Skip to main content - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
Pheasant roosters

Pheasant Hunting

Has Youth Season
ND Resident Only
The dates listed below are tentative until the season's proclamation is signed.


Season Dates

Season Dates
Season Hunting Units Opens Closes Season Dates Status
Youth Statewide Tentative
Regular (Male Pheasants Only) Statewide Tentative

License Requirements

Residents must possess the following licenses:

  • Fishing, Hunting, and Furbearer Certificate
  • Small Game License (Not required of residents under age 16) and General Game and Habitat License
    Combination License (includes Small Game, General Game and Habitat, Furbearer, and Fishing licenses)

Nonresidents must possess the following licenses:

  • Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate
  • General Game and Habitat License
  • Nonresident Small Game License (good for two 7-day periods or one 14-day period)
  • Nonresident Youth Hunting Licenses - A nonresident under age 16 need only purchase a North Dakota resident fishing, hunting and furbearer certificate and a North Dakota resident general game and habitat license to hunt small game and waterfowl, except swans and wild turkeys; provided that the nonresident's state of residence, or province or territory of Canada, provides a reciprocal licensing agreement for North Dakota residents who are also under age 16. (Currently states of AL, AR, CO, CT, ID, KY, LA, MI, MN, MO, MS, NE, NJ, NY, OH, SC, TN, TX, WA and WI qualify.) To be eligible, a nonresident youth must not turn 16 before September 1 of the year for which the license is issued, and must possess a certificate of completion for a certified hunter education course. The nonresident youth may only hunt under the supervision of an adult family member or legal guardian who is licensed to hunt small game or waterfowl in this state and is subject to the same regulations as that youth's adult family member or legal guardian. Youth from states that do not qualify for reciprocity must obtain required adult nonresident licenses.


--- The following is from the 2021 season. This information will be updated for 2022 after the 2022 proclamation has been signed. ---

Species Specific Regulations
Limit Type Amount
Daily Limit 3
Possession Limit 12
Shooting Hours 30 minutes before sunrise to sunset.

NOTE: In accordance with state law, nonresidents are not allowed to hunt on Game and Fish Department wildlife management areas or conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas from October 9-15, 2021. Exception: Nonresidents hunting on PLOTS land they own.