek. 

OUT-OF-STATE OPERATION
Boating laws and regulations vary from state to state. If 

planning on taking your boat to another state, determine 
what the boating and trailer regulations are in the state 
where you plan on boating, and prepare yourself, boat, and 
trailer to abide by them, and avoid a costly fine or delay.



27

North Dakota law requires that boats be free of aquatic 
vegetation, be drained completely, and that drain plugs be out 
whenever not in use. Additional regulations apply to the use of 

live bait (see the ND Fishing Guide for more information). 

To learn more about ANS in North Dakota, including
regulations, visit: gf.nd.gov/ans

AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES
Help Protect North Dakota Waters for the Future  

Aquatic nuisance species are nonnative plants and animals 
that threaten our lakes and streams. They are very difficult 
to control once they become established, and can be moved 
accidentally on boats, trailers and other equipment. 

Three simple steps can prevent the spread of ANS:
•	 Clean – Inspect all equipment and remove 

any plants, animals, and mud before 
leaving a water access site.

•	 Drain – Allow all water to drain completely 
before leaving the water access site.

•	 Dry – Allow all equipment to dry 
completely or wash with hot water (140°F) 
before using again.



Funding for this Boat and Water Safety Guide is cost shared 
through a grant administered by the U.S. Coast Guard

The NDGFD receives Federal financial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service and the US 
Coast Guard.  In accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilita-
tion Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 
1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the 
Interior and its Bureaus and the US Department of Homeland Security in prohibiting discrimination on 
the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex (in education programs or activities) and 
also religion.  If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as 
described above, or you desire further information, please write to: ND Game and Fish Department, 
Attn: Chief of Administrative Services, 100 N. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: 
Office of Civil Rights, Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street, NW, Washington, DC  20240.  The 
TTY/TDD (Relay ND) number for the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.
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