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GENERAL INFORMATION

NORTH DAKOTA GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT
100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 
701.328.6300
Email: ndgf@nd.gov

  Web: gf.nd.gov

• Devils Lake Office, (701) 662-3617

• Dickinson Office, (701) 227-7431

• Lonetree Office, (701) 324-2211

• Riverdale Office, (701) 654-7475

• Jamestown Office, (701) 253-6480

• Williston Office, (701) 774-4320

REPORT LAW VIOLATIONS
Contact game wardens and other law enforcement offi-

cers by calling (toll free):

State Radio Communications (800) 472-2121

E-mail: ndgf@nd.gov

www.gf.nd.gov

2 2121

Your Guide to Responsible Boating

Request a copy – (701) 328-6300

Guide to Responsible Boati
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MEASURE YOUR BOAT TO DETERMINE WHAT CLASS IT IS IN
When measuring a vessel, measure from the forward end to the after end across 
the deck down the center line, excluding the sheer. This means in a straight line 
and only that part of the hull that is permanent.

EQUIPMENT
CLASS A

(Under 16 feet in length)
CLASS 1

(16 feet, but under 26 feet)

Registration 
and Numbering

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is pow-
ered by any motor (including electric motors) must be registered 
with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.

Personal 
Flotation 
Devices (PFDs) 
(See Page 16 
Re: youngsters 
10 years and 
younger.)

One Coast Guard approved 
Type I, II or III PFD for each 
person aboard. Anyone being 
towed on waterskis, surfboard 
or similar device must wear a
Type I, II or III PFD while being 
towed (see pages 16-17). No 
person may operate or permit 
the operation of a personal wa-
tercraft without each person on 
board the personal watercraft 
wearing a U.S.Coast Guard 
approved Type, I, II, III or V 
personal fl otation device.

One Coast Guard approved 
Type I, II or III PFD for each 
person aboard, plus one Type 
IV throwable PFD in each 
boat. Anyone being towed on 
waterskis, surfboard or similar 
device must wear a Type I, II or 
III PFD while being towed (see 
pages 16-17).

Backfi re Flame 
Arrestors

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor
of all gasoline powered engines, except outboard motors.

Fire 
Extinguishers

1. None required unless the boat has:
a. Double bottom not sealed to the hull or not completely fi lled 

with fl otation material; or
b. Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or fl am-

mable materials are stored; or
c. Closed compartments under thwarts and seats where por-

table fuel tanks may be stored; or
d. Closed living spaces; or
e. Permanently installed fuel tanks.

If any of the above applies, a Coast Guard approved Type B-I 
portable extinguisher or a fi xed fi re extinguishing system in the 
machinery spaces is required.

Ventilation

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel com-
partments and using gasoline as fuel, must have at least two 
ventilator ducts fi tted with cowls, or the equivalent leading to 
each such compartment to properly and effi ciently ventilate the 
compartment.

Lighting
All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit 
a proper light display. (Proper light displays are explained on 
pages 22-23 of this guide.)

Whistles None required.
One hand, mouth or power 
operated whistle audible for at 
least 1/2 mile.

Bells None required. None required.
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CLASS 2
(26 feet, but under 40 feet)

CLASS 3
(40 feet or over in length)

Every motorboat, principally used in North Dakota, that is powered by any motor 
(including electric motors) must be registered with the Game and Fish Department.

One Coast Guard approved Type I, II or III PFD for each person aboard, plus one 
Type IV throwable PFD in each boat. Anyone being towed on waterskis, surfboard or 
similar device must wear a Type I, II or III PFD while being towed (see pages 16-17.)

One Coast Guard approved device is required on each carburetor of all gasoline 
powered engines, except outboard motors.

One Coast Guard approved B-II type portable 
extinguisher, OR two Coast Guard approved 
B-I type portable extinguishers, OR a fi xed 
fi re extinguishing system in the machinery 
spaces and one Coast Guard approved B-I 
type portable extinguisher.

Either three Coast Guard approved 
B-I type portable extinguishers, OR 
one Coast Guard approved B-II type 
portable extinguisher and one Coast 
Guard approved B-I type portable 
extinguisher, OR a fi xed fi re extin-
guishing system in the machinery 
spaces along with one Coast Guard 
approved B-II type OR two Coast 
Guard approved B-I type portable 
extinguishers.

