Skip to main content
nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
Alert: COVID-19 Related Closures and Information (Note: Department offices are open to public access by appointment only.)

News

The North Dakota Game and Fish Department’s annual spring breeding duck survey conducted in May showed an index of 3.4 million birds, down 5 percent from last year.

“The spring migration was well ahead of normal as open fields and warm temperatures allowed early migrants to pass quickly through the state,” said migratory game bird supervisor Mike Szymanski.

Survey results…

The North Dakota Game and Fish Department’s Becoming an Outdoors-Woman program is announcing its schedule for 2016.

A new paddleboarding event is set for July 7 at Harmon Lake in Morton County. Participants will experience an evening on the water using a stand-up paddleboard. Equipment and gear is included in the $30 registration fee. Register online at the Game and Fish website, gf.nd…

North Dakota’s open water fishing season has many anglers hoping to land that elusive trophy fish. While hooking a wall-mounter is important for some anglers, others simply enjoy the thrill and return the fish back into the water.

Catch-and-release is effective only if released fish are handled carefully. The following precautions will enhance the likelihood of a released fish…

The North Dakota Game and Fish Department’s annual Watchable Wildlife Photo Contest is now open, and the deadline for submissions is Sept. 30.

The contest has categories for nongame and game species, as well as plants/insects. An overall winning photograph will be chosen, with the number of place winners in each category determined by the number of qualified entries.

Contest…

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has announced that a subspecies of moose found in North Dakota and three other states could warrant federal protection. The finding opens a full status review by the USFWS to determine whether moose could be listed under the Endangered Species Act. State Game and Fish Department officials emphasize the finding merely initiates a status review of moose in the…

Failure to wear a personal flotation device is the main reason people lose their lives in water recreation accidents.

North Dakota law requires all children ages 10 and younger to wear a personal flotation device while in boats of less than 27 feet in length. The law also requires all personal watercraft users to wear a life jacket, as well as anyone towed on skis, tubes, boards or…