All motorboats operating with enclosed engine or fuel compartments and using 
gasoline as fuel, must have at least two ventilator ducts fi tted with cowls, or the 
equivalent leading to each such compartment to properly and effi ciently ventilate the 
compartment.

All motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall exhibit a proper light 
display. (Proper light displays are explained on pages 22-23 of this guide.)

One hand or power operated whistle audible 
at least 1 mile.

One power operated whistle audible 
for at least 1 mile.

A bell which produces a clear bell-like tone when struck.

ALL EQUIPMENT MUST BE IN SERVICEABLE CONDITION
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DEFINITIONS
 1. “Associated equipment” means:

a.  Any system, part or component of a boat as origi-
nally manufactured or any similar part or compo-
nent manufactured or sold for replacement, repair 
or improvement of such system, part or compo-
nent; 

b.  Any accessory or equipment for, or appurtenance 
to, a boat; and

c.  Any marine safety article, accessory or equipment 
intended for use by a person on board a boat; but

d.  Excluding radio equipment.
 2. “Boat” means any vessel:

a.  Manufactured or used primarily for noncommercial 
use;

b.  Leased, rented or chartered to another for the lat-
ter’s noncommercial use; or

c.  Engaged in the carrying of six or fewer passengers.
 3. “Manufacturer” means any person engaged in:

a.  The manufacture, construction or assembly of boats 
or associated equipment;

b.  The manufacture or construction of components 
for boats and associated equipment to be sold for 
subsequent assembly; and

c.  The importation into the state for sale of boats, 
associated equipment or components thereof.

 4. “Motorboat” means any vessel propelled by machinery, 
whether or not the machinery is the principal source of 
propulsion. The term does not include a vessel having 
a valid marine document issued by the Bureau of Cus-
toms of the United States government or any federal 
agency successor thereto.

 5. “Operate” means to navigate or otherwise use a motor-
boat or a vessel.

  6. “Owner” means a person, other than a lienholder, hav-
ing the property in or title to a motorboat. The term 
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includes a person entitled to the use or possession of 
a motorboat subject to an interest in another person, 
reserved or created by agreement and securing pay-
ment or performance of an obligation, but the term 
excludes a lessee under a lease not intended as security.

  7. “Passenger” means every person carried on board a ves-
sel other than:
a.  The owner or the owner’s representative;
b.  The operator;
c.  Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the 

business of the vessel who have contributed no 
consideration for their carriage and who are paid 
for their services; or

d.  Any guest on board a vessel which is being used 
exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not con-
tributed any consideration, directly or indirectly, for 
that person’s carriage.

  8. “Personal watercraft” (PWC) means a motorboat that 
is powered by an inboard motor powering a water jet 
pump or by an inboard or outboard marine engine 
and which is designed to be operated by a person sit-
ting, standing or kneeling on the craft, rather than in 
a conventional manner of sitting or standing inside a 
motorboat.

  9. “Slow or no wake speed” means the slowest possible 
speed necessary to maintain steerage.

10. “Undocumented vessel” means a vessel which does not 
have a valid marine document as a vessel of the United 
States.

11. “Vessel” means any watercraft, other than a seaplane on 
the water, used or capable of being used as a means of 
transportation on water.

12. “Waters” when not qualified means waters not open to 
the general public.

13. “Waters of the state” means all waters of this state, 
including boundary waters. This title extends to and is 
in force and effect over, upon and in all such waters.
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WHO MUST REGISTER THEIR BOATS
Owners of any watercraft propelled by motors must reg-

ister their vessels with the Game and Fish Department. The 
vessel owner will receive a pocket-sized Certificate of Num-
ber which must be carried on the vessel when in operation.

Application blanks are available from boat dealers, county 
auditors and Game and Fish Department personnel. 

Applications must be filled out properly and mailed to:

North Dakota Game and Fish Department

100 North Bismarck Expressway

Bismarck, ND 58501–5095

Phone (701) 328–6300

Licensing (701) 328–6335

In addition, online registration is available at the Depart-
ment’s website, gf.nd.gov. 

REGISTRATION FEES AND RENEWAL DATE
Registration period is from January 1, 2014 through 

December 31, 2016. Fees are prorated.

MOTORBOATS under 16 feet in length and all canoes 
regardless of length, powered by a motor – $18.

MOTORBOATS 16 feet in length and over but shorter than 
20 feet in length, excluding canoes – $36.

MOTORBOATS 20 feet in length or over, excluding 
canoes – $45.
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CHANGES OF ADDRESS OR OWNERSHIP
NOTICE: If any of the following instances occur, you are 

required to notify the Game and Fish Department within 
15 days:

• Change of address

• Change of boat ownership

• Boat is destroyed or abandoned

• Boat is stolen or recovered

The certificate of number is not transferable. Anyone pur-
chasing a boat must register the boat in their name even if 
the boat is already registered by the previous owner.

LOSS OF CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
The Game and Fish Department is authorized to issue a 

new Certificate of Number to replace the one lost. The cost 
of the replaced Certificate of Number is the same as a new 
one.

BOAT DEALERS
A dealer may purchase one or more certificates of number 

for demonstrators. The dealer’s number may be transferred 
from one boat to another for demonstration purposes, but 
must be securely fastened in such a manner as to be clearly 
legible.
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NONRESIDENTS
North Dakota law permits the use of boats legally num-

bered under the numbering system of another state for 
a period of 90 days. Motorboats from foreign countries 
may temporarily use the waters of North Dakota without a 
Certificate of Number.

ATTACHING THE NUMBER TO THE BOAT
The number appearing on the Certificate of Number 

must be painted or permanently attached to each side of 
the forward half of the vessel near the bow. The number 
must be in contrasting color to the hull in plain vertical 
block letters at least three inches in height excluding any 
border, trim, outlining or shading, and must be maintained 
in a legible condition so that it is clearly visible in daylight 
hours. The number shall read from left to right and groups 
of numbers and letters must be separated by a space or a 
hyphen equivalent in width to the letter “M.” A validation 
sticker issued by the Department must be displayed on 
the boat within six inches of the number, toward the rear 
of the boat. No other numbers are to be displayed in this 
area.

DISPLAY OF NUMBERS AND VALIDATION STICKER

ND – 000 – AA ND – 000 – AA 

ND STATE 

VALIDATION STICKER

16
EXPIRES

DECEMBER 31, 2016

NORTH DAKOTA 
GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT

BOAT DECAL
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BOAT OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS

No person under 12 years of age may operate a motor-
boat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) pro-
pelled by over a 10 horsepower motor unless the operator 
is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older.

No person of 12 through 15 years of age may operate a 
motorboat (includes personal watercraft, i.e., jetskis, etc.) 
propelled by over a 10 horsepower motor unless the opera-
tor is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older 
or the operator has taken and passed a boating course 
approved by the Department. No person may cause or 
knowingly permit a minor under 16 years of age to operate 
a motorboat propelled by over a 10 horsepower motor 
unless the minor is otherwise authorized to do so by this 
section.

These are motorboats...

...and this is a motorboat!   
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Contact the Department for more information on an 
approved boating course. Some insurance companies give 
a premium discount to adults who complete an approved 
boating course.

COLLISIONS, ACCIDENTS, CASUALTIES 
AND LIABILITY

The operator/owner of a vessel used for recreational 
purposes is required to file a report in writing whenever an 
accident results in: loss of life or disappearance from a ves-
sel; an injury which requires medical treatment beyond first 
aid; or property damage in excess of $2,000 or complete 
loss of the vessel. Reports in death and injury cases must 
be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must 
be submitted within five days. Reports must be submitted 
to the reporting authority in the state where the accident 
occurred. For more information contact the Department.

Your Guide to Responsible Boating

Request a copy – (701) 328-6300

ur Guide to Responsible Boatingng
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PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)
No person may operate or permit the operation of a 

personal watercraft:

a.  Without each person on board the personal watercraft 
wearing a U.S. Coast Guard approved type I, II, III or V 
personal flotation device;

b.  Within 100 feet of a person fishing from a shoreline, 
swimmer, swimming diving raft, or an occupied, 
anchored, or nonmotorized vessel at greater than slow 
or no wake speed;

c.  While towing a person on water skis, a kneeboard, an 
inflatable craft or any other device unless an observer 
is on board;

d.  Without a lanyard-type engine cutoff switch being 
attached to the person, clothing or personal flotation 
device of the operator, if the personal watercraft is 
equipped by the manufacturer with such a device;

e.  If any part of the spring-loaded throttle mechanism 
has been removed, altered or tampered with so as to 
interfere with the return-to-idle system;

f.  To chase or harass wildlife;

g.  Through emergent or floating vegetation at other than 
slow or no wake speed;

h.  In a manner that unreasonably or unnecessarily endan-
gers life, limb or property, including weaving through 
congested watercraft traffic, jumping the wake of 
another watercraft within 100 feet of the other water-
craft; or

i.  In any other manner that is not reasonable and pru-
dent.
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WATER-SKIING AND SURFBOARDS
No person may operate a vessel on any waters of this 

state towing a person or persons on water skis, a surfboard 
or similar device unless there is another person in the tow-
ing vessel observing the person or persons being towed. 
However, this subsection shall not apply to members of any 
organization regularly staging water ski shows, tourna-
ments or exhibitions while engaged in the performance of 
such shows, tournaments or exhibitions.

No person may operate a vessel on any waters of this 
state towing a person or persons on water skis, a surfboard 
or similar device, nor may any person engage in water-
skiing, surfboarding or similar activity at any time between 
the hours from one hour after sunset to one hour before 
sunrise.

Exemptions are granted to performers engaged in a pro-
fessional exhibition as authorized under a permit.

No person shall manipulate any water skis, surfboard 
or similar device without wearing a type I, II or III PFD 
(persons 16 years of age or older engaged in windsurfing or 
boardsailing are exempt).

No person may operate or manipulate any vessel, towrope 
or other device by which the direction or location of water 
skis, a surfboard or similar device may be affected or con-
trolled in such a way as to cause the water skis, surfboard 
or similar device, or any person thereon, to collide with or 
strike against any object or person.
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NONPOWERED BOATS
Nonpowered boats (no 

motor aboard) must have 
a Coast Guard approved 
type I, II or III PFD aboard for 
each person.

Nonpowered boats operating 
between sunset and sunrise shall 
have readily accessible a white light 
source which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient 
time to prevent a collision, and when at anchor between 
sunset and sunrise must display a white light visible to a 
boat approaching from any direction.

BOATS FOR RENT
Owners of boats for hire must comply with the registra-

tion and equipment regulations except that the Certificate 
of Number for vessels less than 26 feet in length, leased or 
rented for less than 24 hours may be retained on shore at 
the place of rental, but the rental agreement must be car-
ried in the vessel.

In addition, owners of boats for hire must comply with 
rules and regulations governing Watercraft for Hire (R30-
05-02).

BOAT CAPACITY
No boat or pontoon may be loaded over capacity. Consult 

the capacity plate on the boat, if one exists, and do not 
load the boat beyond the capacity listed. For boats which 
have no capacity plate, the performance of the boat in the 
water is the ultimate test.

If there is no capacity label use the following formula to 
determine the maximum number of persons you can safely 
carry in calm weather:

(Length of Boat X Width) = People
                  15

d for 

rating 
ise shall 
white light 

mporarily exhibited in sufficient
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PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES (PFDs)
It is unlawful for any person to operate or to be a pas-

senger on any vessel less than 27 feet in length unless all 
persons, 10 years of age or younger present on the vessel, 
wear an appropriately sized and properly fastened U.S. 
Coast Guard approved type I, II or III wearable personal 
flotation device while the vessel is in operation.

A personal flotation device is appropriately sized if it is 
designed to be worn by a person of similar age, size or 
weight as the wearer.

IT
 W

ON ’ T WORK
 

IF
 Y

O
U  DON ’T WEAR IT
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U.S. COAST GUARD APPROVED PFDs

A Type I PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to turn an unconscious 
person in the water from 
a face downward position 
to a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type II PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to turn an unconscious 
person in the water from 
a face downward position 
to a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type III PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to keep a conscious per-
son in a vertical or slightly 
backward position.

A Type IV PFD is an 
approved device designed 
to be thrown to a person 
in the water and not worn.

A Type V PFD, to be 
acceptable, must be used 
in accordance with its 
label.
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PROHIBITED OPERATION
No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or 

manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device 
in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the 
life, limb or property of any person. Reckless or negligent 
operation of a motorboat or vessel includes weaving 
through congested motorboat or vessel traffic, jumping 
the wake of another motorboat or vessel within 100 feet of 
the motorboat or vessel, or in any other manner that is not 
reasonable or prudent.

No person may operate any motorboat or vessel, or 
manipulate any water-skis, surfboard or similar device 
while intoxicated or under the influence of any narcotic 
drug, barbiturate or marijuana.

No person may operate a motorboat or vessel within 100 
feet of a person fishing from a shoreline, swimmer, swim-
ming diving raft, or an occupied, anchored or nonmotor-
ized vessel, or within 250 feet of a reduced speed or slow 
or no wake sign at greater than slow or no wake speed.

For purposes of this provision, reckless or negligent 
operation includes, but is not limited to the following:

1.  Use of excessive speed during periods of reduced vis-
ibility while in close proximity of other vessels, while in 
narrow, winding channels, or near docks or marinas.

2.  Operating in an overloaded condition.

3.  Operating within swimming areas designated by mark-
ers or by the presence of swimmers.

4.  Operating near dams and other hazardous waters.

5.  Operating in such a manner as to cause a dangerous or 
damaging wake.

6. Towing water skiers near other vessels or obstructions, 
into other hazardous areas, or into swimming areas 
designated by markers or by the presence of swimmers.
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7.  Operation in such a manner as to molest or annoy per-
sons lawfully engaged in fishing.

8.  Continued use or refusal to terminate use of a boat 
after being ordered to correct an especially hazardous 
condition by a law enforcement officer.

BOATING UNDER INFLUENCE 
INTOXICATION TESTING OF BOAT OPERATORS (BUI)

Game wardens or law enforcement officers who have 
probable cause that a motorboat operator is under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs or a combination 
thereof may require the operator to take a test to deter-
mine his/her sobriety.

The motorboat or vessel must be operated, in motion, 
enroute but not aground or at anchor.

If the operator has an alcohol, drug or combination 
thereof, concentration of .10 or over, or the operator 
refuses to submit to testing, his/her operator privileges may 
be revoked in addition to other penalties.

The law does not prohibit people of legal drinking age 
from consuming alcoholic beverages or possessing open 
containers in a boat.
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TERMINATION OF UNSAFE USE
Any law enforcement 

officer who observes a 
vessel being used with-
out sufficient lifesaving 
or fire fighting devices 
or in an overloaded or 
other unsafe condition 
as defined in Depart-
ment regulations and in 
his judgment such use 
creates an especially hazardous condition, may direct the 
operator to take whatever immediate and reasonable steps 
would be necessary for the safety of those aboard the ves-
sel, including directing the operator to return to mooring 
and to remain there until the situation creating the hazard 
is corrected or ended. For the purpose of this provision, an 
unsafe condition is any of the following:

1.  Operating without required 
boat safety equipment.

2.  Operating in an overloaded 
condition.

3.  Fuel leakage or presence of fuel 
in the bilges.

4.  Riding on the bow, gunwales, 
transom, or on the backs of 
seats without taking precau-
tions sufficient to prevent falls 
overboard.

5.  Operating a boat in a state of 
gross disrepair, rendering it in unseaworthy condition.

6.  Operating in weather or water conditions which endan-
ger the boat and its occupants.
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HYPOTHERMIA
Hypothermia, the loss of body heat to the water, is prob-

ably the greatest cause of water-related deaths. Often the 
cause of death is listed as drowning; but, most often the 
primary cause is hypothermia and the secondary cause is 
drowning. After an individual has succumbed to hypother-
mia, he/she will lose consciousness and then drown. The 
following chart shows the effects of hypothermia:

Water Temperature 
(degrees F.)

Exhaustion or 
Unconsciousness

Expected Time of
  Survival

32.5 Under 15 minutes
Under 15 to 45 
minutes

32.5 to 40 15 to 30 minutes 30 to 90 minutes

40 to 50 30 to 60 minutes 1 to 3 hours

50 to 60 1 to 2 hours 1 to 6 hours

60 to 70 2 to 7 hours 2 to 40 hours

70 to 80 3 to 12 hours 3 hours to indefi nitely

Over 80 Indefi nitely Indefi nitely

    PFDs can increase survival time because of the insula-
tion they provide. Naturally, the warmer the water, the less 
insulation one will require. When operating in cold waters 
(below 40° F) consideration should be given to using a coat 
or jacket style PFD as they cover more of the body than the 
vest style PFDs.

DIVERS FLAG
The Diver’s Flag must be displayed on a float or buoy dur-
ing any diving or spear fishing. Operators of boats must 
exercise caution when near a diver’s flag.
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LIGHTING
LIGHTS WHEN ANCHORED OR OPERATING NONPOWERED BOATS

Power boats under 65 feet and all sailing vessels at 
anchor must display anchor lights except in “special 
anchorage areas.” An anchor light is a white light visible to 
a boat approaching from any direction, and is displayed in 
the fore part of the vessel.

All nonpowered boats operating between sunset and 
sunrise shall have readily accessible a white light source 
which shall be temporarily exhibited in sufficient time to 
prevent a collision.

LESS THAN 26 FEET

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a 20 point (225 degree) combination red and green 
bow light, visible for one mile, the left side being red, the 
right side being green, and 32 point (360 degree) white 
stern light visible for two miles, placed higher than the 
bow light and unobstructed by occupants or portions of 
the vessel. In addi-
tion, all vessels at 
anchor between 
sunset and sunrise 
must display a 
white anchor light 
visible to a boat 
approaching from 
any direction.
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26 FEET TO NOT MORE THAN 65 FEET

Motorboats operating between sunset and sunrise shall 
exhibit a 20 point (225 degree) white bow light visible for 
two miles, a red 10 point (112 1/2 degree) side light on 
the left side and a green, 10 point (112 1/2 degree) side 
light on the right side, both visible for one mile (the arc 
of visibility of the side lights must begin parallel to the 
center-line of the vessel and extend 10 points toward the 
stern) and a 32 point (360 degree) white stern light visible 
for two miles, placed higher than the bowlight and unob-
structed by occupants or portions of the vessel. In addition 
all vessels at anchor between sunset and sunrise must 
display a white anchor light visible to a boat approaching 
from any direction.

IMPORTANT: STERN

LIGHTS MUST

BE PLACED HIGH

ENOUGH THAT 

THEIR LIGHT WILL

NOT BE BLOCKED

BY PERSONS OR

PARTS OF THE BOAT 

OR ITS EQUIPMENT.
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BUOYS

PLACEMENT OF REGULATORY SIGNS, MARKERS, BUOYS AND

OTHER WARNING OR MARKING DEVICES:

Upon written approval of the Game and Fish Director, 
regulatory signs, markers, buoys, or other warning or 
marking devices may be placed near or in the waters of this 
state as may be necessary for safety or recreation.

SANITATION DEVICES
Every vessel must have aboard: If equipped with a marine 

toilet or other similar device for the disposition of sewage 
or other wastes, only that type of marine toilet equipped 
with a treatment device meeting standards established by 
the state water pollution control board. The board shall 
furnish a list of the types of treatment devices currently 
available and considered acceptable for use with marine 
toilets under this subsection. No person owning or operat-
ing a vessel upon the waters of this state may use, operate 
or permit the use or operation of any marine toilet or simi-
lar device unless it is approved under this subsection. No 
person may discharge into the waters of this state, directly 
or indirectly from a vessel, any untreated sewage or other 
wastes. No container of untreated sewage or other wastes 
may be placed, left, discharged, or caused to be placed, 
left, or discharged in or near any waters of this state from a 
vessel in such a manner or quantity as to create a nuisance 
or health hazard, or pollute such waters.

No person may operate or give permission for the opera-
tion of a vessel which is not equipped as required by this 
section or modification thereof.
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REGATTAS, RACES, MARINE PARADES, TOURNAMENTS,
OR EXHIBITIONS

The Department may 
authorize the holding of 
regattas, motorboat, or 
other boat races, marine 
parades, tournaments or 
exhibitions on any waters 
of this state. Whenever 
a regatta, motorboat, or 
other boat race, marine 
parade, tournaments or 
exhibition is proposed 
to be held, the person 
in charge thereof, shall, 
at least 10 days prior 
thereto, file an applica-
tion with the Department 
for permission to hold 
the same, and it shall not 
be conducted without authorization of the Department in 
writing.

OUTBOARD MOTOR SERIAL NUMBERS
No outboard motor manufactured after January 1, 1980, 

shall be sold or offered for commercial sale by a dealer 
in this state unless the motor has permanently engraved 
thereon by the manufacturer an identifying serial number. 
The serial mark shall be of a permanent nature so as to 
prevent or discourage the removal, defacing, alteration or 
destruction thereof.

No person may possess, repair, or sell an outboard motor, 
acquired after January 1, 1980, from which the serial num-
ber has been removed.
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BOAT MOTOR RESTRICTIONS
Some North Dakota lakes have watercraft restrictions 

such as “Idle Speed Only,” “Electric Motors Only,” or maxi-
mum horsepower limitations. “Idle speed only” is defined 
as operating a boat at the slowest possible speed necessary 
to maintain steerage (i.e., trolling – with no wake).  

Electric Motors Only (Note: Boats may be propelled 
manually or with an electric motor. No combustion motor 
may be operated on these waters): Casselton Reservoir, 
Davis Dam, Dickinson Dike, Heinrich-Martin Dam, J. Clark 
Salyer, Kettle Lake, Larimore Dam, Leland Dam, Lightning 
Lake, McDowell Dam, Mooreton Pond, Rudolph Lake, 
Sather Dam, Spring Lake Park Ponds, and Strawberry Lake 
(Turtle Mountains).

Idle Speed Only: Arroda Lakes, Lake Audubon (north 
arm), Baukol-Noonan Dam, Baukol-Noonan East Mine Pond, 
Belfield Pond, Brewer Lake, Boundary Lake, Camels Hump 
Dam, Carbury Dam, Clausen Springs Lake, Coal Mine Lake, 
Crown Butte, Dion Lake, Epping-Springbrook Dam, Fish 
Creek Dam, Fordville Dam, Gravel Lake, Harmon Lake, 
Harmony Lake, Heart Butte (Lake Tschida) (designated areas 
only), Hooker Lake, Lake Ilo, Indian Creek Dam, Jensen 
Lake, Kota-Ray Dam, Kraft Slough, McClusky Canal proper, 
McGregor Dam, Mirror Lake, North Golden Lake, Pelican 
Lake, Raleigh Reservoir, Sheep Creek Dam, South Carlson 
Lake, Sweet Briar Dam, and along the Missouri River at the 
mouths of the Heart River, Lakewood, Marina Bay, Misty 
Waters and Square Butte Creek. 

25 Horsepower Maximum: Arrowwood, Jim Lake and 
Long Lake national wildlife refuges.

OUT-OF-STATE OPERATION
Boating laws and regulations vary from state to state. If 

planning on taking your boat out of state, determine what 
the boating and trailer regulations are in the state where 
you plan on boating, and prepare yourself, your boat, and 
your trailer to abide by them, and avoid a costly fine or 
delay.
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AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES
Exotic plants and animals are threatening fishing and other 

recreation in North Dakota!

Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) are difficult, if not impos-
sible, to control once they become established. ANS are 
moved to new areas as unwanted hitchhikers on boats and 
trailers, on personal watercraft or on sporting equipment. 
Each year new infestations are reported because recreators 
unknowingly transported ANS.

All outdoor recreators must take time to clean their equip-
ment. Criteria for cleaning are simple:

• Remove plant fragments from your boat or other 
watercraft, the trailer, and fishing, hunting or 
scuba gear when leaving the water 
body.

• Drain water from the boat mo-
tor, bilge, including livewells and 
baitwells, and the boat itself before 
leaving the water body.

Further, it is suggested:
• Power wash your boat and trailer.

• Clean and disinfect all fishing 
tackle, hunting or scuba gear or 
other equipment after an outing.

YOUR ACTIONS ARE KEY TO 
THE FUTURE OF

YOUR LAKE’S FISHING. 
PLEASE BE AWARE OF LAWS 
THAT PREVENT THE SPREAD 

OF ANS.

For more information contact the Department or

refer to the current fishing guide.



Funding for this Boat and Water Safety Guide cost shared
through a grant administered by the U.S. Coast Guard

The NDGFD receives Federal fi nancial assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service. In ac-
cordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 
Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX 
of the Education Amendments of 1972, the NDGFD joins the US Department of the Interior and its 
Bureaus in prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, sex 
(in education programs or activities) and also religion for the NDGFD. If you believe you have been 
discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or you desire further 
information, please write to: ND Game and Fish Department, Attn: Chief Administrative Services, 
100 N. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58501-5095 or to: US Fish and Wildlife Service, Attn: 
Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: MBSP- 4020, Arlington, Virginia 22203. If 
you are disabled and desire application information for hunting and fi shing opportunities in 
this state please contact the Department at 701-328-6300. The TTY/TTD (Relay ND) number for 
the hearing or speech impaired is 1-800-366-6888.
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